Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Graph Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 706
Рецензии: 150

О курсе

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Лучшие рецензии

SU

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH

Nov 17, 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 148 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory

автор: matthew l

Feb 28, 2020

Great course. Only reason I give it 4 stars is because of the audio quality in week 1. It's very bad.

The same instructor that did the lectures in week 1, had drastically better audio quality in the later weeks.

автор: Shankhalika S

Jun 07, 2020

Week 5 was very confusing and not well curated. Please fix this.I had to lookup youtube videos to understand the concepts and that defeats the purpose of me taking the course on coursera

автор: Toxic

Jan 01, 2018

This course is interesting, and it is a good introduction. I like the first four weeks' courses, while I feel the last week's course is not clear presented, which changes the instructor.

автор: Wan H L

Mar 10, 2019

The lecturer well explained the course materials. But the assignments are too easy to complete, it does not tease your brain as exercise, and the week 5 is a bit hard to follow

автор: Akash V S

Jun 08, 2020

The course was excellent apart from the Ford Fulkerson Theorem in the last week where it was rather shabby and hasty. The Gale-Shapley Algorithm was fun however!

автор: Ved B

Aug 09, 2020

Though it is beginner level course some concepts are hard to grasp. Gives perfect introduction in graph theory. Useful for computer science subjects.

автор: Suji E M

Aug 16, 2020

It's a wonderful experience.Since Iam unaware of Python, I couldnot workout the problems. Otherwsie its a nice programme.

автор: Keenan B

Dec 31, 2019

This course was fun an informative, but wasn't as developed as the first two courses in this series. Still a great class

автор: Digvendra S T

Jun 24, 2020

Overall the course is good, however, you may face some difficulty in understanding last week instructor's voice.

автор: Joseph A D

Nov 05, 2017

Alex Shen's manner of speaking is difficult to understand, but I enjoyed and learned from the material anyway.

автор: Mike T

Jun 29, 2018

would be good to have a few more algo questions, perhaps one submission per week?

автор: Denis D

Jul 21, 2019

Some parts could be clearer. Adding more examples would have gone a long way.

автор: ANUSHREE C 1

Apr 06, 2020

Very conceptual and everything was clear and easy to understand.

автор: David W

May 15, 2020

The content is good, but it needs more programming assignments.

автор: Shubham C

Jul 12, 2020

Last two weeks are little bit difficult to understand.

автор: mayank a

Sep 05, 2020

really a great learning on graphs

автор: K A K

Jun 27, 2020

Graph Theory in its purest form.

автор: Thành N K

Sep 17, 2019

very useful and so hard

автор: Nikhil Y

Apr 29, 2020

just amazing course!!

автор: Prajul G

Jun 04, 2020

Great Course

автор: D V S S R

Mar 16, 2019

NICE COURSE

автор: Bhanuprakash B

Jun 06, 2020

Helpful

автор: Trần C L

Nov 08, 2019

Too much boring stuff, somewhat poor lecturing, I must say. I only took in a little what I've just learned.

However, 3rd party puzzle is fun and quizzes are ok, new good thing is glossary which reviews the module's contents. These are things that got me understand about graph honestly.

I like the old teacher's lessons, he has many interactive quizzes on it and he seems passionated, others should do it too, it keep my concentration from falling apart.

This course keeps what's good from previous courses, but you guy still messed up the teaching.

автор: Ethan H

Oct 26, 2020

Not the best MOOC for graph theory, but it got the job done. This might just be my preference as a student, but I find Alexander Shen's lecture style very confusing, and often inaudible. For these sections (e.g. Ford & Fulkerson), I simply watched OCW lectures from MIT. The exercises for the course are a bit on the easy side, and didn't require learning anything beyond definitions (an an occasional theorem). Although I did not use online forums, I appreciate that the instructors are very responsive to questions and concerns. Thanks!

автор: Yang L

Oct 23, 2019

It is overall a good course. The week 5 part is super confusing. In that lecture, a lot of terminologies are mixing together without proper explain. Like the "cut", it would be nice to explain it is a minimal cut at first place, otherwise one would not know why that specific cut can tell the maximum flow while other cut can't. It will be better to have a clear lecture with more diagram or animation. It's very hard to follow when there only few words on the slides and the lecturer don't follow the slides... .