Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,236
Рецензии: 6,505

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

SW

23 июня 2021 г.

Very informative, I really enjoyed this course. The perspectives presented were eye-opening, and it was nice to be able to learn more about Indigenous peoples and what they have endured on their land.

BE

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

Фильтр по:

6026–6050 из 6,752 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Jacki W

4 июня 2022 г.

i​nfromation was thorough and interesting, but delivery could have been more dynamic. I found the videos somewhat uniform and monotonous- but great insights into Canadian history and our shamful past. I learned a lot and plan to continue my learning. I really liked how the course ended- with positive statements about indigenous activism, global support and international recognition for indigenous peiples. I love the section on the art work. Thank you

автор: Joyce F

3 февр. 2021 г.

I enjoyed taking the course, there were some errors in how the questions were worded making some quizzes more challenging to complete. The content had a good balance and overview allowing for reflection and introspection. I loved the use of the artwork as it added visual stimulation and represented the people in a different way than reading and listening to the presenters. Thank you for putting this together, I have recommended it to a number of people.

автор: François L

21 дек. 2021 г.

Covers a wide range of topics, art and issues very much relevant today. From my perspective as a descendent of (mostly) French settlers, i feel the contents of this course should be given more space in all canadian history classes, no matter the age or level. Some of the quizzes seemed too short to fully encompass the notions viewed in each module, with a few questions somewhat ambiguous, but the sheer wealth of information is fascinating and crucial.

автор: Erin M

12 янв. 2021 г.

It's been over 20 years since I took an Indigenous course at the university level. When I graduated the RCAP report was just submitted & residential schools were just beginning being acknowledged in courses. I have worked with Indigenous Nations and wanted to reconnect with their history. I truly enjoyed this course - the knowledge and it's ability to make me think. It encouraged me to share with loved ones and a desire to go beyond this course.

автор: Shelley c

28 дек. 2020 г.

As a non-canadian, this course was very informative and I learned a lot about the complex history of indigenous peoples in Canada, as well as the present. The course is a few years old now, and I'd love to see them add something from current events, especially in relation to all the new pipelines. The other thing is that the wording of the quiz questions is, at times, a bit confusing, so you need to read them carefully. All in all, I learned a TON!

автор: Janet W

6 дек. 2020 г.

I live in an area surrounded by reserve lands and was interested to learn about how reserves are able to acquire additional land which may, or may not, be added to the reserve land. I was also interested being made aware of indigenous people have rights to moderate living from hunting, and fishing as well as the issue of Canada adopting Undrip.

These are issues in both local and National newspapers right now and I am reading them with interest.

автор: Ilya Z

21 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is definitely an eye-opener. However, there are some things that were missed.

First, it would be nice to briefly tell the story of how aboriginal peoples got to North America and three waves of migration. Also, a short review of the main language families would help many of the listeners.

Second, in part 12 when modern aboriginal artists are discussed, having no illustrations of their works is a big surprise.

Anyway, good course. Thanks.

автор: Troy D

2 февр. 2021 г.

The course itself is very informative and there is plenty to learn for anyone who hasn't done native studies. The content is well thought out and generally presented very well. The production does need some editing as the background music during talking is very distracting and the interview with Rueben Quinn doesn't really work. Also it would be good if there was a pop-up when questions aren't answered on a quiz before they submit for final grade

автор: Susan F

7 июня 2017 г.

This was a great course that covered a wide variety of issues facing Indigenous people in Canada. They drew in many different presenters with varied backgrounds and incorporated interactive art pieces that were explained by the artist. An improvement might be to include hyperlinks in the notes to related resources, especially in the final lesson on art. This course has fundamentally changed how I view Canada and Indigenous people. Thank you.

автор: Julie K

19 дек. 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed this course and will use it as a jumping off point for more learning related to Indigenous history and perspective. I suggest for future versions of this course, to include recommended additional readings for each weekly topic for those looking to dive deeper. I found myself wanting to learn more and researching on my own. I suspect the Faculty has some great readings to point students to. Thanks very much for this course!

автор: Jérémy T

9 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent course overall! This course is a solid base from which to further my own knowledge and understanding of historical and contemporary Indigenous issues. My only suggestion for improvement would be to edit some quiz questions so that there is only one correct answer per question. I found myself frustrated at times when I got a question wrong even though, for some questions, two options were clearly correct based on the course content.

автор: Lorena K H

12 дек. 2021 г.

A good survey course. The emphasis on Metis and Plains is understndlable, since it is Alberta-based..This terribly essential information should be essential for every Canadian. It desperately needs upgrading, in the last few sections.To integrate materials, I thought more time should be allowed than the esimates given. And, lastly, please do not let some modules fall into the trap of creating reverse racism (however justified that may be)

автор: Diane F

15 янв. 2021 г.

