Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World от партнера Тель-Авивский университет

4.8
Оценки: 641
Рецензии: 154

О курсе

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Лучшие рецензии

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 152 отзывов о курсе The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

автор: Ray M

Dec 06, 2016

This course, The Holocaust - An Introduction (l).... was an in depth study of the situation the Jews were facing in most of Europe after the Nazis came into power. The instructors were knowledgeable and came across as having personal feelings about the plight of the Jews during that time. I am very impressed with them and their ability to pass on the information that they did in such a way that it was very understandable while demonstrating their indepth knowledge of the material. Thank you. I come away from the course with a deeper understanding of the problems and horrible life style the Jews had to face.

автор: Zully H M T

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente

автор: Shirel S

Nov 18, 2017

Wonderful and interesting course, It helped me understand a lot of things about the Holocaust and expended my knowledge significantly.

автор: mansi g

Jul 01, 2018

thanks it is very easy to get high marks

автор: Rayya I

May 04, 2018

An eye opener.

автор: Barbara K A

Sep 05, 2017

Excellent

автор: Reyna G

Oct 29, 2017

Muchas gracias, mi habla natal es el español, sin embargo es un gusto que cuenten con la traducción en mi idioma, sin ello, me hubiera sido imposible estudiar este curso y terminarlo. Felicidades por el gran trabajo que hacen en Coursera. Saludos!

автор: Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

автор: Simone Z

Mar 13, 2018

V

e

r

y

i

n

t

e

r

e

s

t

i

n

g

,

w

e

l

l

r

e

s

e

a

r

c

h

e

d

,

w

e

l

l

presented.

автор: Manfred S

Mar 25, 2016

It is not easy to prepare and present this part of German History without any emotive stance and without condemnation. But you did it brilliant and it was well prepared. I learned a lot and what is most important for me new perspectives with unknown or partial unknown materials. Thank you very much for being a part of this course.

автор: Tereza F

Feb 28, 2016

nicely done :)

автор: Mudassir A

Dec 05, 2016

much needed

автор: Elvira G

Nov 21, 2016

Excelent course, with many examples and photos and films, congratulations

автор: T.Jagalal R S

Dec 21, 2016

The course was presented without. any prejudice.

The wrong doers were not blamed but the humanity as a whole is responsible for the holocaust. The course has very sublimely indicated that the humanity must protect itself from such a holocaust n the future.. One should be cautitous that our fellow human being is not treated inhumanly. the fellowhumanbeing may be yourself!

I am very grateful to educate me to be a good human being to one and all. Dont be discriminative. Respect one's own religion, culture, language, customs and belief. T.Jagalal Ram Sait

автор: Jordan H

Jan 10, 2018

Very good and the professor knew her topic very well.

автор: Anna N

May 28, 2017

I don't regret taking this course. Shalom.

автор: Lana Y

Dec 13, 2016

Wonderful course, very informative and interesting.

автор: Yang X

Apr 29, 2018

not bad for Holocaust learners

автор: Fion S

Sep 08, 2016

The lecturers are fantastic in explaining the details and information. Really loved it right from the start of the video lectures.

автор: Mei-Ling F

Jan 07, 2017

Pretty amazing course that flipped my cognition towards Nazi and Holocaust!

автор: Miryana V

Apr 27, 2018

This course should be taken by anyone who's interesting in learning about history and cultural beliefs as well as the Holocaust. This is a captivating subject and there's so much to learn about it that one course most definitely wont cover all aspects, but this gives you a lot of insight about how it all started and why it might have taken so long to be stopped. Hopefully, this helps us realize that things like this cannot ever happen again, we need to learn from out past.

автор: Caroline P

Jun 02, 2017

I love this class and cant wait to begin part 2

автор: Pranab B

Jun 14, 2017

I always week when I read or study about the Holocaust but I am happy it got over once for all. Learned so much about how the world shunned them away into darkness. Thank you.

автор: Ricardo P M A

Sep 26, 2017

Excelente curso. Las referencias, los datos, los testimonios, extraordinaria profesora. Un curso totalmente profesional.

автор: Gemma R

May 23, 2018

Essential course for everyone who is learning about the Holocaust.