Chevron Left
Вернуться к HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 12,482
Рецензии: 4,367

О курсе

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Лучшие рецензии

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
14 мар. 2016 г.

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 4,336 отзывов о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

автор: Robert C

10 февр. 2021 г.

Very outdated. Using Bootstrap 3 from 2013 when Bootstrap 5 is the current release. Doesn't really explain the why behind anything, just goes through the steps.

автор: Karem O

20 нояб. 2020 г.

Yakoov does not provide support in the forum, there are not teaching assistants so if you get stuck even if you rewatch the lectures you will not be able to get the assessments done. I tried to reach to him on Twitter but he never answered nor provided an explanation of what assessment 5 is asking for. Plus is teaching style is very difficult to follow. Dont waste your time please.

автор: MohammadReza R

13 дек. 2018 г.

Nice Course, I learned a lot and Love it.

автор: Sophia G

25 апр. 2021 г.

Dear Yaakov and the whole Johns Hopkins team that makes up this course,

at 57, I am probably the oldest grandmother who took up this course. My older brother at 68 tried to take on a similar online course but discontinued after a week so I was kinda scared getting into it. I appreciate the fact that Yaakov was straightforward in all the lectures and really kept in mind that everybody was a newbie. It helps that each lecture is short and focuses on just 1 or 2 concepts. After 2 weeks, I then felt more confident to continue. I highly recommend that each student invests in any of the recommended textbooks to gain a more in-depth understanding of the concepts and for additional practice tests. I got a 2nd hand copy of Jennifer Robbins' textbook from Amazon and it helped me a lot, but I had to take the course slower as I was absorbing both the online lectures and the textbook lessons. I really laughed hard at the invitation to be a mentor... really? Javascript bangled my brain, I think... Anyway, thanks a lot... I am moving on to apply what I learned in developing a simple online learning platform for youth farmers in the Philippines on Agroecology and Organic Farming, in the vernacular. Thanks Yaakov and the Johns Hopkins engineering dept team! Maraming salamat at Mabuhay!

автор: Joe

8 янв. 2021 г.

The content is from 2015, and I would not recommend this course for a beginner.

автор: Johanna N

30 апр. 2018 г.

This course sucks!! There is no way one can be a beginner and learn HTML, CSS and Javascript from this course. They jump right into really difficult stuff even in the first week and don't even go through the basics even though it says "basic". No way in hell one can learn to code from this course, such a waste of money!!!!

автор: Jason W

29 апр. 2020 г.

Unbelievably outdated videos. Reference to versions of software that are more than 20 version old. Once you are in the class you will see countless issues raised by students because the instructions don't align to current versions of software, especially github. Shame on Coursera for including this class.

автор: Charles R

4 февр. 2017 г.

The course is quite thorough for a basic course and is challenging in pace. The work load is higher than the guidelines suggest for someone who hasn't done any programming for a while and is not familiar with object-oriented programming

Yaakov is very knowledgeable and presents the material in an accessible way. He throws in some humor, which helps with absorbing the material. The quizzes are good learning guides and are appropriate for the material in the course. They require some thought, but adhere to the topics in the course without assuming additional knowledge. The exercises are difficult and take more time than the listings. But the reference materials are helpful and the online forums are very useful in clarifying points of uncertainty. I found some of the assignment descriptions, especially in modules four and five, to be unclear and it took some additional research to understand the intent of the task.

The registration process and installation of the needed software was clearly explained and easy to accomplish. The software worked well with the course and enhanced the learning experience. I especially liked the way BrowserSync worked with Sublime Text and Chrome. The Chrome analysis tools are very useful. The use of Github as a coordinating platform worked well, for submitting assignments. The Coursera UI was very efficient at tracking progress and coordinating the peer level reviewing.

Overall, I enjoyed the course and found it well worth the effort despite the few frustrating hours that always accompany grasping new skills.

автор: Ekampreet S

20 февр. 2021 г.

First of all I would like to thank Mr. Yaakov for producing such a wonderful course, albeit I would like you to take this course with a little forethought. The thing is, this course was made a long time ago and some technologies discussed here are not updated according to the present scenario, like the latest Bootstrap version is 5 and I had a lot of difficulties in replicating the website that Mr. Yaakov was developing. But it was my own choice, the course didn't require me to make that website, I wanted to do it just to make myself understand the course better. I didn't had much difficulty apart from the Bootstrap queries and Stack Overflow forums helped a lot.

So, I will leave you with this suggestion: Yaakov's teaching and explaining skills are awesome, but just keep your mind open to this fact that some things like Bootstrap are not relevant to the present scenario and you should be ready to replace that knowledge with updated knowledge from new courses, but definitely go through this course for a better hold of the basics... :)

автор: Aditi T

18 июля 2021 г.

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained.And the field trip was good .Thank you Coursera and Yaakov Chaikin for this wonderful course !

автор: Ahsan A

25 янв. 2021 г.

This course is clearly outlined and builds upon itself gradually in an easy to understand way. Thanks, Johns Hopkins University for such an incredible course!

автор: Özer Ö

7 янв. 2021 г.

Thank you for teaching us the foundation of web development. One of the valuable parts was absolutely to make applications in the course

автор: Yash S

20 июня 2020 г.

