Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 10,102
Рецензии: 2,540

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CR

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

Фильтр по:

2376–2400 из 2,492 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: muhammad h s

Dec 20, 2019

goog

автор: Ahmed K A E W

Oct 29, 2019

good

автор: Nguyễn Q V

Oct 09, 2019

Good

автор: MOHA A

Apr 25, 2019

nice

автор: sushil g

Jan 17, 2017

Good

автор: Amar J

Dec 06, 2016

GOOD

автор: Boris L

Jan 13, 2016

good

автор: tasweeb a

Oct 09, 2015

like

автор: Haneen M N

Aug 26, 2019

..

автор: Sardorjon L

Apr 16, 2018

I am not satisfied with this course. The instructor doesn't seem to know what she is teaching. The annoying part is, as she talks she reads every word from the screen next to the camera. You can see her eyes rolling from left to right and her reading is poor and not fluent. She recorded the course unprepared. Sometimes she confuses the words. I think everyone can do that. I have seen online instructors who do not read text behind camera, they talk and code at the same time. Most of the time she recorded herself talking. I would not want to see her talking, I would want to see her screen, and some code as she explains. It would be better if she didn't show herself this much. it is hard to focus on what she is saying because you see the instructor sitting there and reading us the book or something.

автор: Zayn E D

Jan 15, 2018

The lectures did go by very quickly, but over all the entire course was easy to follow. With some note taking, and utilizing the provided external resources, I have enough basic knowledge to hack my way through webpage building. The only caveat in my opinion, was the lack of assignments. All of our coding was editing, or piece by piece. The only time you are asked to build a webpage is for the final, an endeavor that you are asked to undertake with convoluted instructions and no margin for error. In the lecture slides it says that there used to be a practice test preceding the final; my biggest suggestion would be to bring that back and/or implement more involved assignments.

автор: Carol L W

Jan 11, 2016

In the past few years I have taken a number of HTML courses and I know the basics quite well. This is a 'beginner's course' but the final coding project was next to impossible to pass. There was a quiz that would allow you to pass the course without having your code correct. Although my code validated before I submitted it , I got it wrong on the quiz three times and it never did go through correctly!!. I did pass the course with a final grade of 94% but I don't feel confident in my coding ability at all. It would be fine if I had received some feedback showing where the problems were. Without it I have no idea what went wrong. Very frustrating.

автор: Tad S

Aug 25, 2019

There are lots of typos in the course materials as well as and more critically in the final assignment review questions. For example, for Favorite Foods section, in order for the page to look right as expected by the instructor, you will need to use the unordered list. However, in the peer review criteria / question, it asks "was the ordered list used?" instead of "was the unordered list used?". Because of this incorrect peer assignment question, one of my reviewers took a point off. Please review your course materials and fix all typos!

автор: Christina C

Feb 10, 2016

While I was disappointed that HTML forms weren't discussed, this course provided very solid information. A lot of slide and code typos were distracting though and it felt like the instructor was talking less to me (and more reading from a hidden screen), which dampened the overall experience a bit. But the way the instructor explained the course material was very approachable and easy for a beginner like me to understand. After taking this course, I feel like I'm one step closer to thoroughly understanding HTML5.

автор: Nishant K S

Oct 08, 2019

Everytime the thing i hate about any course on coursera is the late peer review of the assignments. It takes too long to get your assignment reviewed. No matter how fast you complete your assignments, no matter how many assignment you review, in return you only have to wait for your own to get reviewed. Really it sucks. Sorry for such words but this is really frustrating.

Better there must be machine reviewing instead of humans review as there can be no one doing that particular course alongside you.

автор: Alexander L

Feb 08, 2018

Bright course with nice values, but I kinda disliked the logic and the order of the information given. Something was amiss. Also it's very basic. I doubt I would've completed it without any problems or complaints if I didn't have a distant background in HTML. Maybe, though! The best thing about the course is the resources that you are given, I find. Code validators, html testing tools, a whole other website with a whole other html tutorial, etc

Don't regret taking it but I'm on the fence

автор: Ricky

Mar 16, 2016

While the textbook used in this course provide a lot of useful background to the Internet, it's history and trends...etc All good knowledge. I am not sure it's the best teaching tool for this course. It lacks the structure to build up a solid foundation of HTML. If the course stops here, the text may be a good reference for students to explore on their own. With CSS and javascript later in the series, I felt a stronger (both in depth and coverage) HTML proficiency is needed.

автор: P.O.Konchevskyi

Oct 06, 2015

The most weak part is automatical grading. When structure and semantics are essential, text inside tag is not, guessing if exists space between elements isn't acceptable as well. Also it's difficult to check when long code snippets should be pasted as plan text in short text field. Better to use file uploading with required snippet. For me also not enough accent was on html 5 features with dedicated examples how use new tags and attributes.

автор: Lelania C G

Mar 20, 2019

This is not a self paced course. The material is presented in a confusing way, some of it's outdated, there are many typos and some of the questions on the quizzes are hard to decipher. This has been the most frustrating learning experience I've ever had. Because so much emphasis is placed on "mistakes", I've had to apply more time and effort into understanding how it's done right. Not cool when deadlines are imposed.

автор: William H

Oct 06, 2015

Videos were OK, practice quizzes somewhat helpful. However, the final autograder quiz was extremely temperamental and gave no usable feedback. This resulted in frustration and made what should have been a good experience a very bad one.

Updated course to three stars since a change was made to be able to pass the final quiz without needing to pass the autograder submission.

автор: Jay B

Nov 29, 2015

The course probably should be a bit longer to go into more detail on certain things. I have HTML experience, but no HTML5, figured this would be a good beginners course. Felt the final coding assignment was a bit vague as far as instructions and the video. I can use different tags to make the page look similar to the professors layout, and not be exact in what's required.

автор: Wendy N

Nov 24, 2015

If you are looking a general HTML Course, this is for you. This provide general knowledge to create simple web pages, some basic HTML tags and a few practices. My expectation was to have a deeper knowledge of HTML5, spend more time reviewing difference between HTML5 version and the last ones but, I didn't get it, this why I'm giving just 3 starts

автор: Maria R

Sep 10, 2018

The only issue I had was with the program testing our codes for the final exam. I don't think it should be used until it can grade the code correctly and tell us our issue. I matched the example perfectly, took the exam twice and only failed that part of it and I don't know what I missed since the program doesn't tell you.

автор: Derrick P

Feb 23, 2020

Overall the course was good, the videos contained some errors, some of the quiz questions also contained some errors within the answers that were impactful to selecting the wrong answer, as well as some of the text based information in the course had typos and errors. Overall, these should be better proof read and fixed.

автор: Enrico F

Oct 01, 2015

Very excellent course for beginners. Hope that the next courses will be at the same level!

Two main problems, though: first, the autograder is very bad, should be much more flexible.

Second, in my opinion, the homework should be more code-based, just like the final project.