Chevron Left
Вернуться к HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 7,334
Рецензии: 2,566

О курсе

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Лучшие рецензии

SM

Jun 11, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV

May 31, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 2,502 отзывов о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

автор: Maria d C P

Apr 29, 2016

For the last 7 months, I've been enrolled in all of Coursera's courses related with Front-End Developing and this one is so far the best course ever. This course is very well structured, it's hands on, and get you ready for "real world" development what is great. Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor, explains well, is engaging and get to the point. It is a very demanding course and you will need to dedicated more hours per week to watch all videos (then what you usually you need in these kind of courses), so you will need to be committed to do it but in the end you will learn tons.

Thank you for the Johns Hopkins University team for doing such a great job and a special thanks to Yaakov Chaikin!

автор: Kuolai S

May 04, 2016

This course, HTML CSS JS, benefits me effectively in many ways:

HTML: I learned most updated HTML here with a little over 60 minute lectures; wohich otherwise may take me weeks to read two or three books with many redundant chapters.

CSS: I have to admit I need more time to be proficient about it. Styling, floating, DOM traversing, ..lots of CSS features that I learned are essential and with just about two hours of lecture.

Javascript: A language I am familiar and strange to it until I went through all the lectures. Two ways of function definition; object data type; used to confuse me and now they become clear and dynamically typed Javascript has become one of the language I can write.

автор: Travis Y

Jul 13, 2016

This course is an outstanding introduction to Web design technologies and tools. As a backend developer, I was looking for a course to refresh my knowledge of HTML and CSS, and this course went far beyond what I had hoped to learn -- even introducing me to some new tools, as well as filling in a lot of the background of WHY things work the way they do. My only criticism might be that the final week's assignment was not very difficult, and perhaps as a result, didn't force me to really study the material. Otherwise, I highly recommend this course, and I'm looking forward to taking the Angular course in this series. Thank you very much, Yaakov, and Johns Hopkins!

автор: eric t

Dec 10, 2016

My condition: a total computer science newbie.

This course, as its proclamation, is very suitable for someone like me.

It is a condense and delicate course, which means in order to get the skill to build a website, the only thing has to be done is following the steps in the video and finishing the assignment ; and yet every topic in the course, even a line of code, deserves further contemplation.

"Why Yakkov does this instead of that?" is a question I frequently ask myself during the course.

In short, this course provide a solid ground for developing skills in web development, and I sincerely recommend it to everyone who's interested in this field.

автор: Purushothaman S

Apr 11, 2019

I have been actively watching the tutorials for a week, and its really good!! The instructor explains everything very clearly and even a lay man can understand everything from this.

I'm very glad that my journey is so very productive with such wonderful courses, offered by JHP University and Coursera.

Hoping to enroll for more such wonderful courses, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, to get a deeper knowledge about HTML, CSS and Javascript.

EDIT 1: So now, I have completed 90% of this course. This course is super lit folks, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, if you wish to start a career with Web Development.

автор: Eddy J

Nov 02, 2017

Don't hesitate to start this course because you will lose really really an awesome opportunity to take the fun and great class. As I am the person who is the beginner and took some courses online and offline of web development, I would like to tell you that the instructor of this course is very knowledgeable plus he has experience in the industry I could say. The difference between this course and the other courses I had taken before is that he is trying to show the real industry as he gets a real client during the lecture and indeed, he builds a real website continuously interacting with the real client. You know what, just take this course :)

автор: Nathan Y

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. While I have no goal of becoming a professional web developer, as a professional system architect, this course has given me an important foundation in javascript, and added significant depth to my knowledge of CSS and HTML. Knowing javascript is more and more important as Node.js becomes embedded as the go-to solution for a wide-variety of activities within modern micro-services architecture. Yaakov is an engaging lecturer and he addresses some of the more esoteric best practices and javascript kludges quite well. Javascript is a messy language and Yaakov is up-front and unambiguous about how to do it right.

автор: Nicolas S V

Jan 18, 2017

This was a really interesting course, it shows you not only the granularity of a project, but also how to build it in a way that allows you to keep scaling with different technologies, basically as the title of the course says, you will implement a real site, and Yaakov will give you a ride to the clients restaurant in order to take requirements, you are going to create a website for that restaurant, and step by step you will see how to improve it, from simple HTML structures to complex Javascript code (using good practices). It will give confidence if you already have some knowledge and you will learn a LOT if you are new.

