Chevron Left
Вернуться к Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness. от партнера Университет Макмастер

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 631
Рецензии: 201

О курсе

Renowned exercise physiologists Martin Gibala and Stuart Phillips of McMaster University teach the surprising new science of cardio fitness and strength-building—and then provide you with hacks to get fit and strong (and healthy!) in less time than you ever thought possible. What’s the right mix of exercise between cardio and strength? How do you know if you’re working out hard enough? What’s better, heavy or light weights? These questions and more are addressed through a course designed to provide even the most inexperienced of exercisers the tools you need to design time-efficient workouts that can be done virtually anywhere, from your own home to a city park or even at your workplace. Marty and Stu are good friends and colleagues who just happen to be two of the world’s most passionate scholars in the science of fitness. They aim to entertain you while they’re describing the relationship between exercise and health. Marty is a pioneer in the field of interval training, the technique of varying your workout intensity to get fit faster than anyone ever thought possible. Stu’s studies proved that lifting lighter weights can be a highly effective strength-building technique—plus he’s a leading expert in dietary protein and muscle. In Hacking Exercise for Health, you’ll follow Marty and Stu as they teach you the basics about the way your body boosts its fitness and strength. Next, they’ll apply that theory, providing you with a series of do-anywhere workouts and, most importantly, teaching you what you need to know to design your own sessions. Filled with inspirational practical tips, fun quizzes, interactive community participation and assignments designed to help you remember your lessons, Hacking Exercise for Health will give you the tools and techniques to incorporate exercise into your life, no matter how busy you are....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
29 нояб. 2020 г.

Great Course, I really enjoyed this journey of four weeks, but still, I would like to have a suggestion regarding the food structure that I need to follow to achieve a maximum of my desired output.

JB
26 нояб. 2019 г.

I found the information very useful and enlightening. Even if I have been exercising continually for a very long time, you can always learn new things to improve or be more productive.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 202 отзывов о курсе Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

автор: Adrienne K

28 апр. 2020 г.

Great course content! I know this is a small thing not related to the information, but I would consider getting rid of the loud music at the beginning of every video. Maybe just have it for the first one in a given week? I dreaded it after awhile.

автор: Abby L

28 мая 2020 г.

This was a super fun class and I learned so much! I feel more comfortable now when I create my own workouts! The professors were super knowledgeable and the lessons were conveyed in an easy way. I absolutely loved the class!

автор: Tércio A d R B

5 янв. 2020 г.

A very actual course with a summary on what exercise research has answered about the effects of aerobic and strength training on health. It also teaches some important tips on how to conduct an active lifestyle.

автор: Angela B

5 нояб. 2020 г.

The final only with an upgrade was a bit frustrating but I have recommended the course five times over anyway. Great scientific knowledge! As well as practical experience

автор: Mayra I G

31 мар. 2020 г.

Un curso obligado para todo aquel que busque reafirmar conocimientos en el area de las ciencias de la salud de manera amena y basada en evidencias.

автор: Jilliane G

4 нояб. 2019 г.

Fantastic course!!! It verified a lot of what I intuitively knew after 6 years as a professional athlete.

автор: Vaani M

16 авг. 2020 г.

good but difficult

автор: Vedant B

3 апр. 2020 г.

This was a really interesting course, fun and easy to do. I found it quite well presented, refreshing and informative. The frequent humor and skits within the video presentations always made for a more lighthearted learning experience, allowing the learner to remain engaged and not become bored with studying. Being an advanced exerciser myself, I was not highly surprised with the information provided, but I did manage to learn and pick up a few things. I had a bit of a gripe with the question-answers in-video, the polls in-video, and the final quiz, but nothing major as such, and it was, overall, a very fun learning experience. For those new to fitness and exercise, or those who always feel daunted by exercise, or maybe even just those who want to find some variety or to make things interesting again, I highly recommend this course to everyone out there. What they say is true, at the end of the day, "Just do something."

автор: Barry Z

13 дек. 2020 г.

This was a very informative and valuable course. It was well-taught and easy to follow.

I was surprised and a little put off my being expected to interact across 3 different platforms: Twitter, Flipgrid, and The Coursera board. I am not sure why this was necessary and since I do not have and do not want a Twitter account it was a little limiting. If this is important it should be stated before enrollment.

автор: Dr. K B B

13 апр. 2020 г.

Questions #2 & #4 have errors. Please check the question wording and confirm the answers with the course professors!

автор: Samer B

7 нояб. 2019 г.

Good nice effort ... but i have some notes for this course :

1_ the teachers speaking fast for persons that dose not speak English as mother language so please try to speak slower .

2_ try to make the course language more easy and sample .

3_ the last exam has very complicated questions for me as a person dose not speak English as mother language so please also try to make the way of the questions more simple and try to offer translates to another languages .

thanks

автор: Olga K

23 июня 2020 г.

