Chevron Left
Вернуться к Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Hadoop Platform and Application Framework от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

3.9
звезд
Оценки: 3,107
Рецензии: 744

О курсе

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Лучшие рецензии

GM

Feb 01, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP

May 16, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 726 отзывов о курсе Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

автор: Petar B

Feb 11, 2016

GJ

автор: Stefano P

Nov 22, 2015

I found this course a lot better than the previous one.

More concrete and with interesting material quite applicable on work use cases.

I think there are some points of attention to be addressed in next versions of this course.

a) Quiz sometime are very hard to be solved because there is no explanation in the course. But quiz are very useful (as the community) to really learn the material.

b) some lessons are hard to follow. Probably better to put at the beginning of lessons a mandatory activity to read some material on web (I found very useful links in discussion community, after them I was able to follow the course, but not before)

In any case I consider this very useful and I thanks all of you for the effort you put it

Stefano Priola

автор: Rehan K

Mar 13, 2016

Some of the presentations during the course were not up-to the mark. The instructors were literally reading the instructions rather than explaining them. Week 4 instructions were really poor.

In some cases the topics were discussed very briefly, so briefly that it was not making any link to the over all discussion. Again week 4 lectures stand out in this regard.

The exercises required a lot of programming skills, which were at times quite frustrating. If these were required, the course introduction should have clearly mentioned it.

Being a senior professional, it was at times very difficult to keep pace with the assignments. There has to be some way out for special circumstances where a student is unable to complete an assignment.

автор: Helena L

Aug 12, 2016

The course is very good but some essential aspects just got a very sketchy overview (like e. g. Hive).

The time effort increases dramatically from 1st to 5th week: just a set of lectures and 1 quiz in the 1st week (1 hour) to 3 quizzes and 2 programming assignments in the last week (7-8 hours). The 5th week got also a different lecturer which was very hard to follow.

There are definitely required at least basic python skills as well as unix command line familiarity.

Nevertheless there was a lot of fun with this course and I would recommend it to everyone who'd like to get a fast overview about Hadoop and MapReduce.

автор: Venkateshan K

Jan 04, 2016

It's a good course that covers multiple platforms in the Hadoop ecosystem in a relatively short amount of time in addition to providing an introduction to Spark. That very aspect is also something of a disadvantage because most of the topics are dealt with at a rather shallow level, and some of the details come across as pieces of facts missing a clear coherent connection.

Nonetheless, it is a good beginner course, and it would be difficult to expect to learn more given the constraints of time and the vast amount of content there is in this field.

автор: Adam J H

Dec 19, 2017

The information in the course is valuable, especially the explanation of Spark. The course documentation needs updated, because instructions for installing pyspark do not work for a disproportionately large number of students, and the mentors do basically nothing to help. The section on Spark has some disturbing mismatch between the information provided in the video lectures and the questions on the quizzes; at least on question on each of those quizzes must be guessed, as the information is simply not in the lectures of handouts.

автор: Yang X

Apr 01, 2019

Overall the teaching and structure of the course is great. However, I guess some of the assignment, especially some of the quizzes could really use some more explanation since relevant points might not be covered during the course. So does the programming assignment, I guess maybe it could be due to the focus of this course is not yet writing better scripts, but one thing I think that is missing is how to combine those snippets to make a pipeline to automate the task or make the task reproducible.

автор: Pavlos C

Feb 27, 2019

Good course to give you potentially chaotic concepts. Prerequisites, that are not must but will definitelly help a lot: some basic linux command line fluency, basic python knowledge. Without those it still might be doable but might be a total nightmare. Many comments judge harshly some of the instructors. I would disagree on those, especially about class 3 instructor. The guy has a good way to present his concepts. Last week is the best.

автор: Toby P

Oct 31, 2015

This is a good course for anyone without major experience with Hadoop and/or Spark. Covers high level concepts and architecture, and basic tools of each. In this first iteration of the course, there are several typos in the assignments but fellow students have quickly provided corrections that, I'm sure, will be incorporated into subsequent offerings.

If you want to learn, I would recommend at least trying this course.

автор: Daniel F

Jan 24, 2017

Pretty interesting course and l now feel reasonably confident starting my own projects using spark. Only issue was with submitting some of the assignments. A lot of the time they would not work when I tried to submit. I eventually got them to submit using a different computer. This may be a problem on my end but from what I could tell from the discussions, many people had similar problems.

