Chevron Left
Вернуться к HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 9,332
Рецензии: 3,237

О курсе

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Лучшие рецензии

SM

Jun 11, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV

May 31, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 3,155 отзывов о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

автор: Sean H

Jul 01, 2016

Instructor seems like a genuinely invested teacher who provides plenty of resources, points you in the right direction in considering how to approach a client meeting, and provides in-depth explanations for what you need to know and do. A few of the later more advanced concepts really relied on students to follow along and type themselves, and you will want both notes and comments in your code to help you remember the important details (<!-- --> in HTML or /* */ in CSS). This combined with one or two other HTML/CSS/JavaScript Resources provides a comprehensive introduction to web design, though! Just be sure to allow yourself time to learn, absorb, practice, and work on the assignments. Plug into the community with detailed information when you have questions and you will be fine! :D

автор: alex

Dec 23, 2016

This course is awesome! Before I started the course, I had very little knowledge of web technologies. Now I understand how these technologies (HTML, CSS, Javascript, AJAX, backend stuff) work together. You learn how to write a website from scratch using HTML. In the second part of the course, you will attach a nice design to your website using CSS, and make it responsive, so that it looks nice all kind of different devices (phone, tablet, pc, etc.). You will be introduced into the Bootstrap CSS framework, which is very easy to use and used by many different websites. In the last part of the course, you will be introduced to JavaScript, which will help you to put some user interactions to your website.

I highly recommend this course, especially if you are a beginner in this field!

автор: Jose M S A

Sep 08, 2020

A very thoughtful course. It manages to offer a cross-section that goes deep into web developing. It will be up to the students to broaden their skills later, using the many hints and tools that the course offers. The assignments will make you think, if you want to finish them perfectly. Also, good practices are shown

throughout the course. For example, the first approach to JS is made on the console. The field trip was memorable as well. There are so many things that work right in this course. Caveats: sometimes you will want to pause the video and ponder. Sometimes you will want to go back to what you learned in the preceding weeks. You will get more from the course if you stop and just playfully experiment with what you have just learned. All in all, this course delivered.

автор: Agasthya S

Mar 01, 2016

Why 5 stars:

1. The amount of effort to put the course together is evident. It is not easy to go over all the basics in such short videos but Yaakov has managed to construct the course in such a way that we have enough understanding to ask the right questions that we can then investigate.

2. Practice quizzes after the lectures are very helful. They help us refresh the concepts and also give us a sense of confidence that we have understood the lecture.

3. The on screen recording is done very well. No clutter or unnecessary clicks and easy to follow.

4. Engages with students in the forums.

Room for improvement:

1. A cheat sheet document would be great. I am taking notes but wish I had an organized and concise document that contains the rules/syntax that need to be memorized.

автор: Henri B

Sep 12, 2019

I'm just auditing this course ... don't need credits. Did web development 15 years ago, but not since and wanted to catch up on changes, refresh things I had forgotten and learn CSS better. I think the instructor does an excellent job of explaining and the pace is nice.

I had minor confusion at the beginning because GitHub looks different than on the videos, but that was because time has passed and GitHub page changed. Not a big deal. Also, when the course was made VS Code was not as well developed as it is today. I installed the sublime-text editor the course used, but found that VS Code handling of Emmet was better and VS Code has add in LiveServer to see changes right away.

Bottom line - great course & instructor. Gets to the point quickly and effectively.

автор: Soleh F A

Jul 18, 2016

One of the best courses on HTML,CSS and javascript..Unlike other courses which directly take to higher concepts leaving behind all the foundational concepts,this course teaches the foundational concepts first and then gradually introduce higher concepts as well.Thus making the learning process pretty easy and at the same time making concepts clear and free of doubts.I like this approach!!

I would highly recommend this course for those who want to understand the basics of HTML,CSS and javascript and clear all doubts which are otherwise created by directly jumping into higher concepts......

And last but not the least thanks Coursera for providing best online courses and Thanks Johns Hopkins University for presenting this beautiful course......

автор: Alex

Sep 10, 2017

This course teaches well what the 3 web technologies have. HTML5 is only covered basic as there are more and more features coming. JS is covered to change essential behaviour of the site but also all the perks this language shines trough. I would like to see more server side technologies in future like apache or nodejs as in this course was only used browser-sync for rapid development and git hub pages as usual preview standard. In generall all three came into play in this course well and this course introduced business aspects like visiting a customer and planing the first mockups for design. Last but not least the instructor also showed advances in using chrome developer tools and ajax which are crucial for consistent responsive design.

автор: Hao L

Jan 26, 2017

This course is awesome!