On occasion the questions were not quite well timed with the course materials, particularly the question on Idle No More. I also think that adding further visuals to the videos would be helpful and informative. While the lecturers are excellent, this format could more closely follow an in-class format where images accompany oral lecture content. In Week 12 a number of artists are named, but for most we did not see images of their works.

автор: Anna L

23 авг. 2020 г.

Content was really great! My only complaint were the quizzes. I took a couple twice and some correct answers were counted as wrong. It doesn't change my takeaway that the course itself was really good and made me want to learn more in different Indigenous studies classes going forward. It obviously can't cover everything in depth but definitely helps to fill in holes where most provincial primary and secondary education curriculums fail.

автор: Diana T

10 авг. 2020 г.

I would actually give this course a 4.5 but couldn't figure out how to do that. It was an excellent overview and I learned a great deal. I especially enjoyed the inclusion of Linda's paintings and her discussion of them.

My only criticism is the Forums - I found it difficult to find meaningful discussions. I am sure they were there, but there were many negative, show-off, posturing type comments that made it frustrating to wade through.

автор: Pete G

7 сент. 2020 г.

As a recent immigrant of Canada, I felt it was a duty of mine to learn about the indigenous history of my new home. I learned a lot during this course and I appreciate the amount of hours and effort that has gone into creating this course that is available for free. One bit of feedback for me personally was that I found it quite hard to concentrate at times due to it being done in the style of a lecture. Anyway, big thanks to the team.

автор: Stephanie P

30 июня 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course and also learned a lot of new things about different groups and different aspect of Indigenous culture, life and history. The videos were great and made the course accessible, it helped me work at my own pace as well as stay engaged. It is a great starting point, and I would love to continue learning more in depth on this subject from the faculty of UofA if additional courses will be made available in the future.

автор: Scott D

8 янв. 2022 г.

Honest presentation of matters related to being Indigenous in Canada today. It should be obvious to all students that this course just scratches the surface. Some of the coverage related to resource extraction requires more definition or detail, in my view. Topics such as this can be difficult viewing but the material is presented in such a way as to allow the student to proceed without so much discomfort that they abandon the course.

автор: Charmaine T

18 февр. 2021 г.

A great overview of Indigenous peoples in Canada. The history of decolonization and its continued impact on everyone today is a stark reminder that the work required is still ongoing. However, the resilience and determination of each group will not be shortchanged or pushed aside. The drive to reclaim and let their voices be heard continues to grow and thrive and even amongst challenges, the truth still remains and always will remain.

автор: Sandra J

23 мая 2022 г.

I found the course and hearing the Indigenous perspective on Canadian history very valuable. I have recommended the course to many others, e.g., colleagues, family and friends and will continue to sing it's praises.

One comment, if I may, some of the quiz questions are worded in a way that makes it difficult to determine what is being asked and thus difficult to answer.

Thank you for providing this opportunity to learn.

Sandy Judge

автор: Richard D

10 дек. 2021 г.

Having worked across Canada in remote areas I have experienced and witnessed the good and the bad of being Indigenous in Canada. This course showed me so much more and opened my eyes to the reality that has been in front of me throughout my life. I started this course to kickstart the exploration of my families Indigenous ancestry and I am now very motivated to learn more about my ancestry and the Indigenous experience in Canada.

автор: Stacey B

23 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course (even though a lot of the content was disheartening to learn about). I thought it was well presented, offered a variety of ways to learn the materials, and engage with the material. I especially thought the artwork was amazing! and the way it was presented in the little videos with Ms. Dorion explaining all the symbolism and stories. I loved that!! Well done! I have already signed up for another course.

автор: Niki K

15 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent source of history, knowledge and perspective. I did find the repetition of speakers, methods of presenting and unit structure too similar for 12 units (weeks). My attention and engagement appreciates more diversity with instruction methods such as other speakers, more examples of music and art with the artist interpretations, other sources of sharing knowledge - exactly what the interviews scattered throughout provided.

автор: Sheena B H

20 дек. 2020 г.

This is a great course and I feel every Canadian should take this course in elementary and high school.

I am taking it after being in Canada 50 years and am shamed that it’s taken me so long to acknowledge the first people and their past and ongoing trials and challenges! Thank you to all the scholars.

Be proud, be strong and keep sharing your history and your future achievements.

I am going to look for a course on indigenous art!

автор: Yvonne C

3 февр. 2022 г.

I very much appreciated all the content, the research and the art works as well as all the multi-media effects. I would just like to suggest more visual examples of events and/or artifacts in some of the chapters. As well, the format of some chapters are not congruent with the rest of the document. Thank you for sharing your culture to the world. I hope more and more people become aware of your culture and would support it.