Chevron Left
Вернуться к HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 9,219
Рецензии: 3,197

О курсе

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Лучшие рецензии

SM

Jun 11, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW

Mar 15, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 3,124 отзывов о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

автор: MohammadReza R

Dec 13, 2018

Nice Course, I learned a lot and Love it.

автор: Brittney P

Jan 10, 2019

Course was good, but last assignment felt lackluster. There was lots of code that was went over in the last week and it wasn't broken down at all and the assignment barely skimmed the surface. Other than that, I thought the other weeks were really well laid out and the assignments fit the subject matter.

автор: Bhuvan C J

Jun 20, 2020

course need to be updated it takes a lot of time when you stuck to a problem a then you realize its because of outdated content then it becomes very annoying.

автор: Yash S

Jun 20, 2020

OVERALL NICE INTRODUCTORY COURSE TO ANYONE WHO WISHES TO BEGIN HIS JOURNEY IN WEB DEVELOPMENT !

автор: Kurtis G

Jun 24, 2020

HTML and CSS modules were great for a beginner like myself. JavaScript (+AJAX) was a little rushed however and I could have benefited from a slightly slower progression and a few more, more involved assignments covering JavaScript & AJAX topics/concepts in smaller chunks . From what I've heard, the JavaScript portion is a little out of date in some aspects as well.

The course nudges you towards Yaakov's Coursera Specialization on Angular JS. I feel it should at least briefly acknowledge that currently React is a more common JavaScript framework, and new learners may be better off directing their attention to learning it instead of Angular JS.

All-in-all, still a good course. Yaakov is a fun and likable instructor. I feel that I now have a good grasp of HTML and CSS but will be seeking further understanding on the basics of JavaScript as well as some more advanced CSS.

автор: Gianluca G

Oct 27, 2016

Lessons on html and css are very good, better than other coursera classes, so I suggest you to give a look at those. In general, the teacher is very good, even though I found the javascript part less deepen. A week, and partially the last week, are dedicated to the construction of a restaturant site. Unfortunately, the student role is pretty passive: you'll just look the teacher at work, you'll not build a site in this course. I skipped much of those lessons. But the most disappointing point is for me the excessive simplicity of the assignments. The assignments are the primary reason why I decided to take a MOOC instaed of simply reading a book. I expected much (interesting) assignments and much more practice...

автор: Ashley N

Jul 11, 2019

The course was okay but I didn't like that the only time we did any coding was at the end of each week. It made it hard to really learn/retain the content we were being shown during the week/module, and also made it overall less engaging/fun. I would have much preferred small assignments instead of practice quizzes, and to have also completed the class with a final project I could show others. I also found the instructions confusion at several points in later modules.

автор: SHREYANSH K

Jun 06, 2020

this is a good course but in last you know that last week is rough in this course and the site used is made very earlier which creates many problems cause today's the version is very different and i would recommend to take a course which is released in 2019 or later cause this is very old one 2016 so you can think how much problems i have faced to do this. please upgrade the course as soon as possible

автор: Lydia K

Jul 03, 2020

The HTML and CSS sections were good, especially for beginners. I took other HTML/CSS courses before and struggled with some specific concepts that this course was able to explain in a way I could understand. However, the Javascript section was very poorly taught. I can say that I have no idea about Javascript even after barely passing Weeks 4 and 5.

I think the way it was presented didn't really teach you how to do things or help you understand concepts, but rather, "This is what we need to do for this specific project, just memorize what I'm doing without any explanations for why I am doing what I am doing," in addition to the fact that you only get one coding activity per week - the final assignments. I think that the course really needs to have a system where students regularly are practicing their code they are learning, not just learn ~20 lessons and have a big assignment at the end. Maybe some students can learn through rote memorization, but I feel many students, including myself, would struggle because we aren't being taught the actual concepts.

I would honestly say that maybe after some self-study on HTML/CSS and even JS would be a better foundation, and then maybe take this course once you know the fundamentals, because if you are anything like me, you'll just need to go back to self-study for JS to understand the basics after taking this course.

автор: Anik R

May 03, 2020

I would be very very happy if i could give 5 star to this course beacuse the instructor is awesome and he explained things beautifully but THE COURSE IS PRETTY OUTDATED.

