Chevron Left
Вернуться к Консольные утилиты для науки о геномных данных

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Консольные утилиты для науки о геномных данных от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.1
звезд
Оценки: 503
Рецензии: 143

О курсе

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Лучшие рецензии

CW

5 авг. 2020 г.

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.

However, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.

Thank You!

JJ

22 июня 2018 г.

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 141 отзывов о курсе Консольные утилиты для науки о геномных данных

автор: Michael G

22 июля 2018 г.

There could be more resources provided and the lecture at the beginning of module 4 should be placed at the beginning of the course. Because the overview of molecular biology serves as background for the entire course.

автор: ZIHAN X

18 апр. 2021 г.

The course is good overall. Many useful skills are introduced. However, the cufflinks package has been too old for transcriptome analysis nowadays, and some commands could be upgraded to the newest ones if possible.

автор: Huma P

11 мар. 2022 г.

Course explanation is good but some topics are not updated like mplieup is now not included in samtools and they didnot update information. Instructor taught lectures very well.

автор: 李俊宏

3 мар. 2019 г.

This course is reasonably difficult. The assignments are quite fulfilling and well organized by virtual machine. I hope the slides could be more detailed because it too simple.

автор: Sara C

18 окт. 2016 г.

Th lecturer could be a little more engaging and the materials used during classes, if made available would help following it better, by replicating the examples being shown.

автор: Leonardo S

24 апр. 2020 г.

Some explanations are4 not completely clear. A good summary of what every tools does and of which rools should be used to tackle which situation would really beneficial

автор: Andrew J D

27 авг. 2018 г.

Very informative course. Only downside is that the example datasets/scripts are not provided (which I tend to find to be useful for learning informatics).

автор: Gonzalo C S

6 февр. 2017 г.

It was a useful course. A pity that the instructor makes so many mistakes when speaking, which makes sometimes a bit confusing to follow.

автор: 邵文

15 июня 2018 г.

The speaker's accent and inaccurate subtitles sometimes make it difficult for me to understand.

автор: Erik K

3 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

автор: Vassil D

8 янв. 2017 г.

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

автор: Aleksandr F

18 мар. 2021 г.

Course is good, Exam 4 requires extra instructions. DO NOT USE ANNOTATIONS WITH TOPHAT!

автор: Avinash K

1 мая 2020 г.

Good course to improve your command line skills in analyzing genomic data.

автор: Thiago C S

15 мая 2019 г.

Some questions were way too specific and out of scope from real practice.

автор: Geoffrey K

22 апр. 2019 г.

A worthy introduction to the problems facing computational biologists.

автор: Qianhao L

12 мая 2018 г.

Could have more tools introduced, for instance SNP calling tools.

автор: Xing Y

2 окт. 2018 г.

The course is good but not "self-contained"...

автор: Noman A

21 нояб. 2019 г.

I like the course too much,

автор: Pu J

20 февр. 2017 г.

this is a useful course

автор: Catherine J

19 мая 2020 г.

Excellent presentation

автор: wenting w

10 сент. 2017 г.

Useful course.

автор: Kasper T K

21 нояб. 2017 г.

Great course, the instructor does a great job in introducing the students to some off the important sequencing analysis tools. Some of the lectures are although a bit bland, where the instructor reads the entire contents of a slide for format files or program options, this is sometimes quite useless as you can read that yourself by... simply reading the slides.

Forums were not always very useful, sometimes solving error messages were supported by referring to the manual page, instead of actually bothering to look through the code for providing more constructive feedback on what goes wrong in a given example.

Instead, examples should be given which elaborates on the effects on chosen different parameters - like "If you want to make a local alignment, use the bla.bla option. However, beware that when using this, more errors are prone to be assigned...bla.bla.".

For the format, interesting columns in the format files in general are interesting, when looking for e.g. "amount of unique genes" etc.

By doing this, we would be helped better into understanding questions of the quizzes, while also delivering an even deeper understanding of the formats and tools.

автор: Onur S

19 февр. 2018 г.

I really struggled to complete this course. The extent of coverage of the topics is quite good, however this is a applied course and application part is lacking A LOT. The biggest drawback here is that the instructors demonstrations are not accessible to learners. This limits the learning experience so much that you get stuck even at the easiest question in a module exam. Some questions in the exams really require the learner to think and do google searches to figure out a strategy to answer the question (this is a good thing, though). However, it can be very easy to get bogged down and lose focus while figuring out what's going wrong. It is advised to visit discussion forums before taking module exams. I think you should not expect to master the presented tools after finishing the course, but you will still get a decent understanding of them

автор: Emil C F

3 февр. 2020 г.

Great inclusion in the specialization. I never knew anything about shell until now and I feel like I can use a lot of things from the course in my day-to-day data treatment/processing tasks. I am only giving 3 stars because I spend about 40-50% of the time troubleshooting technical things. The CentOS Vmbox is a great idea but that hardly worked for me (it interfaced weird with OSX and I could get it to understand my keyboard layout, shared folders did not work either) and was a source of frustration. One suggestion for the course would be to help the student verify the initial data set before completing all the analyses on it ... e.g. in the reading section mention the length of the output or similar. Twice I filled out an entire exam "correctly" but had the wrong initial output. You don't learn a lot from that but it does take a long time.

автор: Manuela L

7 мая 2021 г.

This course is a good introduction to using command line if you're a complete beginner. However, this course needs a total update (this is the most outdated course I have taken in the specialization so far). Most of the tools used are already deprecated (TopHat, Cufflinks) but you still need them to pass the exams. Finally, there is no interaction in the forum and no answer to the messages, so you will have zero help from the staff. If you need to earn a course certificate, do not take the course. I am still surprised coursera charges for this course.