Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 272
Рецензии: 77

О курсе

Welcome to our course on Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems for Global Health. During the course we will provide you with an overview of the main elements or building blocks of a health system based on the World Health Organization’s guidance. You will have the opportunity to explore four main areas of health systems in global health with particular reference to low and middle income countries. The first area focuses on understanding health service organizations, the challenges. Our second module looks at WHO’s six major building blocks or health systems components with particular reference to primary health care and the need for community participation in planning, delivery and assessment of these systems components. in our third module we examine the specific systems component of human resource development and capacity building. The fourth area consists of health policy making and advocacy with stakeholders. This course is geared toward learners who are already involved in managing health and development programs on the ground in low and middle income countries or who are preparing for such a management role. The main lectures will span a four-week period with approximately 2-4 hours of viewing learning materials per week. We have one peer graded essay wherein you will use skills in ‘organizational’ diagnosis to better understand a challenge in an organization where you are or have worked. There are also quizzes. We hope you will engage with your fellow learners in discussion forums to learn from each other....

Лучшие рецензии

CM
23 янв. 2021 г.

It was quite enlightening and very understanding as l study the rudimentary principles of achieving success and switching on to a new career in Public Health.

SL
24 янв. 2019 г.

Content was very interesting, a lot of repetition of material helped to get a good understanding of Health Systems. Organizational Diagnosis was very useful.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 76 отзывов о курсе Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems

автор: Tommys J G G

4 окт. 2018 г.

Excellent!

автор: V K L

30 нояб. 2019 г.

excellent

автор: Asibul I A

30 сент. 2019 г.

Very good

автор: Abdul H

13 авг. 2018 г.

Great

автор: Pranav A

7 нояб. 2019 г.

.

автор: Gianfranco M

11 февр. 2021 г.

Online learning can be really informative and useful too, and sometimes it might just be better than many face to face learning events: I had to pass multiple peer reviews, quizzes and interactions with other professionals in order to obtain the degree. Some of the case studies were a little bit old (like 20 years old); I personally prefer to have both the slides and the face of the teacher, while here you have only the slides and the voice. The course provides useful framework to approach many aspects of public health and primary health care.

автор: RAJ S

21 апр. 2020 г.

This course is well-structured and delivers the desired learning outcomes. I applaud the professor's efforts to include eclectic themes materializing as a holistic course to understand the health system with a pinch of the vitality of strengthening them. I hope to add value to ikigaiHealth.org with the insights gained through this course and the specialization. You can connect with me at https://www.linkedin.com/in/raj-urvish-shah-8a8944146/

автор: Nifemi O

4 апр. 2020 г.

Thank you for a wonderful learning experience. It was worth it.

The only thing I seem to have an issue with is the peer grading process where you sometimes have to wait for days before you are graded by your fellow course mates.

I don't know if this can be looked into and modified. Thank you!

автор: James D

2 апр. 2021 г.

Good survey of topic, but quizzes and assessments should be improved. The first quiz had typos and misspelled words. I had to search-out peer assignments to review through the discussion forums, and certain of those who reviewed my assignment did not provide feedback.

автор: Maria P D F V

16 авг. 2019 г.

Classes were always interesting. However, they could include more videos and interactive participation. More analysis of real cases.

Also there was a big issue on week 2 and 3 with impaired audio and video and it was very difficult to complete those weeks.

автор: Mary D

27 февр. 2020 г.

Informative and well curated. The information is extremely helpful but I do feel that relying so much on previous case studies or programs puts people at a disadvantage if they are not familiar with those studies/programs.

автор: Ekundayo A A

22 янв. 2019 г.

Very excellent course, comprehensive and easy to follow. I am just not a big fan of the peer-reviewed assignment being compulsory.

Thank you, Madam Brieger for your work. Thank you John Hopkins and Coursera

автор: Lucile L

17 апр. 2020 г.

Very interesting and broad course with also clear examples

Sometimes I wished less repetition

Some technical problems still there (slides/speech matching) but not too impairing for the learning process

автор: Michael D

9 февр. 2021 г.

