Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Graph Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 816
Рецензии: 184

О курсе

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Лучшие рецензии

SU
27 февр. 2019 г.

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
16 нояб. 2017 г.

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 181 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Graph Theory

автор: Aryan R

30 авг. 2020 г.

The course is good overall but the proofs of almost all the theorems are not very intuitive or convincing. If you are taking this I suggest doing this with mit's 16.042's graph theory lectures.

автор: Rony T P R

27 авг. 2020 г.

The content is great. In my personal opinion, I think it can be improved in the following ways:

+ More references to books, journals, papers for more depth on topics.

+ More challenging quizzes and puzzles.

+ More programming assignments.

+ Extreme challenge mode [make it optional] :

> Post unsolvable/very difficult problems. Reveal solution or unsolvability only at a later point.

> My point is, nobody should be able to 100% the course. And struggling through a problem is a valuable learning experience, more useful than getting a solution. Also, being someone who likes games like dark souls, this type of dynamic can be highly rewarding!

автор: Jorge J C A

29 нояб. 2020 г.

The course is great. Just recommend adding on the in-video questions a picture related to the question! If a question appears so randomly and no notes were taken, then answering the question is not possible unless rewinding the video to see the graph.

Also, try to explain a little bit better the section related to networks, I had to watch videos on YouTube to understand the last cuestionary.

автор: Chang M M

1 янв. 2021 г.

As a non-native English learner, Graph theory is very tricky to understand at first. so learners don't have to be frustrated with it. If you get frustrated here, you won't be able to do anything in the future :)

It would be nice to provide an explanation of difficult graph terminology in PDF, but it would have been better if they explained it more clearly in class. Thanks for this lecture.

автор: Adrian M

21 окт. 2020 г.

I really liked everything in this course, especially the graded tools. They were a lot of fun and really helped to introduce new ideas very well. The only thing I struggled with, were the explanations in the beginning of Week 5. But it wasn't a big problem and after watching some youtube videos I fully understood the concept.

автор: Jessie A

29 сент. 2020 г.

This course was awesome!! I have already learnt theoretical graph theory but these practical games and quizzes made me understand the concepts much more easier and made the study more fun!! Best way to learn the fundamentals of Graph Theory. Thank you.

автор: Nguyen D L

26 февр. 2021 г.

I learned a lot in this course even though I was a hardware engineer by training. I took this course so that I can tutor my son in computer science.

I definitely will continue with all the remaining classes in the specialization.

автор: Matteo N A

11 дек. 2020 г.

Great course and perfectly suitable if you are familiar with technical thinking, but don't know much about graph theory and want to get an overview in a short time

автор: Mohamed H I

12 окт. 2020 г.

Great, informative courses. I liked that they are NOT focusing much on Python. I am more confident now with Graphs and its application

автор: Muhammad K S

4 окт. 2020 г.

Excellent Course, It refreshed and renewed my concepts of graph theory. I would apply graph theory to solve computer science problems.

автор: noah a

24 нояб. 2020 г.

awesome course! But a lot more material needed on the last week of the course. (flow networks and stable matching)

автор: Digvijay D A

15 сент. 2020 г.

It is very useful for me. The faculty was great and they gave understandable examples which were helpful to learn.

автор: Owais A

3 дек. 2020 г.

Fantastic experience with it. Except with the last week and last week's instructor.

автор: Ayrton C A d A

24 окт. 2020 г.

The course is very good, it covers many concepts about graphs and algorithms.

автор: Ajay T

24 дек. 2020 г.

Well designed. A quick refresher of the important graph theory concepts

автор: H S L V

19 янв. 2021 г.

Buen curso para iniciar en teoría de gráficas.

автор: Marcos M M

16 нояб. 2020 г.

excellent course, very good materials prepared

автор: Ahmed R

4 окт. 2020 г.

Great Job but Graph is a a complex topic

автор: 121910309031 K P S

3 окт. 2020 г.

good course to learn Graph Theory

автор: Payal K

23 авг. 2020 г.

very interesting course

автор: Gary M

23 окт. 2020 г.

Very enjoyable!

автор: Ivan Y C M

4 авг. 2020 г.

very goo course

автор: Veluturi S T

19 дек. 2020 г.

Well Explained

автор: 121910303007 S S A

11 янв. 2021 г.

A very course

автор: 121910319060 g

10 янв. 2021 г.

excellent