автор: Dorian A

Feb 23, 2017

Excelente! Los conocimiento desplegados en el curso son muy completos! En lo personal repeti cada leccion y estudie los fundamentos varias veces, ya que hay cosas que de repente se pasan por alto pero que si se considera el tiempo que dura el curso (5 semanas) es mas que entendible. Tratar de ir mas alla requeriria mucho mas tiempo. Sin embargo vuelvo y repito el contenido abarcado es bastante, y al finalizar estas en plena capacidad de empezar a contribuir en proyectos de desarrollo web. De verdad excelente y gran parte de la calidad de este curso se debe a Yaakov y su tutoria dinamica y para nada aburrida. Saludos!

автор: Mario P

May 02, 2017

Johns Hopkins University shows how versatile teaching institutions needs to be these days, delivering an extremely well prepared online course. Having Professor Yaakov Chaiking on the driving seat, was certainly a wise choice, as he is a great communicator, able to keep the audience interest up to the very last lesson.

I was looking for an introductory course on HTML and CSS, which is amazingly covered during the first three weeks of the course. Javascript was a plus, a highly useful one.

This was a great learning experience, and a fun one too! Hats off to Professor Yaakov Chaiking for such a great performance!

автор: Fernando

Mar 08, 2016

One of the best Coursera courses I've taken so far. The quality of the contents is second to none - Not to mention the way they're presented is simply outstanding.

If I had to come up with areas of improvement, I'd probably say that the length the weekly sections is a little bit overwhelming. Actually, I think the contents of this course should be split into two separate courses on their own so the various concepts can be absorbed in a more efficient way.

I've really enjoyed going through this course and I must say I've definitely accomplished all the learning goals I set for myself at the very beginning.

автор: Hanadi H

Aug 12, 2019

I liked the course very much! Everything about it is great. Yaacov meticulously explains needed information. The slides are adequate. It's nice to have the information spoken by Yaacov as printed for further comprehension and follow up. The field trip for the website was really good. It's the first time I get exposed to the life of Jews and I found many similarities with my background. Of course there are so much information concerning the course that I need further readings (from the Readings list) and perhaps to restudy the course on my own to have a really sturdy base in web development. Thank you!

автор: Ruslan R

Apr 03, 2016

This covers provides excellent coverage of the most fundamental concepts of front-end development. The presentation style in the lectures was very clear and easy to understand and the information in the lectures themselves, particularly the ones on CSS and Javascript, was quite comprehensive. I have learned much more about CSS than I ever knew before and have even been able to apply that knowledge in my full-time job as a software engineer. This has all been possible thanks to this course. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to understand much more about front-end development.

автор: Mahmud F U A

Jun 23, 2016

A perfect gateway into web development. I would recommend this course to anybody who deals with websites in general. Even if you are not a developer, you can take this course just to know how websites do the things they do. It's concise yet very complete, and very rewarding.

All the content is structured very well: the topics are divided into small morsels, if you will, perfect for learning. The instructor, Yaakov Chaikin, is one of the best teachers I have come across and the assignments are engaging and pose just enough challenge to help you learn. Five stars any day.

автор: Paul S

Oct 18, 2016

It's an all-rounder course with a great introduction to HTML, CSS and Javascript/jQuery/AJAX. There's enough formal background to tell you why things are they way they are and what each HTML, CSS, JS component is meant to achieve and how to do it. Great links to external resources as well. The practical examples and assignments do all they should to reinforce that. The course gives a very good base to build on by yourself, or continue further with more advanced material. It definitely helps to have some programming experience for the latter material on Javascript.

автор: Vinicius d N S d S

Sep 26, 2016

Great course! I really enjoyed it. It helped consolidate a lot of important knowledge, in order to create high quality, modern web applications.

I do have one suggestion though, which would be creating a version of this course directed to Ruby on Rails. The framework has numerous helpers for building frontend and a lot of things displayed in this course could be approached differently with the help of Rails. I would've enjoyed having this perspective, since I'm taking the Ruby on Rails specialization.

Nonetheless, congratulations on the great course you guys put up!

