Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Graph Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 706
Рецензии: 150

О курсе

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Лучшие рецензии

SU

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH

Nov 17, 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 148 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory

автор: Rony T P R

Aug 27, 2020

The content is great. In my personal opinion, I think it can be improved in the following ways:

+ More references to books, journals, papers for more depth on topics.

+ More challenging quizzes and puzzles.

+ More programming assignments.

+ Extreme challenge mode [make it optional] :

> Post unsolvable/very difficult problems. Reveal solution or unsolvability only at a later point.

> My point is, nobody should be able to 100% the course. And struggling through a problem is a valuable learning experience, more useful than getting a solution. Also, being someone who likes games like dark souls, this type of dynamic can be highly rewarding!

автор: Adrian M

Oct 21, 2020

I really liked everything in this course, especially the graded tools. They were a lot of fun and really helped to introduce new ideas very well. The only thing I struggled with, were the explanations in the beginning of Week 5. But it wasn't a big problem and after watching some youtube videos I fully understood the concept.

автор: Jessie A

Sep 29, 2020

This course was awesome!! I have already learnt theoretical graph theory but these practical games and quizzes made me understand the concepts much more easier and made the study more fun!! Best way to learn the fundamentals of Graph Theory. Thank you.

автор: Mohamed H I

Oct 12, 2020

Great, informative courses. I liked that they are NOT focusing much on Python. I am more confident now with Graphs and its application

автор: Muhammad K S

Oct 04, 2020

Excellent Course, It refreshed and renewed my concepts of graph theory. I would apply graph theory to solve computer science problems.

автор: Digvijay D A

Sep 15, 2020

It is very useful for me. The faculty was great and they gave understandable examples which were helpful to learn.

автор: Ayrton C A d A

Oct 24, 2020

The course is very good, it covers many concepts about graphs and algorithms.

автор: Ahmed R

Oct 04, 2020

Great Job but Graph is a a complex topic

автор: 121910309031 K P S

Oct 03, 2020

good course to learn Graph Theory

автор: Payal K

Aug 23, 2020

very interesting course

автор: Gary M

Oct 23, 2020

Very enjoyable!

автор: Ivan Y C M

Aug 04, 2020

very goo course

автор: 121910310046 M N

Oct 01, 2020

EXCELLENT

автор: Vraj b b p

Aug 22, 2020

Very good

автор: Zhaowenzheng

Sep 21, 2020

great

автор: Akhil k N

Oct 28, 2020

Good

автор: APEXA M S

Aug 21, 2020

G

o

o

g

автор: Kevin M

Aug 16, 2020

I feel that I received a fairly thorough overview of Graph Theory although, there were some topics missing I'd hoped to learn more about such as adjacency lists. Perhaps a topic such as that requires a level of understanding beyond an introductory course, however, so I'm not faulting the course for not including it.

The quizzes and exercises were fair, relevant and usually at least mildly interesting. Most of the topics are not difficult when illustrated with diagrams and, fortunately, there were plenty throughout the course. I do wish there were more assignments or questions (with answers) to provide practice at using the concepts which would really help provide a more lasting understanding of the material.

All instructors are Russian except one who is French. As a native English speaker, I had no major issues understanding any of them. Indeed, the Russians speak surprisingly clear and proper English the vast majority of the time.

My only significant complaint about this course is that I've come away feeling like I still have only a tenuous, at best, understanding of "Networks, Flows and Cuts." In fact, I still don't understand the rules or procedures of Cuts at all. In my opinion, this section was not presented at the same level of quality as all the other sections. Incidentally, this is the only section in this course taught by the French instructor.

Overall, a very good introduction to graph theory.

автор: Florian P

May 02, 2020

Things got a little bit messy in Week 5 of the course. The lecturer is very charming, but also seems like a hurricane of information at times. A few more illustrations or computing examples could help this. E.g., a step by step explanation of the Ford-Fulkerson algorithm would have helped me out a lot.

Overall a very good course which does a good job at teaching the fundamentals of graph theory and even giving an impression of what lies beyond.

автор: Ziad B

Oct 13, 2018

Really cool course to take with very interesting exercises. I especially liked some of the puzzles at the beginning of topics. I thought that the week 5 material needed some more concrete examples. It was presented in the abstract straight away. However, don't let that discourage you from taking the course. You may simply need to access the odd Youtube video to supplement the material presented here.

автор: Gyanesh T

Sep 27, 2020

Thank you team for making such an exiting content on graph theory it has really encouraged me to take few more courses on discrete mathematic and computer science. Though my area is not computers and neither is mathematics but your intuitive style of teaching has kept me glued to the basic concepts of the course. Thanks once again for wonderful work.

автор: Ganesh P

May 07, 2020

The course "Introduction to Graph Theory " given me to understand the different basic concepts of Graph theory through the examples,puzzles and video lectures.

One of my suggestion is to discuss solution of one more example related to Ford-Fulkerson algorithm in the Week 5 contents .

The programming assignment was also well.

автор: A. K M N H

May 09, 2020

Course materials are very good. But explanations of the topic aren't up to the mark, mostly because the instructors aren't native English speakers. The quizzes are very easy, they could be make harder and little programming assignments could be given like that in week 5.

автор: Farhan F A

Jun 18, 2020

The course content was fun but too many questions inside the lecture videos were annoying. Most of them were unnecessary and very easy. Especially the notes for mistakes. Mistakes do take place. But interrupting the class for mistakes is another mistake

автор: Daniel B

Apr 27, 2020

Most of the explanations of concepts were great. One professor has a tendency to force students to draw conclusions for the main point(s) he is making, or trails off verbally so that it's difficult to understand what the main point is.