Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 17,836
Рецензии: 6,380

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

JH

13 февр. 2021 г.

Highly recommended - I have recommended it some of my staff who are interested in both taking the course and reading the materials. I should note they are First Nations and are as interested as I was.

VK

23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

6101–6125 из 6,615 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Garry A

5 нояб. 2017 г.

During ones education career their are a few courses that inspire, are beneficial to real world application, and are taught in a manner that makes want to gone on to the next lesson like this course. Well Done to Tracy Bear and the other presenters.

автор: Ceri P

13 авг. 2021 г.

The course was interesting and put together very well. I learned a lot. Sometimes the guest speakers didn't really align with the topic of the week. I really liked the way the art by Leah Dorion was incorporated. She did a wonderful job explaining.

автор: Donna F

12 янв. 2022 г.

Great course but I never got a certificate that I paid for, and finding it difficult to contact anyone to assist this issue. There is no customer service help obvious on the website. Still searching for assistance. Reply emails are undeliverable.

автор: Michael W

22 дек. 2020 г.

Hello!

I found this a very well done presentation. There was a lot to learn, and I particularly appreciated the inclusion of Dorion's artwork and her interpretation. It was a lovely accessory to the didactic part of the course. Thank you very much!

автор: Damian N

11 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informational. There are a handful of grammatical errors, and it's clearly a low-budget production. If you're interested in learning (even just a bit) about Indigenous people, and their shared history with Canada, this is a worthwhile course.

автор: Adriana M

15 июня 2017 г.

I found it educational, informative. It did move a part of me to shift my views and broaden my perspective of our First Nations, but I also felt the information provided the motivation to discover and ask questions about my own native ancestry.

автор: Jeff D

28 февр. 2021 г.

The content and stories are great--thank you. I learned a lot.

The multiple choice questions are weakly constructed by pedagogical standards, and I'd recommend that you review their construction using best practices for multiple choice testing.

автор: Jeremy S

17 мар. 2022 г.

Wonderful introduction into Canada's Indigenous Peoples, their culture, struggles , resiliance, and success. Recommend this course for any one wanting to work with Indigenous populations, or to thouse who want to refresh their knowlegde base.

автор: Patricia L S

23 февр. 2021 г.

I learned a lot and would have liked a bit more detail to put things into context of what else was happening in Canada at the time. I also would have liked to see some of the art that the artists are famous or when you mentioned their names.

автор: Debra S

22 февр. 2022 г.

T​he course was excellent. It is obvious that I have much more to learn. it would be helpful to perhaps add another module that brings the participant up to the current time as the content here is not static but continues to grow and evolve.

автор: Virginie D V

21 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent course and well done. A suggestion to improve it would be to add more imagery and photos. For example, in week 12 module, when talking about the art pieces, it would be nice to see an image of them while they are being described.

автор: Kai L

18 апр. 2022 г.

V​ery informative and helpful to gain an understanding of the history and legacy of colonialism. Provided excellent variety in the subject matter covered. Unfortunately, the use of mutliple choice questions for testing was very colonial.

автор: Abiola O

7 мар. 2021 г.

As a new Canadian from the United Kingdom (I became a Canadian Permanent Resident on 1 January 2020), this course has been so useful and informative in teaching me about Canadian history. It has made me want to learn more about Canada.

автор: Cole N

8 мая 2018 г.

Really good overview of Indigenous history and culture in Canada. I thought there was a little bit too much focus in the questions on remembering names rather than important concepts, but I learned a lot and it challenged my worldview.

автор: Maria D

20 мар. 2022 г.

As an immigrant myself, this course gave me a broader view of the First Nations and their contribution to Canada today. It also allowed me to confirm that we are indebted to the indigenous peoples and that we still have much to learn.

автор: Timothy L

20 окт. 2019 г.

Excellent course with broad applicability for all Canadians, especially non-Indigenous Canadians looking to learn about Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples. Could have used more groups discussion or interactive portions.

автор: Jocelyn M

10 февр. 2022 г.

This was a great course to build on the little knowledge i had prior to taking the course. It really motivates you to want to dive in further and obtain more knowledge and understanding of the true experiences of indigenous people

автор: Kate G

12 дек. 2020 г.

This course provided a path to deeper understanding of colonization issues. I am now able to understand the historical roots behind issues that affect indigenous communities today. In short, a solid education with great readings.

автор: Stefanie T

27 авг. 2019 г.

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

автор: Jacqueline S

4 сент. 2017 г.

It was very interesting but some videos were really long and difficult to understand. Plus the questions sometimes were trick questions which I personally don't think are really helpful with the learning and understanding process.

автор: Dora S

2 дек. 2020 г.

I learned a great deal from the course. Some parts were a good historical refresher and while other parts were new and challenging. Most importantly the course challenged some old assumptions and provoked new perspectives for me.

автор: Chad W

12 окт. 2021 г.

E​xcellent overview of Indigenous history, issues, and culture. Perhaps infusion of images and video of relevant material would make it more captivating? This could be a copyright issue but would make the course more stimulating

автор: Harmen H H

16 мар. 2019 г.

Although the course was quite biased as it only showed one viewpoint, it was valuable in seeing the indigenous viewpoint of history. Hopefully we can all learn to get along with each other and to accept each others differences.

автор: Neeltje S

11 апр. 2022 г.

liked the set up: the videos and variety of topics covered were impressive. Wish the dictation was rehearsed more prior to filming - pronounciation of simple words was frequently incorrect which is distracting and easily fixed.

автор: Amy M

30 сент. 2021 г.

Very insightful. I would be interested in learning more about present day movements as well as indigenous influencers and educators.

I'd also like to learn more about how to be a better ally.

Thank you for the great opportunity.