Chevron Left
Вернуться к How Computers Work

Отзывы учащихся о курсе How Computers Work от партнера Лондонский университет

4.5
Оценки: 70
20 рецензий

О курсе

Computers are everywhere, they aren't just the desktops and laptops we use for work but the phones in our pockets and even the watches on our wrists are also computers. You probably use a computer every day and in fact you are reading this on a computer! Just because we use computers all the time, doesn't mean that we understand them, or find them easy to use. Computer Science is the science of computers, it is the field of knowledge that experts use to understand computer systems. Knowing a little computer science will help you understand the computers all around you. This isn't a how-to course for a particular piece of software, instead you will learn some fundamental concepts that you can apply to any software or computer system. You'll apply these concepts to the kind of computer systems we use every day, including word processing applications, e-commerce, the internet and web sites. You will learn how to apply computer science concepts to solve problems in daily computer use and generally be a better computer user. Taking this course could be the start of your career in computer science, and the course is an introduction to the Bachelors in Computer Science from University of London, but it is also for you if you just want to learn a little computer science to help you better understand the computers you use in your ordinary life....

Лучшие рецензии

DH

Jan 10, 2019

I enjoy the MOOC and would introduce it to my friends. I think the course has revolutionize my previous understanding of Computer and Internet. Thumb Up!

KC

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent overview, with lots of quizzes and assignments designed to help evolve learning into understanding.

Фильтр по:

1–19 из 19 отзывов о курсе How Computers Work

автор: Josephine K

Jun 07, 2019

Very informative and fun course to take! However there is too much dependence on peer-submission. It shouldn’t be in other peoples’ hands if you can complete an assignment or not. I had to wait a long time and beg for reviews in the discussion area, even though I submitted the assignment on time. I think that is frankly unfair, especially if you pay to access course content.

автор: Luca G

May 30, 2019

Very interesting course, is an overview complete and well structured.

I would suggest this course as first start to understand the logic used in appications and how computer works for give us the services.

автор: KIM M

May 25, 2019

Once you complete this course, you can understand how you use computers as a IT person, even though your first major was not close to IT fields accurately. And if you are office worker and want to learn about IT, this course would be great for you to study basic knowledge.

автор: Jonathan M

May 20, 2019

Great introduction to thinking about systems in terms of notional machines

автор: Kapa A K

May 01, 2019

excellent,but late grades

автор: LUANA B

Mar 26, 2019

More visual examples would have helped more (at least for me).

автор: Eden P

Mar 20, 2019

Good introduction

автор: Sebastijan P

Mar 08, 2019

Terrible video content. Changing background all the time and distracting the viewer, a person mostly saying "what all we have learned" in every video instead of talking about the subject. No diagrams, no flows of data shown etc., just a person speaking and bragging; slides are very purely and unprofessionally prepared. The level of prepared content is for primary school and not for UNI. I could write about it for hours so I will stop. I just hope and believe this is just a sample and not a real content in a real study for which we will be paying 600 pounds. If you compare the content to for example 30 pounds Machine learning from Stanford University, where you get pdfs of slides, complete written notes, detailed prepared pdf with a very rich content for assignments and where professor actually talks about the content, it all becomes a bit strange.

автор: Jose U d S J

Mar 08, 2019

Very Nice, I really enjoyed and learned a lot!

автор: Hrushikesh T

Mar 07, 2019

Best Computer science course for beginner.

автор: yousuf k

Feb 21, 2019

The course is very informative and helped to build notional machine and abstraction concepts.

автор: Keith C

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent overview, with lots of quizzes and assignments designed to help evolve learning into understanding.

автор: Basil S

Jan 12, 2019

mostly useless, but free

автор: DONGPIN H

Jan 10, 2019

I enjoy the MOOC and would introduce it to my friends. I think the course has revolutionize my previous understanding of Computer and Internet. Thumb Up!

автор: Nadine G

Jan 08, 2019

Excellent professor!

автор: Elsa P

Nov 24, 2018

Well explained course.

автор: Preda

Oct 28, 2018

Excellent course. I felt that I learnt a lot of computer science concepts that were new to me but helped me to appreciate how computers work. Dr Marco Gillies was an excellent lecturer. You could tell that a lot of careful planning went into structuring the course. Because the course was so well designed, I do not have recommendations for improvements.

автор: Deleted A

Oct 26, 2018

Nice taster for the degree - can't wait to get started with the full BSc hopefully in April !

автор: EZABO B

Oct 18, 2018

Exciting lecture