Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Graph Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 816
Рецензии: 184

О курсе

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Лучшие рецензии

SU
27 февр. 2019 г.

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
16 нояб. 2017 г.

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 181 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory

автор: MANDA N

1 окт. 2020 г.

EXCELLENT

автор: Vraj b b p

22 авг. 2020 г.

Very good

автор: 121910313060 g

20 дек. 2020 г.

nice..

автор: Zhaowenzheng

21 сент. 2020 г.

great

автор: 121910319059 g

28 янв. 2021 г.

good

автор: 121910304017 V K M

20 янв. 2021 г.

good

автор: 121910316063 g

19 янв. 2021 г.

good

автор: DWARAMPUDI H A R

16 янв. 2021 г.

good

автор: ABHISHEK C

14 янв. 2021 г.

Good

автор: 121910319015 B P R

11 янв. 2021 г.

good

автор: Sasisrivundavilli

18 дек. 2020 г.

good

автор: 121910303040 P K P

5 дек. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: 121910309040 N A K

28 окт. 2020 г.

Good

автор: APEXA M S

20 авг. 2020 г.

G

o

o

g

автор: MODANI H

14 янв. 2021 г.

fab

автор: PINNAMARAJU S V

11 янв. 2021 г.

-

автор: Kevin M

16 авг. 2020 г.

I feel that I received a fairly thorough overview of Graph Theory although, there were some topics missing I'd hoped to learn more about such as adjacency lists. Perhaps a topic such as that requires a level of understanding beyond an introductory course, however, so I'm not faulting the course for not including it.

The quizzes and exercises were fair, relevant and usually at least mildly interesting. Most of the topics are not difficult when illustrated with diagrams and, fortunately, there were plenty throughout the course. I do wish there were more assignments or questions (with answers) to provide practice at using the concepts which would really help provide a more lasting understanding of the material.

All instructors are Russian except one who is French. As a native English speaker, I had no major issues understanding any of them. Indeed, the Russians speak surprisingly clear and proper English the vast majority of the time.

My only significant complaint about this course is that I've come away feeling like I still have only a tenuous, at best, understanding of "Networks, Flows and Cuts." In fact, I still don't understand the rules or procedures of Cuts at all. In my opinion, this section was not presented at the same level of quality as all the other sections. Incidentally, this is the only section in this course taught by the French instructor.

Overall, a very good introduction to graph theory.

автор: carlos j u

30 нояб. 2020 г.

Theoretical concepts of graphs and networks very well explained, friendly and informative lecture notes, but insufficient treatment of concepts from a programmatic standpoint. They use Python and networkx to illustrate some concepts at the beginning, but the examples given are too simplistic and one only learns to use "a couple of methods" of a graph object with networkx.

Certainly a good course if you want to learn graph theory from scratch and how to use it to solve some interesting problems, using paper and pencil, but this is not your course if you want to learn by coding.

автор: Florian P

2 мая 2020 г.

Things got a little bit messy in Week 5 of the course. The lecturer is very charming, but also seems like a hurricane of information at times. A few more illustrations or computing examples could help this. E.g., a step by step explanation of the Ford-Fulkerson algorithm would have helped me out a lot.

Overall a very good course which does a good job at teaching the fundamentals of graph theory and even giving an impression of what lies beyond.

автор: Ziad B

13 окт. 2018 г.

Really cool course to take with very interesting exercises. I especially liked some of the puzzles at the beginning of topics. I thought that the week 5 material needed some more concrete examples. It was presented in the abstract straight away. However, don't let that discourage you from taking the course. You may simply need to access the odd Youtube video to supplement the material presented here.

автор: Eric B

18 февр. 2021 г.

I was unfamiliar with graph theory before taking this course. It greatly helped my understanding of the subject. A few points were hard to follow and I had to look elsewhere to understand them. Also, I found it annoying for the final week that the lectures were constantly interrupted with pop up questions asking if I understood what was just said.

автор: Gyanesh T

27 сент. 2020 г.

Thank you team for making such an exiting content on graph theory it has really encouraged me to take few more courses on discrete mathematic and computer science. Though my area is not computers and neither is mathematics but your intuitive style of teaching has kept me glued to the basic concepts of the course. Thanks once again for wonderful work.

автор: Ganesh P

7 мая 2020 г.

The course "Introduction to Graph Theory " given me to understand the different basic concepts of Graph theory through the examples,puzzles and video lectures.

One of my suggestion is to discuss solution of one more example related to Ford-Fulkerson algorithm in the Week 5 contents .

The programming assignment was also well.

автор: arnab n

9 мая 2020 г.

Course materials are very good. But explanations of the topic aren't up to the mark, mostly because the instructors aren't native English speakers. The quizzes are very easy, they could be make harder and little programming assignments could be given like that in week 5.

автор: Juliano P

2 янв. 2021 г.

This wasn't as good as the first 2 modules, but still very informative. Lots of practice exercises but I'd say less helpful than before, as some of them seemed very easy to provide any valuable insight. I still recommend this course for an introduction to graph theory.