автор: Raymond T

Mar 24, 2016

Hadoop Platform V2 is well explained here including applications. At the end there's more detailed explanation of what Spark technology is compared to MapReduce. Having solid Python experience will help you here. Not having it, will be challenging. Also no support course support from Cloudera or authors o the course. You would get help from your classmates and internet.

автор: Kai Z

Aug 23, 2017

The content of this course is quite good. I like it very much. However, I still have two suggestions. Firstly, the downloaded slides of the first lesson of week 1 is different from the slides used in the video. Secondly, the oral speed of the last lecturer is so slow. I have to use 1.25X to get a normal speed. Anyway, I would like to recommend this course to friends.

автор: Soledad G

Dec 05, 2015

Very good overview with practice on programming with python for mapreduce and spark. So far, the best I came across to study the hadoop framework in a way that allows you to interact with the system.

It would be useful if the course had more depth on the different topics so we leave more resourceful to tackle additional problems than the ones presented here.

автор: Kim K L

Jan 27, 2016

Good solid course with a lot of emphasis on hands-on! It would be great if the teachers (particular in the Spark/pySpark section) could provide setup guidance for iPython Notebook as this will save the students a lot of time in coding/re-coding various examples as well as having a complete and easy to overview trace of the various Python related exercises.

автор: Fernando d C B

Jan 07, 2016

It is a good course , that gives a wide view of Hadoop platform and tools. Has some good examples .

I just think it could have more exercises to fix the commands and tools and how them can interact with each other.

My suggestion is to create a big project that will be increased on each week or lesson and this way prepare to a more integrated view.

автор: Chetan R

Dec 06, 2015

Good course overall, learnt a lot, and much more confident about big data technologies. The course asks for heavy system requirements that I didn't have. You can still use a computer with half the specs suggested. Time expectations are incorrect; keep an average 5 hours a week to be able to do MapReduce and Spark assignments along with the videos.

автор: MUHAMMAD I

Dec 31, 2015

I think, this is very important subject and course material was Excellent and very helpful in understanding the hadoop as a whole and to understand the relationship of other platforms like Spark And Tez.

There are some difficulties in understanding Quiz and Assignments but due to that i read different reference material on Spark and hadoop.

автор: Kulbhushan B

Jun 12, 2017

A great and easy introduction to Hadoop platform. Instructors explain the concepts that are central to Hadoop platform. Considering the breadth of material in Hadoop platform, the instructors did a good job on conveying the key concepts in an easy to understand manner. The quizzes had about 20% of questions that were not covered in course.

автор: A S G S

Jun 11, 2017

Assignments and Quiz sections are really good. The step by step hand-holding is quite helpful. I wish some of the instructors spent some more time in explaining the concepts better before jumping around, assuming the learner know what they know already.

I recommend this course to any developer yearning to step into the field of Big Data!

автор: Gopal K

Jan 23, 2019

The course is well documented, instructors are highly qualified. It covers more theoretical aspects of Big Data Stacks. Once should have some prior knowledge of Big Data to finish this course, specifically to complete the coding assignments. If there were a real world use case of big data world, the course simply would be great.

автор: Sanjaykumar M

Mar 21, 2016

This course gave a good overview of the hadoop platform and the frameworks. The course would have been more interesting if more examples were covered in the lectures and the assignments. Nevertheless, the map reduce exercises were good and helped understand the lectures better and were confidence boosting. :)

автор: Michael L

Dec 04, 2015

Speaker partly hard to understand. Quizzes / assignments were not really challenging, rather copy & paste. Algorithms and implementation of tools was not covered thoroughly (not even read up material provided). Anyway - gave a good overview of the framework and its components. Thanks a lot!

автор: srinivas k s

Jul 24, 2017

Very good course. The material is well covered. The spark assignments were very good. I personally thought the other assignments could have been harder. Still, I strongly recommend this course for anyone wanting to get introduced and get comfortable with programming on the Hadoop stack.

автор: Chan K K

Jul 04, 2019

The course teaches the most important aspects of Hadoop Platform, especially the MapReduce and Spark programming framework in a consise way.

However, students without technical backgrouds may found it hard to complete the programming assignment with Python and in Linux VM evnironment.

автор: Juan P A

Dec 18, 2015

Was good and Interesting... But after last Course (Introduction) this is a massive leap and is not suitable for someone who has no Coding Background - I don't and I suffered way too much trying to figure out all taht stuff, I think this is not for Business Professionals by itself.