I am struggling from the beginning this course as the course is recorded in 2015 or 2016 now github changes a lot,somehow I figured out Github but the main problem is Bootstrap.Oh man thats really frushtating week 3.They used bootstrap version 1 but in 2020 bootstrap 4.3.1 is running . In 2020 these are not Acceptable

автор: Nitesh A

Jun 04, 2020

The course and the instructor is good, however this course is outdated and I would not recommend it for a fresher.

Please update it with current standards (2020 ) if possible.

P.S. Thank you Yaakov for your efforts.

автор: Mirna M e S

May 25, 2020

the course itself is awesome, the teacher is great, but it looks like it was left aside and nobody takes care of it anymore. the forum doesnt help, thats just people asking to review their things and even if you post something looking for help there are no answers. its really outdated in the point that you cant complete the assingments without long hours of trying to go around that. its really frustrating. i really liked the classes and yaakov is a great teacher, but this course really let me down

автор: Karem O

Jun 26, 2020

Yakoov does not provide support in the forum, there are not teaching assistants so if you get stuck even if you rewatch the lectures you will not be able to get the assessments done. I tried to reach to him on Twitter but he never answered nor provided an explanation of what assessment 5 is asking for. Plus is teaching style is very difficult to follow. Dont waste your time please.

автор: Johanna N

Apr 30, 2018

This course sucks!! There is no way one can be a beginner and learn HTML, CSS and Javascript from this course. They jump right into really difficult stuff even in the first week and don't even go through the basics even though it says "basic". No way in hell one can learn to code from this course, such a waste of money!!!!

автор: Edoardo V

Mar 22, 2020

I started today and I already found the course outdate. I am a beginner for some of the contents and for me is already impossible to keep going through the course. They should upgrade the course and the methods. They show some Github screenshots that are very old and some functions that are not available anymore.

автор: Jason W

Apr 29, 2020

Unbelievably outdated videos. Reference to versions of software that are more than 20 version old. Once you are in the class you will see countless issues raised by students because the instructions don't align to current versions of software, especially github. Shame on Coursera for including this class.

автор: Charles R

Feb 04, 2017

The course is quite thorough for a basic course and is challenging in pace. The work load is higher than the guidelines suggest for someone who hasn't done any programming for a while and is not familiar with object-oriented programming

Yaakov is very knowledgeable and presents the material in an accessible way. He throws in some humor, which helps with absorbing the material. The quizzes are good learning guides and are appropriate for the material in the course. They require some thought, but adhere to the topics in the course without assuming additional knowledge. The exercises are difficult and take more time than the listings. But the reference materials are helpful and the online forums are very useful in clarifying points of uncertainty. I found some of the assignment descriptions, especially in modules four and five, to be unclear and it took some additional research to understand the intent of the task.

The registration process and installation of the needed software was clearly explained and easy to accomplish. The software worked well with the course and enhanced the learning experience. I especially liked the way BrowserSync worked with Sublime Text and Chrome. The Chrome analysis tools are very useful. The use of Github as a coordinating platform worked well, for submitting assignments. The Coursera UI was very efficient at tracking progress and coordinating the peer level reviewing.

Overall, I enjoyed the course and found it well worth the effort despite the few frustrating hours that always accompany grasping new skills.

автор: José P

Jan 12, 2017

I wanted to write this review just when I'd finished the course, when I have seen all.

I want to thank Prof. Chaikin for this great course. I really liked it and enjoyed all the material. I'm new to HTML, CSS and JavaScript and the course just enlighten me a lot. I had the opportunity to understand a HTML, CSS and JavaScript file, and I know that now I can write a web page and a web application. Now it's a matter of time and dedication by my part. I also realize that my knowledge of Java still applies with JS. I really enjoyed our field trip to Baltimore. Thanks, Prof. Chaikin, for going with us and for sharing, more than the course itself, part of your being. I can tell you are an excellent person. I had lots of knowledge and fun. Thanks again, Prof. Chaikin. I was very nice to meet you...

I Also want to thank Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for made it possible for the course to be in my laptop near the countryside in Colombia. Thank you!

автор: Raven C

Jul 25, 2020

A great introduction to front-end web development. The peer-graded assignments motivate me to keep going and stick to the deadlines. The restaurant project teaches not only technologies but also design. However, there are still some aspects where I'd like to see an improvement:

Firstly, as a course designed five years ago, the technical details are a little bit outdated though. Bootstrap 4 has been released, and ES6 has been widely supported. Although the essense does not change, I'm still looking forward to the updates of the course.

