Chevron Left
Вернуться к GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design от партнера Торонтский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 516
Рецензии: 151

О курсе

In this course, you will learn how to find GIS data for your own projects, and how to create a well-designed map that effectively communicates your message. The first section focuses on the basic building blocks of GIS data, so that you know what types of GIS files exist, and the implications of choosing one type over another. Next, we'll discuss metadata (which is information about a data set) so you know how to evaluate a data set before you decide to use it, as well as preparing data by merging and clipping files as needed. We'll then talk about how to take non-GIS data, such as a list of addresses, and convert it into "mappable" data using geocoding. Finally, you'll learn about how to take data that you have found and design a map using cartographic principles. In the course project, you will find your own data and create your own quantitative map. Note: software is not provided for this course....

Лучшие рецензии

HG
6 апр. 2021 г.

Prof Don Boyes explanation on the subject is awesome. It is very easy to understand and develops a great interest in the subject. It is very rare to find such a wonderful professional in the field.

SH
3 авг. 2020 г.

It is one of the best course of the specialization. I learned a lot about data acquisition, map design elements and principles and exporting map. It gave me a greater knowledge of map designs.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 151 отзывов о курсе GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design

автор: Juan C L A

22 нояб. 2020 г.

Genial

автор: Diana M B

15 окт. 2020 г.

Great!

автор: Himal B

12 дек. 2020 г.

great

автор: kazi n a

4 янв. 2021 г.

nice

автор: MdWaliul I K

20 июля 2020 г.

Good

автор: JOSEPH R

20 мая 2020 г.

good

автор: Walid M A

9 мая 2020 г.

good

автор: EZEMA A S

18 апр. 2020 г.

nice

автор: Anthony R

6 июля 2020 г.

Full points to the course tutor for being immensely knowledgeable of and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The course content itself is deeply interesting to me and it is well taught. My major issue with this course is the way the final assignment is graded. If you look through the discussion forum for the assignment you will see students pimping reviews and full grades while asking for the same in return. And some of these submissions do not deserve full grades. I also get the impression that if you do not give someone full grades you are not likely to get the proper review and grade your submission deserves. There ought to be some controls against this otherwise it defeats the purpose of putting any detailed work into the assignment and also robs the honest workers of the grade and review they deserve.

автор: Gemma E

21 сент. 2020 г.

The instructions were quite intense but complete so it was easy to understand the instructions given, However, since ARCMap is no longer in use and only ARCGIS PRO is given as a student trial, the directions do not exactly translate to assist in using the current software available. The instructor is very easy to understand and his teaching style is great! Just wish it was updated to assist in working with the latest software

автор: Jeff M

20 июля 2020 г.

This course provided a good overview for the motivated GIS student. I got a lot out of it, but it was also frustrating to see some steps taken by the instructor that I could not immediately replicate on my end - and have no one to ask for help! This is not a course to rush through, and I benefited greatly from working on my own maps during pauses that I took in the course itself.

автор: Sharon L

26 авг. 2020 г.

Very informative course, finding that searching for the data is the most difficult part.

Perhaps have links to some of the data used in the examples would be of benefit, found that could not edit tables for some of the data that I downloaded, became very frustrating to do a simple calculation.

автор: Timothy R

10 июля 2020 г.

The map layout and design portion of the course was extremely helpful on how to make maps more readable and enjoyable to look at.

The use of GIS data to make the maps is also well done. I wish the course would update to incorporate ArcGIS Pro (the new version of ArcMap).

автор: Duncan H

30 мар. 2020 г.

As a beginner this was a useful course. I would like to have more information on the examples shown so I could reproduce them as worked examples. I was confused by the final project instructions relating to the use of ESRI basemaps.

автор: Bernardo C S

26 авг. 2021 г.

Curso excelente!! NIvel alto. Para quem trabalha , estudar fica mais dificil, mas é parte do processo. Obrigado especial ao professor que faz parecer tudo tão simples. Esbanja simpatia. Parabens a Coursera.

автор: rodrigo

3 сент. 2021 г.

It was a great course. I think that it would have been useful if the course taught us aobut how to pass from a certain Geographic coordinates to another ones

автор: Manuel C D

29 апр. 2020 г.

Gran curso, dificultad adecuada, material y conocimiento aportados muy buenos.

автор: Rupok C

11 июля 2020 г.

Very much informative course of this specialization.

автор: Solomon A

4 авг. 2020 г.

Don Boyes is a good teacher. Highly recommended.

автор: sreedevi

11 июля 2020 г.

Learnt a lot through the project and class!!

автор: Md. H R

27 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent demonstration

автор: Nanditha H S

29 июля 2020 г.

very qualitative

автор: Debajyoti D

13 авг. 2020 г.

good course

автор: Tarek M

20 сент. 2020 г.

tres bien

автор: Alba R S

19 янв. 2021 г.

Hay algunos errores de edición, contenido repetido, videos que se terminan a mitad de frase, etc., además de que hay muchas cosas que se dan por hecho que si nunca has cogido el programa, puede que sea un poco complicado. Por otro lado, le dedica mucho tiempo a explicar bien los diferentes tipos de mapa, lo cual se agradece.