Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,303
Рецензии: 6,526

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

LJ

5 мая 2022 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I liked that it was taught by indigenous peoples from their perspective. I feel much more confident in my knowledge regarding indigenous issues and traditions. Thank you!

AS

6 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

Фильтр по:

6126–6150 из 6,774 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Jane M

26 окт. 2020 г.

The content was educational at an introductory level. I’d recommend it for that reason. Unfortunately the subtitles and the notes must have been created through speech recognition technology and were absolutely full of errors - some minor and some substantial. This really detracted from the quality of the course. The University of Alberta should be embarrassed!

автор: Linda C

28 нояб. 2017 г.

I thought the information presented was great, but could have used more visuals, especially in the art section. It's hard to imagine the work of Alex Janvier if you've never seen it before (like in the Alberta Biennale!). And there was no music either. As a visual artist, I thought this section could have used many more examples, even if they were shorter ones.

автор: Julia l

7 июня 2022 г.

​excellent

g​reat information

f​eel i have a better understanding of colonialism and the devastating effects of harmful assimilation techniques

s​ometimes the test questions didnt feel like they genuinely tested my knowledge , as some seemed simple and others with twisted wording seemed unecessarily complex

i​ would like to learn more about this important topic

автор: Petra N

27 окт. 2020 г.

all this information needs to be integrated throughout kindergarten to high school, age appropriate of course. No one should graduate high school without knowing this history.

thank you for making it available without cost.

i enjoyed reading the on line forums and joining the professors, Dan Levy, and guest on the weekly zoom meetings...great discussion.

автор: Judith A D

24 дек. 2020 г.

This course, if edited and slightly revised for coherency, should be a mandatory for any student in the Health Sciences fields. Probably that thought should be expanded to anyone wanting to graduate from Grade 12. The best way to change worldview is through education and I certainly did not have a true history of Canada taught to me in the 50's to 70's!

автор: Andy W

4 нояб. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the courses but I was irritated by the many errors in the transcript of the videos. This was apparently done by a computer without checking by humans, and so there are A LOT of errors. Just a few that I wrote down,

Unseeded territory instead of Unceded territory

Kubec instead of Quebec or Québec

Hyda instead of Haida

Treaty a instead of Treaty 8

автор: Jennifer D

26 июня 2022 г.

I think this is a good introductory course for anyone wanting to learn more about Indigenous Peoples in Canada to gain a basic understanding of the relationship of Indigenous Peoples with other indifenous Peoples and their collective relationship with Canada and the colonial ideas that have tried and failed to destroy the original Peoples on this land.

автор: Kristina L

18 мар. 2022 г.

I really enjoyed this MOOC and learned so much! You have ignited my imagination and I will pursue further education around Indigenous Peoples as a result of this course. Thank you for creating this course and making it available to all Canadians and people world wide. This course should be a requirement for all Canadian high school students. Well done!

автор: Curtis T

30 авг. 2021 г.

T​his program has provided a fine foundation for understanding the realities of indigenous peoples in Canada. As I worked my way through the modules each week I found that the various news stories i was hearing about indigenous issues took on new and deeper dimensions as my comprehension of the histories expanded. Many thanks to the program's creators!

автор: Colette B

16 авг. 2021 г.

I​ thoroughly enjoyed learning more Canadian history through the lens of Indigenous peoples. The content is well organized and presented (with the exception of some pronunciation and grammar issues). For the most part, the exam questions are well written, but need to be read very carefully as several seem to be composed purposely to trick the student.

автор: tczyczko@gmail.com

3 нояб. 2020 г.

I found some of the transcription errors slowed down my comprehension ("wailing" should have been "whaling", for ex.) I also found some of the test questions worded in a way that I found somewhat ambiguous. But these are only trifling criticisms and did not seriously affect my admiration for the hard work that went into the development of this course.

автор: Cindy C

20 февр. 2022 г.

In some modules, it felt like it was a bit disjointed in transitioning from topic to topic. I would have prefered to do this course in person because there is so much to gain from discussion though the discussion board did try simulate the interaction. Disappointed that Module 11 was the shortest module since there is so much happening in that space.