Secondly, I'd like to point out that objects are not passed by references in Javascript. Just like in Python, the value of the reference is copied and passed. Sometimes this makes a difference.

Finally, the book recommendation in every week is the same. Why not categorize the books and put them in related weeks? Also, it's sufficient to put the "Connect with me" section in the first and the last weeks.

автор: MV

May 13, 2016

This is a very comprehensive course (based on my personal experience with Coursera at least) that goes into relevant detail on the topics it covers, but without wasting time on unnecessary trivialities. The delivery is clear and engaging, so if you're interested in the matter, you won't get bored. The material covers all the right topics for an up and coming web designer, providing the right amount of information for a confident start and plenty of pointers where and how to expand on the knowledge provided. Another point in favor is the frequent and valuable engagement of the professor and his teaching assistants in the discussion forums, unlike some other courses that feel abandoned by the staff once they start. In closing, I've checked out several web design courses on Coursera and if you can choose only one, this one would definitely be my pick from all the ones I enrolled in.

автор: Michael R R

Dec 19, 2019

Professor Chaikin does an excellent job of providing step by step details of HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but be forewarned, he does assume you have some basic knowledge of the concepts and he'll skip around a few of the deeper aspects of HTML, CSS, and Javascript in terms of time. The purpose is to get you better acquainted with the material as this is part of the "Ruby on Rails" specialization. The latter weeks get more intense and may require a few resets...but stick with it; you'll get the concepts down pat and your problem-solving skills will improve if you keep focus and finish your projects. One final piece of advice; when coding, ALWAYS notate what you do and space out your coding to see it better in action. This will save you a TON of debugging time and will greatly improve your own skills as you will have a better understanding of where you need to focus and fine-tune.

автор: Kelvin Y

Aug 08, 2020

This is a really, really good course. Believe me, because I'm not a good student by any means. In fact, I had to retake a couple of courses back in my University days because I just played video games all day and I just couldn't focus on anything being taught during lectures.

But this course was explained in a way, that is really clear and engaging to me. Professor Chaikin even takes you on a field trip, like a "day-in-life" of a website developer to meet a client of his. You are then explained every step of the way in making that website for the client.

Just one thing, because the assignments are peer reviewed, the discussion forums are filled with "review my assignment with full marks and i will do the same to yours" posts. Don't be like them, don't half-arse your assignments then beg for full marks, and you will learn a lot. Guaranteed.

автор: Simone M

Aug 07, 2017

This course is amazing, I totally suggest to everyone interested in this field to have a look, but I personally feel that was too theoretical in few modules and I couldn't manage to grasp really well few steps where I felt I needed more practical exercises. I also felt that the last modules about JS was too rush. I can suggest to add more practical interactive exercise and also in the explanation of the steps during the setting part of the software, please add a list with all the steps to follow. I really had an hard time there.

Despite this, the course is amazing and it was a pleasure to learn more about this fascinating word. In the next month I will continue to read the books suggested and after that, when I will be more confident on JS, I will jump in making website to someone else other than me. Thank you again and see you around.

автор: Valentin I

Dec 27, 2016

The course is valuable especially due to the personality of the teacher. As an obviously experienced developer, Mr. Chaikin provides you with modern techniques of using Javascript and responsive design. You'll probably encounter most of these techniques in the real life of a developer. The course is centered on practicing and the pace is fast. Don't be mislead by the colloquial tone and the quality humor present in lectures. Although the humor is good, you'll need to replicate most of the code examples on your machine, if you want to feel you've really learned something at the end of the day. That being said, the course is not perfect: the AJAX part might deserve more room in the future versions of this course. For those with previous exposure to some web techniques (my case), the course was an excellent refresher.

автор: Ali r b

Dec 30, 2018

Great training. I wish it was more complete by offering a more advanced course that is based on 10 to 15 real world projects. More like boot camps that build skills and confidence for entering into the job market more easily and more successfully. If that kind of advanced training was available then courser certificates would be more popular with learners everywhere. I encourage you to consider offering another class or expand the existing program that teaches advanced Html, Css, JavaScript employing User Experience and User Interface design skills.

I'm aware you have a Ruby on Rails program but Ruby is not as popular as it used to be. These days Full-Stack React and Angular development are the way to go. Also a course on Database design and development would be appreciated. Thank you for this great course.