Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 17,198
Рецензии: 4,612

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

NP

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

Фильтр по:

3676–3700 из 4,569 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: suryansh m

Jan 10, 2016

It was a very good course. I understood everything. My only complaint is that the tests questions were repetitive and so it would be easy to cheat on a second or third attempt and also the final quiz should have been more about writing your own code. I think what should have been tested was the end product by the autograder rather than the exact code. I'm not sure how that would work but it would result in a more precise grade rather than the 87.5% everyone gets and also help the student write his/her own code rather than proofreading and selecting others. I did thoroughly enjoy the course and am looking forward to Course two of the series on CSS3.

автор: Karol F

Jan 22, 2016

A brief but interesting introduction to HTML. Very few practical examples and exercises, but it does cover the basics like: syntax, semantics, what to pay attention to while creating own website. Love the way the material is presented by Mrs. Lent and will finish all three remaining courses.

Combined with the HTML & CSS course at CODECADEMY I have the ability to write simple html, read somebody else's code and find resources necessary to get me started with my own page. Till now I always thought HTML and web design was boring, well not anymore!

I would recommend this course to somebody who is only starting to learn HTML.

автор: Chris M

Dec 01, 2016

I love Colleen's style of presenting and teaching. It's refreshing! She looks like she's a great teacher who thoroughly enjoys sharing her knowledge with others. Her students at UMich are very fortunate indeed. As to the course content: it's very well structured, with clear explanations and quizzes/assignments that help understand and apply the course material. Maybe one flaw: it was such a brief introduction, it left me wanting for more. But I guess that's also a good sign, right? So if you have little time and you really want to get the basics to start working on web development, look no further than this course.

автор: Elvin R

Dec 11, 2016

I liked the course, but I have to mention that i got pretty furious over that last quiz. I had no idea how to get these progress-bars the right way to look. So I spent hours on trying to figure it out, only being left with an unsatisfied answer, which is that i gotta use CSS. I'd have really loved to find out if i can recreate these bars using only HTML. Anyways, The course was great though and explained a variety of things like website-hosting and accessibility. If there was one thing I'd change about the course it would be, more practical use of the mentioned tags. Thanks for the journey.

автор: Saskia G

Aug 19, 2017

I like this course and I've learned quite a lot.

Still, I think some questions in the tests are not very useful. For example I have learnt that css was first made available for the public in 1996 and that HTML version 2.3 (or so) offered more options for - I can't remember what exactly ;) but my point is that these are important basic facts one must have heard about. But in my opinion they don't necessarily need to be asked in a test.

Still, all in all I'm very happy that I did this course and I would definitely recommend it for beginners of HTML. You definitely get to know all the basics.

автор: Juthika S

Dec 11, 2015

Great course for beginners who have absolutely no idea about coding! Huge thanks to Prof. Colleen who used very simple language to make the course easier to understand. All the important aspects of basic HTML5 were covered. Assignments were challenging and fun! I can proudly say that I created my own 'First' webpage with the help of this course. One star less just because I felt that some topics like images and especially multimedia usage can be confusing and could have been explained more in detail. Overall a very informative course...highly recommended!!

автор: Juan O L

Oct 07, 2015

This is a very nice introductory course. Although I have experience with HTML, I appreciate the fact that it assumes no previous knowledge and takes the time to show beginners how to create and save an HTML file for the first time, as well as some of the editors that are available. Three weeks is a bit short, in my opinion. I would have liked to see forms being covered a bit, even if the actual handling is postponed until JavaScript is covered. I was also expecting for the canvas tag to at least be mentioned.

Overall, an excellent course for beginners!

автор: Sajad Y

Feb 16, 2019

Overall, this course is pretty good. Colleen explains the concepts very well and also directs to other resources that can be helpful. However, it will be more effective if there are more coding exercises especially, in week 2 where there is a lot of discussion on "tags". Lastly, the only part which I did not find very useful was the "peer reviewed final project" and the reason behind that is that for some people like me who are going through the course very rapidly, have to wait until someone reviews your course and that takes some time to be completed.

автор: Tauhid A

Jun 08, 2020

It's a good course and the instructions were really good. but i wanted to learn a lot more. specially, i had the impression that after doing this course, ill be able to design a full website using html5. but unfortunately i couldnt get much of practical knowledge needed for that. i had to eventually take help from youtube for the final project. so from the practical perspective, the course wasnt so satisfying but as a introduction to the language and from the theoretical perspective, the course was overall good.

автор: Ashley U

Oct 23, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I had completed a basic overview of HTML prior to this, but Colleen provides a great overview for complete beginners, and I love her focus on accessibility. A lot of those pieces were new to me and not covered in many introductory courses.

One note is to be careful when taking quizzes or reading homework assignments. There are typos or unclear requirements at times, so it is helpful to watch the optional videos on the assignments when available for additional clarity.

автор: Elevic P

Dec 24, 2015

Lectures are great. Colleen sounds very amiable. She has great tips.

Downside: You're only required to do some coding for the final project. I think this course would be better if they'll add an in-browser editor so students could play with code after a lecture.