автор: Anita k

29 окт. 2020 г.

I am grateful for the chance to improve my understanding of the historic and current struggles and triumphs of Indigenous people in Canada, and I learned a lot. As a visual learner, I would have liked more images, although I enjoyed the video commentary of the paintings. Nonetheless, it was a very worthwhile course, and I will recommend it to others.

автор: Steven C

22 июля 2020 г.

Overall, really enjoyed the course and learned a lot. The only criticism I have is that I felt the course sometimes painted Indigenous culture and pre-contact life in Turtle Island as too idyllic. I would be interested to know more about pre-European-contact inter-nation relationships and conflict, and issues in resource management from that period.

автор: Kelly B

25 мая 2022 г.

The course content was excellent. Love the option of videos or reading or both at once.

The site itself is a bit painful to navigate and the pop ups are distracting/confusing...and it continued right to the end when you have to go searching for your certificate. I expected it to be with one of the 2 emails sent the instant you complete the course.

автор: Julia G

21 апр. 2022 г.

As a non-Indigenous business professional, I found this course insightful and clear. The mix of lectures, quizzes, interviews and art kept the course dynamic and helped me gain perspective on these issues. My only criticism is that the speakers spoke very slowly (luckily the videos could be sped up). I would recommend this course to all Canadians.

автор: Stephen M

30 дек. 2020 г.

Thank you for the opportunity to take this course. It has helped increase my knowledge and understanding of both historical and contemporary issues. Perhaps a few more visuals about the topic (examples of art by the various artists). It is quite obvious that many, many hours went into this course and for this I say thank you. Ny giwa, Boma pi

автор: Carrilee E

4 мар. 2022 г.

I learned much and the course inspires me to learn more. I will continue to follow more Indigenous creatives and speakers. I hoped to learn more about Mi'kma'ki, particularly Water Protectors/Grassroots Grandmothers. Their efforts and success at Sipekne'katik were what prompted me to take this course. I will seek that out. Thank you very much.

автор: Darryl D

7 дек. 2020 г.

I loved this. Thank you. One little thing, though: the text displayed while the instructors speak was often inaccurate- it was as if Siri had taken it as voice-to-text dictation. As a more visual learner, I would have found the presentation of the actual text that the instructors were reading more valuable. Not a big problem- just a rough spot.

автор: Marianne H

21 мая 2018 г.

I've never really known much about Canada at all, not being Canadian myself, and its first inhabitants who were there before the European arrivals were a closed book to me, but this course has been truly enlightening as well as interesting. I particularly liked the works of art with their accompanying explanatory videos at the end of each unit.

автор: Andrea M

25 нояб. 2020 г.

content was great. enjoyed learning about the journey indigenous people have taken and are still taking in Cananda. The delivery became very tedious after week 6. More graphics or interactive learning would have made the content more interesting. it was a chore to finish all 12 weeks . Thank you for the opportunity to complete this course

автор: Todd N

11 дек. 2019 г.

Lots of work went into this. There are many videos, but for those of us who access and retain information better by reading have a very well-put-together set of resources. The modules take a lot of time, but if you can space it out it's not bad at all. The speakers are charismatic and obviously experts, invested in sharing their knowledge.

автор: Craig W

28 дек. 2021 г.

I found the course incredibly informative and allows the learner to get a basic understanding of the plight of the current indigenous community. It also helps the student understand some traditional ways of life which allows us to understand and comprehended how we can align and educate people to help with preservation of a sacred culture.

автор: Kara B

26 дек. 2021 г.

​Although important information, I found some modules challenging to follow with so many dates and people to remember. Being from the west coast i also think i would like to learn more about the history and culture in the west but know that a course like this still would only scratch the surface. Thank you for your time and your knowledge.

автор: Linda C

28 сент. 2021 г.

I learned a lot about the history of Canada from an Indigenous perspective. This is not taught in the school system and it should. All Canadians need to know the real story. Thank you for the opportunity, I really enjoyed the course. I didn't give a full 5 star review because I think the course could have been a bit more interactive.