If you have some programming experience but you don't know how to use HTML & CSS & JavaScript to build your own website, then this course is made for you. This course is awesome! Just before taking this course, I didn't even know how to write HTML, let alone CSS and JavaScript. But! After I finished this course, I have built a very well knowledge system about web development and I believe I have had the ability to dig deep into more practical and more difficult fields.

Thanks to Professor Yaakov Chaikin and Johns Hopkins team ! Thanks to everyone who makes efforts to improve this course. To be honest, this is the most excellent course I have taken and it helps me enormously.

автор: Edwin W K

May 29, 2018

I am deeply grateful to the team at Coursera for this course. John Hopkins University and Yaakov Chaikin in particular have done an excellent job. I give this course a 5 Star rating because it is well delivered with up to date content and relevant examples. I have really learnt a lot and it gives me a good foundation to build on and develop my career in web development. The section on Javascript was particularly challenging and I do realize that building up knowledge further on other concepts which have been mentioned such as JQuery and Angular JS is crucial. If you are looking for a transformative and challenging course, this is the right one for you. I will definitely recommend this to others.

автор: Maria d C P

Apr 29, 2016

For the last 7 months, I've been enrolled in all of Coursera's courses related with Front-End Developing and this one is so far the best course ever. This course is very well structured, it's hands on, and get you ready for "real world" development what is great. Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor, explains well, is engaging and get to the point. It is a very demanding course and you will need to dedicated more hours per week to watch all videos (then what you usually you need in these kind of courses), so you will need to be committed to do it but in the end you will learn tons.

Thank you for the Johns Hopkins University team for doing such a great job and a special thanks to Yaakov Chaikin!

автор: Kuolai S

May 04, 2016

This course, HTML CSS JS, benefits me effectively in many ways:

HTML: I learned most updated HTML here with a little over 60 minute lectures; wohich otherwise may take me weeks to read two or three books with many redundant chapters.

CSS: I have to admit I need more time to be proficient about it. Styling, floating, DOM traversing, ..lots of CSS features that I learned are essential and with just about two hours of lecture.

Javascript: A language I am familiar and strange to it until I went through all the lectures. Two ways of function definition; object data type; used to confuse me and now they become clear and dynamically typed Javascript has become one of the language I can write.

автор: Travis Y

Jul 13, 2016

This course is an outstanding introduction to Web design technologies and tools. As a backend developer, I was looking for a course to refresh my knowledge of HTML and CSS, and this course went far beyond what I had hoped to learn -- even introducing me to some new tools, as well as filling in a lot of the background of WHY things work the way they do. My only criticism might be that the final week's assignment was not very difficult, and perhaps as a result, didn't force me to really study the material. Otherwise, I highly recommend this course, and I'm looking forward to taking the Angular course in this series. Thank you very much, Yaakov, and Johns Hopkins!

автор: eric t

Dec 10, 2016

My condition: a total computer science newbie.

This course, as its proclamation, is very suitable for someone like me.

It is a condense and delicate course, which means in order to get the skill to build a website, the only thing has to be done is following the steps in the video and finishing the assignment ; and yet every topic in the course, even a line of code, deserves further contemplation.

"Why Yakkov does this instead of that?" is a question I frequently ask myself during the course.

In short, this course provide a solid ground for developing skills in web development, and I sincerely recommend it to everyone who's interested in this field.

автор: PURUSHOTHAMANSRIKANTH (

Apr 11, 2019

I have been actively watching the tutorials for a week, and its really good!! The instructor explains everything very clearly and even a lay man can understand everything from this.

I'm very glad that my journey is so very productive with such wonderful courses, offered by JHP University and Coursera.

Hoping to enroll for more such wonderful courses, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, to get a deeper knowledge about HTML, CSS and Javascript.

EDIT 1: So now, I have completed 90% of this course. This course is super lit folks, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, if you wish to start a career with Web Development.

автор: Eddy J

Nov 02, 2017

Don't hesitate to start this course because you will lose really really an awesome opportunity to take the fun and great class. As I am the person who is the beginner and took some courses online and offline of web development, I would like to tell you that the instructor of this course is very knowledgeable plus he has experience in the industry I could say. The difference between this course and the other courses I had taken before is that he is trying to show the real industry as he gets a real client during the lecture and indeed, he builds a real website continuously interacting with the real client. You know what, just take this course :)

автор: Nathan Y

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. While I have no goal of becoming a professional web developer, as a professional system architect, this course has given me an important foundation in javascript, and added significant depth to my knowledge of CSS and HTML. Knowing javascript is more and more important as Node.js becomes embedded as the go-to solution for a wide-variety of activities within modern micro-services architecture. Yaakov is an engaging lecturer and he addresses some of the more esoteric best practices and javascript kludges quite well. Javascript is a messy language and Yaakov is up-front and unambiguous about how to do it right.