Yes, I do play with code after the lecture to get around it, but I think the way the lectures are presented tempt the students not to. So any additional prompts such as in-browser editor - for in-lecture quizzes - definitely will help.

автор: Ruben S

May 17, 2017

Everything was easy to understand the teacher really tried to have a slow pace so everybody could follow along. However, it was a little too slow for me. I took this course to get a basic, but profound knowledge about html5. I know a lot of tags and best practices now, but do not have a clue why I would use <footer> and <header> instead of <section>, except for "SEO reasons". How does it influence my ranking? What does it help with? Those questions were not answered.

автор: Erix L

Feb 07, 2016

A good intro to the HTML material, which is an entry level into coding in itself. Since its intro it doesn't cover the vast array of of available tricks accessible within the language and there may be instances where you have to seek tips elsewhere on the internet. By the end of it all you should be able to build some basic HTML elements. With that, there are still some tidbits about the basics of HTML (tags) that I still have questions regarding importance/use of.

автор: Jesus A

Jul 27, 2019

Thanks for this course. I think it's a pretty good introduction to HTML. I learned a bit about the history of the internet. I've already had some knowledge about html and web developement, so I found this course rather too basic for me, but, as it's mentioned in the introduction, it's aimed at those who had no idea what HTML. I think it's a nice way to get start in the world of web development. I enjoyed the part about accessibility. Cheers.

автор: Christina O

Jan 14, 2016

Five stars for emphasis on accessibility, explanation and detail of semantic elements.

Three stars for course content testing prior to publication and for omission of Linux. I use sftp on a command-line interface and did not learn in this course how to use mput for putting multiple HTML files and web assets onto my live site. There is no hyphen in "meta-data", nor are there two hyphens in "local area network.

автор: Michael S

Dec 08, 2017

Could have a bit harder assignments towards the end, but everything is explained well, and videos are the perfect length. Also the hosting part was difficult for me to follow and I never actually figured it out. I will try and go back when I have something worth hosting, but it didn't seem worth spending hours trying to figure it out when all I know how to do it write a short HTML document.

автор: Liubou P

Oct 18, 2015

Thank you for the course! It was challenging in some way and VERY interesting. Besides, it is really stimulating in terms of self-learning as some aspects are mentioned but briefly. Personally I had some trouble with navigation, which made me spent a lot of time browsing the Internet for some information. But as they say no pains, no gains:)

Thank you, Colleen! Looking forward to CSS course.

автор: Christine W

Sep 20, 2016

I enjoyed the pace of this class however, I was not too keen on the way code is graded, e.g. for the final project of the 3rd week, although my code validated and the resulting page was identical to the instructor's mockup, it was still marked incorrect in the quiz and there was no way to determine exactly what the issue was. There has to be a better way to grade coding assignments.

автор: Chris D

Oct 28, 2016

Overall excellent course. I felt, maybe wrongly, that some of the terminology and information given expected you to grasp immediately and this slowed my progress somewhat as I had to re-watch or go online to 'simplify' what I was being told/asked.

Otherwise an excellent course which I would highly recommend for others looking to begin their journey in to HTML5 and CSS3.

автор: Aleksy W

May 26, 2016

Really basic course, great for everyone who haven't seen or written any code in their whole life. Teacher is surely likeable and content is easy to follow even during busy, full of work week. It teaches mostly about tags and how to put them together in proper way. I really liked constant reminders about accessibility, that definitely helps with making good habits.

автор: Jacqueline L

Nov 09, 2019

I thought the class was good -- lectures and reading materials were very helpful. I would have enjoyed a slightly longer format with more assignments to try different things out and work with the other students. I've been experimenting on my own though so it's worked out. I've signed up for CSS and look forward to continuing forward with this course of study.

автор: Shubham K

Mar 04, 2020

It was a great course overall but this course will leave you with a little knowledge of HTML 5 together with some doubts on how to use some tags (few) and where to use them. But it gave the idea of finding our solution by ourselves because doing research on your doubts teaches you a lot.

In a nutshell this course was excellent and I recommend this course.

автор: Maria d C P

Apr 16, 2016

It's a good course for beginner, lots of HTML elements are covered in detail during the classes and you will get a good knowledge about HTML. If you code along the course and do all the assignments to practice in the end of the course you will have solid foundation for continued learning and programming in HTML5. It is course that I recommend to enroll.

автор: Hector R R S R

Jan 05, 2019

The information provided by this course is good, let me undesrtand better the behaibor of a WEB page, Thanks !!!

PS. Please if is possible to you when a question apper in the middle of a video and the trainee doesn´t find the rigth ansewr after serveral attemps, it could be a good a idea get the answer by some option, just to fix the doubt.

автор: Luke M

Nov 15, 2019

Clear lectures. Good information. The instructor made clear the difference between mandatory elements and suggestions for good code. Downside: sometimes the extra readings were difficult to find, since links were provided at the beginning of the course, but without describing when certain chapters should be read before which quiz.