автор: huzefa s

Sep 15, 2019

This is a great course for anyone who wants to learn front end web development. The material in the course is designed in such a manner that it does not take much time and yet provides in-depth knowledge about the subject. Five stars for the members of the John Hopkins university team and coursera which spent huge efforts to deliver and create this course. You people have done a fantastic job of creating a course which does not take much time of the learner yet leaves him fully prepared to take challenges he may face in the industry of front end web development.

автор: Yijie Q

Jul 25, 2016

I've learned bits and pieces of HTML, CSS, and Javascript in school and work. With that said, this course was an easy one for me, nevertheless it helped organizing my prior web dev knowledge, and had definitely shined lights onto some details that I didn't know before. Yaakov did a great job explaining the basic concepts, as well as tapping into the common tricks and pitfalls.

I'd recommend this course to anyone who's just starting to learn web development, as well as those who'd like to put their previous on-the-spot learnings into an organized piece.

автор: genelle p

Mar 03, 2016

I am really enjoying the class so far. The professor and teaching assistants have been very responsive to questions in the forum. I've been looking for a HTML/Javascript course that wasn't a super beginner level course as I have some programming experience but am trying to learn more, and this class fits the bill. If you are very new to programming I wouldn't recommend taking this as the professor moves pretty quickly, but if you're like me and want to learn web development and have some programming knowledge under your belt, this class is made for you!

автор: Luznery d C V M

Jan 11, 2017

Highly recommended course!

Because I improve my knowledge of CSS3, I learned to develop an environment working with Git, create pages in GitHub. I wanted to create my first page in GitHub and I made it through this course. I also improved my JavaScript skills and learned Ajax which is totally new to me. And finally and no less important the assignment of module 5 was super incredible. I thank the Instructor Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor super inspiring and the whole team of mentors were fantastic, they were of great help. :)

Thank you very much!

автор: Kavi S

Jun 28, 2020

I am a second year undergrad from India. Before enrolling into this course, I was in dilemma whether or not I should take this course up because web development was something that didn't interest me much. After entering the course too, I was reluctant to do it. But once, it started off, it grew all the interest in me and I would not deny it that it is all because of Mr.Yaakov Chaikin. His way of teaching is so engaging that now, I love Web development and I am even thinking of enrolling in your AngularJS course too.

Thanks Yaakov and yes, Coursera

Kavi

автор: Kshitij G

Feb 28, 2016

I am super confident even with just two weeks into the course of coming out as a really skilled developer, and hopefully have a fairly advanced "developer's intuition". Best part is he has worked diligently on the minutest of details and been careful how on-line learning can be difficult.

I have never done coding, and have often wondered what could be special to it.

So.. guess the course approaches a specialisation successfully allowing retention of that "excitement & curiosity" that almost always is inherent to learning.

Five stars already.

автор: sargon h

Jun 27, 2016

Yakoov is one of the best instructors I ever had on coursera. I am planning to take additional courses from him as instructor. This class is great. I was expecting just the a basic refresher course on the basic web technologies, but I ended up getting more than what I expected. The coverage is just enough to getting off the ground and explore more complex topics. Also, the responsive design coverage was completely appropriate and timely, at least in my case. I highly recommend taking this class and others offered by Yakoov Chaikin.

автор: S.D.Dheeraj G

Jun 08, 2020

The course is structured pretty well and interesting. Great Work by Coursera and the instructors. Although I feel like week 4 and 5 is a bit fast. They have a lot of content and depth in them which need certain time for students to get a grip on them as I suppose most of the students enrolled here are doing WebDev for the first time.A week may be added for this purpose(Just my humble suggestion). Anyways, I wholeheartedly enjoyed the course and it gave me a pretty good insight into WebDevelopement. Kudos to JHU .. !! <3 :)

автор: Sahas N

Apr 06, 2017

Absolutely loved Mr.Yaakov's teaching. I began learning web development long ago before dropping it as most of the tutorials out there were not exciting and really lacked in organisation of material & fundamental concepts. Either the tutorials were too slow or went over the top. Kudos to Mr.Yaakov for making the course interesting, dealing more with fundamentals and for the way he integrated HTML, CSS and javascript topics on a real-world website. I for sure learned more regarding web dev over past week more than ever.