I feel the structure was set up very well, and it did flow. I am hoping to never hear the word guinea worm ever again though. Looking forward to the next course.

автор: Zuzana H

1 нояб. 2019 г.

This course provided useful overview. Though slides in presentations in Module 2 were in wrong order. Otherwise, I would recommend the course.

автор: Fredrik H

30 дек. 2019 г.

Sadly the PowerPoint in Module 2 (part of week 2) is totally messed up. However, great course with good examples

автор: Marc S O

21 дек. 2018 г.

A very useful and practical course. It delivers practical examples in real life situations.

автор: Maria L P

30 мая 2020 г.

Some weeks are disproportionately heavy with regards to other. Very interesting.

автор: Hafiz M W

18 мая 2020 г.

It is really good course.

автор: Gil C

14 окт. 2019 г.

Very good.

автор: Nonna T

6 нояб. 2020 г.

I am grateful to the course organizers for putting it out there.

As a general introduction, the course needs a better explanation of how its different parts come together. For instance, Part 1 sessions on organisations and change does not link up with the last few sessions which introduce Health Systems. The presentation of the sessions on organisations and change is overloaded with detailed personal experiences of the lecturer, there are no references to where the models come from, and the models themselves don’t seem thought through.

Week 2 is much better than Week 1. I think the view of the PHC is obsolete, same as the WHO’s view of it. Nowhere in the world does PHC fulfill all the roles expected of it, including education and social mobilization, or “fixing the local markets” example. With the amount of money allocated to PHC in M/LICs it’s not realistic to expect all that. I did like the HS building blocks explained on the example of the malaria program, I found malaria more relatable than the example in Week 1. The “last mile” session is informative and the one on private vendors is interesting, although a bit repetitive, and there’s a mismatch between the voice-over and the slides in a number of videos. What I really liked in Week 2 is the matrix of the Global Fund CSS blocks and the community systems.

Week 3 seems an improvement in setting the stage and good overview at the start of the lecture covering the main elements. I do not understand why, while the course is on health systems, the practical assignment is not on health systems, but on organizational change.

Week 4 material on policy making makes an important highlight of the responsibility of policy administrators, and I liked the comparison between the different policy formation models. The lecturer is spot on about the detrimental impact of WTO/patents. The lecturer’s accounts of advocacy implementation are a clear value-add.

Generally I think it would be best to have a separate course on organizational change and on health systems/community systems. I do not think the health systems and the organizational change parts of this course blended well together.

Some detailed observations are: the course could benefit from mentioning sources/providing reference links. Also it would be great if there was a possibility to fast-forward/rewind by 10 seconds, like on Netflix 😊 I personally find many of the illustrations/pictures used to be a bit dated, and more diversity in the images would be welcome. The image on slide 10 of Week 2 struck me, it’s about nutrition, on the image there are two smiling men who are at a table with food in front of them, and there is a seemingly sidelined woman holding a child who sits at the edge. It would be good to mention something about the role of gender or intra-family food security! I think sometimes the lecturer goes in too much details on the clinical aspects of different tropical diseases. I do appreciate the time, effort and resources that were put to produce this course, with a few changes the course can improve.

автор: Julian O K

21 февр. 2020 г.

The videos were fairly long and extremely detailed albeit it required complete and undivided attention. If you don't do very well when it comes to watching long lectures, it's better to start now because it's going to be worth it. Thanks!

автор: Óscar D O Á

9 сент. 2020 г.

The information is very useful but, some slides of the videos are not synchronize with the audio and make difficult to understand the classes.

автор: Maria d l A E

14 июня 2018 г.

The information provided was very useful, but the method (videos/lectures) were too monotonous.

автор: Varun R

24 мая 2020 г.

The content organization is very random and one component does not flow into the other.

The approach to teaching is very boring- the instructor is simply reading out information without engagement.

The good part about the course is the case study approach to teaching which makes it easier to apply in a practical setting.