Music in the begging so loud, makes it impossible to complete this course

автор: Amanda S

25 нояб. 2020 г.

In video pop up quizzes are inactive. Posting to flipgrid is cumbersome and invasive. No one is commenting on anyone's posts anyway, which invalidates the point of posting things publically in the first place. Instructional videos are poorly produced and too loud in the app for the intro. Also, I don't need an intro segment for every video uploaded as its redundant. Instruction is campy vs scientific. Might work for others, but I am turned off and unengaged. From what I have watched so far, I have already heard this material from elsewhere. Will no longer participate in the course, but I cannot figure out how to unenroll. On my phone app there is an option to unenroll, but it says you have to do this from the Coursera webpage. On Coursera web page, I cannot find the option to unenroll.

автор: Mario C G

17 сент. 2020 г.

Dear Martin and Stuart: I would thank you very much for your course, for all the personal effort that you put into it, as well as the good science that you so dutifully explained. I have twenty years of experience, before as weightlifter and bodybuilder, then as gym owner. Now I’m close to 60 years old, and I still have the passion to push weights, and your teachings really opened up an entire new way to see my way to fitness and health. I was especially pleased when you talk about the various benefits of exercise, not just for the body but also the mind. The material provided is updated and awesome. My suggestion to you could be to add a total body workout to the videos you have, maybe performed by a middle age couple. Or maybe you can add a workout guideline at the end of the course. All the best!

автор: Andy B

8 мар. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed the way the course was structured for the benefit of the student. The video's (with a great attitude and humor) were light - though they shared good quality materials. They were in turn supported by the text, glossary and journal readings that were provided. I also appreciated the format of the test to allow the student to better understand the materials by giving them a number of opportunities to deepen their understanding. Some questions were odd though - but eventually I did figure them out! Thank you for putting this together.

автор: Joy M

7 дек. 2020 г.

The course was very enlightening. I have struggled to be consistent with my exercise routines. The course has helped me learn hacks that will motivate me to keep on with my exercises schedules.

The style of delivering the course by Prof. Martin Gibala and Prof. Stuart Phillips was engaging, exciting and full of fun. Thank you to you Professor Gibala and Phillips for creating this MOOC. I would never have gained the knowledge I have if it were not an online course. Asentini sana.

автор: Marnel A R

19 окт. 2020 г.

The videos are catchy and sustains interest. The two experts delivered it energetically. The contents are easy to follow which includes progress, developments and new findings in the field of exercise sciences. However, the final quiz questions need some fine tuning as some have grammatical errors. Some items are too vague which makes the multiple choice / selection very plausible. Overall, the module/course was a great learning experience.

автор: summya k

14 июня 2020 г.

What a beautiful course, it was. I've learned so much and it has everything that I always wanted to know, It seems like Stuart Phillips and Martin Gibala knew that. Brilliantly designed, I must say.

I love McMaster University and applied in one of it's health sciences program. I really wish to study at McMaster University one day.

Thank you so much, Stuart Phillips and Martin Gibala.

автор: Jason P C

17 дек. 2020 г.

The instructors were not boring. Their explanations are relatable and easy to follow. The content were based on credible studies and the use of flip grid provide a community for learners to learn from each other's experience and tips. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to get scientific insights on how to start their active lifestyle.

автор: Chris H

13 янв. 2020 г.

As a program director of exercise science, this course is both educational and engaging. Tons of great info and enough basic physiology to help beginner and advanced students, alike. I was impressed enough to offer it as extra credit in my own courses. If your an aspiring fitness person, thought, this course is easy to follow and learn from.

A+

автор: Jonathan K

24 июня 2021 г.

Really good introductory course to the science of exercise - helps to debunk a lot of incorrect information out there. Equally good for those starting on an career in personal training or those just wishing to work on their own health and fitness in a smart way. High quality material, well worth the small course fee.

автор: David D

10 янв. 2021 г.

Outstanding! This is a well presented course to encourage one how to work-out better by using research as an encouragement and a guide for designing one's program.

Like their suggested fitness program, it taught rather as short, high intensity modules that are easy to understand and relate to. Bravo!

автор: Juan R C D

6 нояб. 2019 г.

I Love it! Does have it a second part?

I suggest something like: Aesthetic of recomposing corporal. Fitness and sport motivation psychology, how maximize the hypertrophy, nutritional plan for aesthetics sport or aesthetics nutritionThanks a lot Dr. Gibala and Dr. Phillips :D

автор: shaik d

6 дек. 2020 г.

I'm glad that I came across this course. Gained not only knowledge in this aspect but also tips to implement them effectively to maintain our health. The instructors were just brilliant. I would like thank the entire team for coming up with such amazing content.

автор: Susan M

6 мая 2021 г.

My favorite Coursera class! Great information! Excellent teachers! I especially like that each video is short and to the point. I have just finished the class and set up my new exercise schedule. I am 73 and anxious to Start a new program of fitness.