Chevron Left
Вернуться к Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder от партнера Виргинский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 144
Рецензии: 77

О курсе

“Give me liberty, or give me death:” Remembering Patrick Henry, the Forgotten Founder Patrick Henry was enormously popular during the American Revolution. Even Thomas Jefferson, who over time developed a deep loathing of Henry (some would say jealousy), had to admit that “it is not now easy to say what we should have done without Patrick Henry.” Edmund Randolph, a patriot leader in his own right, explained that “It was Patrick Henry … awakening the genius of his country, and binding a band of patriots together to hurl defiance at the tyranny of so formidable a nation as Great Britain.” Yet, today, Patrick Henry is ill-remembered; most Americans might recall at best perhaps a snippet from a famous speech: “give me liberty, or give me death.” The reasons for our historic forgetfulness are several: after the Revolution, Henry chose to oppose ratification of the U.S. Constitution, believing that it created a distant and too-powerful government, and he refused proffered position in George Washington’s administration, diminishing his historic memory. Equally important, Henry died in 1799 shortly after a political campaign in which, at Washington’s behest, he opposed Jefferson’s and James Madison’s ill-advised radical states’ rights attack on the U.S. government, and Jefferson spent the next twenty-six years systematically attacking Henry’s legacy. Patrick Henry, who helped to ignite a revolution, deserves better. This course will explore how he over¬came challenges to reach the pinnacle of Virginia politics and unite Americans behind a challenge to Britain – the eighteenth century’s super-power, why he opposed the U.S. Constitu¬tion, and why he then came out of retirement to defend the people’s Constitution against the attacks of Jefferson and Madison. Participants should evaluate Henry’s role in proclaiming a revolution and consider whether he had an equally important role in saving it. The course should also develop an improved appreciation for the complex political, economic, and religious forces that shaped the early republic. As a biographical course, it also demonstrates how personalities play an important role in even the most foundational national history. Image Attribution: The background image for this webpage is Patrick Henry before the Virginia House of Burgesses by Peter F. Rothermel (1851) with special thanks to the owner, the Patrick Henry Memorial Foundation. The painting of Patrick Henry's 1765 "Caesar had his Brutus" speech (discussed in the second lecture) is entirely romanticized -- neither Henry nor the House of Burgesses looked at all like this -- but it does show that hagiography of Henry, almost god-like veneration, began shortly after this death....

Лучшие рецензии

LM
30 июня 2019 г.

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

HH
5 апр. 2020 г.

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 79 отзывов о курсе Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder

автор: Pat M

19 мая 2018 г.

Week three editing is too redundant. The professor is outstanding. I am proud to ask for the right to say i have a certificate from this great scholar.Thanks fro holding the course. I learned every minute of it.

автор: Liz M

1 июля 2019 г.

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

автор: Hope H

6 апр. 2020 г.

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

автор: charles e m

7 июля 2017 г.

I really enjoyed the course. It was well presented and easy to follow. I would recommend it to anyone who may have an interest in the people who founded our great country.

автор: Linda F

8 июля 2021 г.

Outstanding! The best course I have taken so far. I have learned so much about the forgotten contributions of a great patriot and a great man. Thank you so much.

автор: Jonathan M M

25 нояб. 2020 г.

Great course! I would highly recommend this class to anyone interested in the founding of our Nation. Congratulations to Dr. Ragosta on a job well done.

автор: patrick h

20 дек. 2018 г.

very informative. Not a detailed presentation but certainly one which inspires a closer and more thorough look into the role of Henry in American History.

автор: Amadeus W

5 мар. 2020 г.

还是写一下中文的评论供汉语运用者参考一下吧。这门课的老师人很和蔼,课程绝大多数都是视频,然后除第一周外每周测试12道题。可能毕竟是人文类的课程很难要求学生们完成什么作业吧,就我个人而言觉得老师讲的很有意思,是顺着Patrick Henry的一生讲下来的,想要了解美国大革命的同学可以试着听一听这个课程。

автор: Mary L

14 апр. 2020 г.

I truly enjoyed learning more about Patrick Henry. The course was educational and the professor's knowledge and passion of Patrick Henry was evident.

автор: Sarah W

1 мая 2020 г.

A very informative and easy to enjoy lecture on a forgotten founding father. Dr. Ragosta's enthusiasm and knowledge of his subject are infectious.

автор: Jennifer E

7 нояб. 2019 г.

This course was excellent! I learned so much about this patriot that I didn't know before! I was so inspired by it, I went to Red Hill this summer!

автор: Hilde K

10 июля 2017 г.

There's so much to learn and it is presented in such an engaging manner. It made me want to go out and learn more about Patrick Henry.

автор: Suzan H

6 сент. 2017 г.

Well presented. Little known facts about the life and political aspects of Patrick Henry made to keep a learner interested. Thank you.

автор: Charlie K

15 нояб. 2021 г.

Ragosta is an excellent presenter and needless to say knows his subject well. I greatly enjoyed this course and learned a great deal.

автор: Connie N

21 апр. 2020 г.

Very interesting and easily understood. I thought the speaker was very easy to listen to and I enjoyed the class very much.

автор: Diane D

27 июля 2021 г.

John Ragosta"s lectures were packed with information and presented in a friendly manner. The course kept me engaged.

автор: Fernando R

2 дек. 2019 г.

This is an excellent course. I have learned a lot about Patrick Henry. Very detailed and the professor is excellent!!

автор: James B N

22 июля 2017 г.

Very interesting course presented in a way that motivates the student to delve further into the subject.

Great fun!!!

автор: Kimberly R

8 мая 2020 г.

Great information presented in an easy to understand format. I'm actually sad the course only takes 5 weeks!

автор: Ronald A Y

18 мар. 2021 г.

Enjoyed the course and learned a lot about the man that isn't taught in our institutions.

автор: Janice O

26 апр. 2020 г.

I thought the course was excellent - clearly presented and thought provoking! Thank you.

автор: JOHN Q

5 июля 2017 г.

Interesting class regarding one of the real founders of this country. Thanks so much!

автор: Jamie P

20 июня 2019 г.

I already knew a lot about Mr. Henry but with this course I learned so much more.

автор: Clarke S

7 янв. 2021 г.

Outstanding course. Dr. Ragosta is a very scholarly and entertaining presenter.

автор: Joseph B

4 авг. 2017 г.

John Ragosta brilliantly sheds light on this critical forgotten founding father.