OVERALL NICE INTRODUCTORY COURSE TO ANYONE WHO WISHES TO BEGIN HIS JOURNEY IN WEB DEVELOPMENT !

автор: Brittney P

9 янв. 2019 г.

Course was good, but last assignment felt lackluster. There was lots of code that was went over in the last week and it wasn't broken down at all and the assignment barely skimmed the surface. Other than that, I thought the other weeks were really well laid out and the assignments fit the subject matter.

автор: Denis C

23 дек. 2020 г.

Hi, I am writing this review in Dec. 2020. The first two weeks of training are almost great. The one thing I would add as an instructor to make these first 2 weeks great is a couple of training exercises before assigning the "bigger" assignment at the end of week 2. The reason for this is that the content covered in these 2 weeks is quite large. Therefore I felt as a learner that when I had to do what they called "assignment 2" (at the end of week 2), I had to go over the whole pedagogical content of the 2 weeks (and I am talking about 60 pages of instructions that I used to transcribe instructions and examples covered in the lessons). So a few small coding exercises would definitely help learners like me with no experience in html and css (which is what this course is made for, so they say) to retain what was covered, instead of trying to memorize the whole content covered in the first 2 weeks.

Then from week 3 onward came the difficulties. This course was created in 2014 if I am not wrong, using the framework Bootstrap 3. This framework like any other software out there has evolved quite a bit since. So I would give the first 2 weeks a 4.5 if possible.

So I would have appreciated in the course description some information about that aspect, and the fact that from week 3 onward not much of what the instructor shows in his code is valid anymore. I understand that evolution and upgrades is very much part of the field of computer science. So is the ability to problem solve, go online and look for solutions on how to solve certain issues and reach out to the community for ideas. However, when the way for me to go forward is just to look in the forum for answers to my problems and copy paste bits of code from getbootstrap.com that will (or not) work, I do not feel that I am learning much as I do not understand some bits of code I am using. The instructor does go over much of the code he uses in his lectures, but again, his comments often do not apply to the bits of code I end up using because, again, his course was created several years ago. So I feel frustrated that I have to spend xx hours per video of in most cases less than 10 minutes, trying to figure out what works and what does not and how to make it work. Because of all this, I give the whole course a 2. An upgraded version of this course is urgently needed,

Denis

автор: Edoardo V

22 мар. 2020 г.

I started today and I already found the course outdate. I am a beginner for some of the contents and for me is already impossible to keep going through the course. They should upgrade the course and the methods. They show some Github screenshots that are very old and some functions that are not available anymore.

автор: Benoit K

24 нояб. 2020 г.

Not a very good course. They state that people "tinker" with css or javascript. Once you've completed the course, you'll be able to say that you've tinkered but I'm 100% sure that you won't really understand html, css and javascript.

автор: José P

12 янв. 2017 г.

I wanted to write this review just when I'd finished the course, when I have seen all.

I want to thank Prof. Chaikin for this great course. I really liked it and enjoyed all the material. I'm new to HTML, CSS and JavaScript and the course just enlighten me a lot. I had the opportunity to understand a HTML, CSS and JavaScript file, and I know that now I can write a web page and a web application. Now it's a matter of time and dedication by my part. I also realize that my knowledge of Java still applies with JS. I really enjoyed our field trip to Baltimore. Thanks, Prof. Chaikin, for going with us and for sharing, more than the course itself, part of your being. I can tell you are an excellent person. I had lots of knowledge and fun. Thanks again, Prof. Chaikin. I was very nice to meet you...

I Also want to thank Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for made it possible for the course to be in my laptop near the countryside in Colombia. Thank you!

автор: Raven C

25 июля 2020 г.

A great introduction to front-end web development. The peer-graded assignments motivate me to keep going and stick to the deadlines. The restaurant project teaches not only technologies but also design. However, there are still some aspects where I'd like to see an improvement:

Firstly, as a course designed five years ago, the technical details are a little bit outdated though. Bootstrap 4 has been released, and ES6 has been widely supported. Although the essense does not change, I'm still looking forward to the updates of the course.

Secondly, I'd like to point out that objects are not passed by references in Javascript. Just like in Python, the value of the reference is copied and passed. Sometimes this makes a difference.

Finally, the book recommendation in every week is the same. Why not categorize the books and put them in related weeks? Also, it's sufficient to put the "Connect with me" section in the first and the last weeks.

автор: Jareth J B

11 нояб. 2020 г.

This is not for beginners. Topics on javascript are very crucial. Make it sure to identify next time if the activity is for beginner or not. Anyway, thumbs-up for the HTML, CSS, and bootstrap. Please simplify javascript next time.

автор: Bhuvan C J

19 июня 2020 г.

course need to be updated it takes a lot of time when you stuck to a problem a then you realize its because of outdated content then it becomes very annoying.

автор: Ang K J

4 янв. 2021 г.

Course goes too fast at the end, too much content too quickly

автор: Rachele G

24 янв. 2021 г.

I felt like the course is very outdated and not up to date.

автор: Vahid M

16 апр. 2021 г.

It's outdated and must update with new tutorials.

автор: Cristhyan D B I

24 дек. 2020 г.

The course starts well with html and css, but once it gets to javascript it goes downhill.

From that part it just shows all the code for a website and quickly explains what that code does but never bothers actually teaching these concepts, Also it's outdated.