автор: Nicolas S V

Jan 18, 2017

This was a really interesting course, it shows you not only the granularity of a project, but also how to build it in a way that allows you to keep scaling with different technologies, basically as the title of the course says, you will implement a real site, and Yaakov will give you a ride to the clients restaurant in order to take requirements, you are going to create a website for that restaurant, and step by step you will see how to improve it, from simple HTML structures to complex Javascript code (using good practices). It will give confidence if you already have some knowledge and you will learn a LOT if you are new.

автор: Dorian A

Feb 23, 2017

Excelente! Los conocimiento desplegados en el curso son muy completos! En lo personal repeti cada leccion y estudie los fundamentos varias veces, ya que hay cosas que de repente se pasan por alto pero que si se considera el tiempo que dura el curso (5 semanas) es mas que entendible. Tratar de ir mas alla requeriria mucho mas tiempo. Sin embargo vuelvo y repito el contenido abarcado es bastante, y al finalizar estas en plena capacidad de empezar a contribuir en proyectos de desarrollo web. De verdad excelente y gran parte de la calidad de este curso se debe a Yaakov y su tutoria dinamica y para nada aburrida. Saludos!

автор: Mario P

May 02, 2017

Johns Hopkins University shows how versatile teaching institutions needs to be these days, delivering an extremely well prepared online course. Having Professor Yaakov Chaiking on the driving seat, was certainly a wise choice, as he is a great communicator, able to keep the audience interest up to the very last lesson.

I was looking for an introductory course on HTML and CSS, which is amazingly covered during the first three weeks of the course. Javascript was a plus, a highly useful one.

This was a great learning experience, and a fun one too! Hats off to Professor Yaakov Chaiking for such a great performance!

автор: Fernando

Mar 08, 2016

One of the best Coursera courses I've taken so far. The quality of the contents is second to none - Not to mention the way they're presented is simply outstanding.

If I had to come up with areas of improvement, I'd probably say that the length the weekly sections is a little bit overwhelming. Actually, I think the contents of this course should be split into two separate courses on their own so the various concepts can be absorbed in a more efficient way.

I've really enjoyed going through this course and I must say I've definitely accomplished all the learning goals I set for myself at the very beginning.

автор: Hanadi H

Aug 12, 2019

I liked the course very much! Everything about it is great. Yaacov meticulously explains needed information. The slides are adequate. It's nice to have the information spoken by Yaacov as printed for further comprehension and follow up. The field trip for the website was really good. It's the first time I get exposed to the life of Jews and I found many similarities with my background. Of course there are so much information concerning the course that I need further readings (from the Readings list) and perhaps to restudy the course on my own to have a really sturdy base in web development. Thank you!

автор: Ruslan R

Apr 03, 2016

This covers provides excellent coverage of the most fundamental concepts of front-end development. The presentation style in the lectures was very clear and easy to understand and the information in the lectures themselves, particularly the ones on CSS and Javascript, was quite comprehensive. I have learned much more about CSS than I ever knew before and have even been able to apply that knowledge in my full-time job as a software engineer. This has all been possible thanks to this course. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to understand much more about front-end development.

автор: Mahmud F U A

Jun 23, 2016

A perfect gateway into web development. I would recommend this course to anybody who deals with websites in general. Even if you are not a developer, you can take this course just to know how websites do the things they do. It's concise yet very complete, and very rewarding.

All the content is structured very well: the topics are divided into small morsels, if you will, perfect for learning. The instructor, Yaakov Chaikin, is one of the best teachers I have come across and the assignments are engaging and pose just enough challenge to help you learn. Five stars any day.

автор: Paul S

Oct 18, 2016

It's an all-rounder course with a great introduction to HTML, CSS and Javascript/jQuery/AJAX. There's enough formal background to tell you why things are they way they are and what each HTML, CSS, JS component is meant to achieve and how to do it. Great links to external resources as well. The practical examples and assignments do all they should to reinforce that. The course gives a very good base to build on by yourself, or continue further with more advanced material. It definitely helps to have some programming experience for the latter material on Javascript.

автор: Vinicius d N S d S

Sep 26, 2016

Great course! I really enjoyed it. It helped consolidate a lot of important knowledge, in order to create high quality, modern web applications.

I do have one suggestion though, which would be creating a version of this course directed to Ruby on Rails. The framework has numerous helpers for building frontend and a lot of things displayed in this course could be approached differently with the help of Rails. I would've enjoyed having this perspective, since I'm taking the Ruby on Rails specialization.

Nonetheless, congratulations on the great course you guys put up!