Chevron Left
Вернуться к General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Отзывы учащихся о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application от партнера Университет Райса

4.6
Оценки: 263
Рецензии: 65

О курсе

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Лучшие рецензии

ZK

Aug 29, 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 64 отзывов о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

автор: Lord L A

Apr 14, 2018

excellent course. Gives basic concepts that one must learn.

автор: 刘诗凡

May 13, 2018

Great

автор: Sidharth D

Oct 03, 2015

Excellently delivered..... High clarity and focus on concepts

автор: Andres C P V

Mar 11, 2018

excellent, thank you

автор: Alfonso M P

Jan 07, 2016

I thank the organizers for this well-structured Chemistry course. I was sometimes overwhelmed by the amount of information given but I guess this is due to the condensation process that had to be carried out in order to impart the contents in 11 weeks. Otherwise I would have appreciated to have more exercises resolved during the lessons and to get a sheet with all the formula used during the course...Thank you again.

автор: Kelly H

Jan 25, 2017

Nice !! Thank you very much

автор: 胡启涛

Aug 23, 2016

Excellent course. There are many questions to think.

автор: Alma D

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent challenge!

автор: Zillah K

Aug 29, 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

автор: Deleted A

Sep 10, 2017

Great course!! Very helpful and intresting method of study.

автор: Rhiannon A

Oct 06, 2015

I took this class as a chemistry review for my MCAT and really liked the concept development approach. As an undergraduate, I learned a lot of these concepts by memorization but never made the connections or the thorough understanding as I did after taking this course. Thanks!

автор: Deleted A

Apr 06, 2016

Although I have studied chemistry in Hungary, but from this point of view of chemistry teaching was interesting. The demostration of perfomarnces was colorful, itemized and the two art of chemistry teaching could learn from each other.

автор: David K C

Jun 28, 2016

Excellent choice of general chem topics. I used this course to review certain topics on the MCAT. The Acid-Base & equilibrium sections were very helpful. Prof. Hutchinson is a very engaging instructor. Aside from his detailed lectures, his notes were very clear and easy to follow.

автор: José L D D

Feb 11, 2017

Excelente

автор: Mohamed Y A

Oct 03, 2017

Thank you all

автор: John H

Feb 09, 2016

Fantastic approach to concepts. Excellent instructor.

автор: Fernando d S M

Oct 26, 2015

Very Very good, if you want to learn something just try these classes !!!

автор: Tripat S

Sep 18, 2016

The best course to grasp the fundamentals of chemistry

автор: Christophe S

Aug 31, 2015

Excellent course, pleasant to listen to. Definitely improved my understanding of chemistry.

автор: Bandyatuyaga M

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

автор: augustin m k

Sep 06, 2018

it's was good for me

автор: M.R.T.

Jun 17, 2019

Perfect MOOC

автор: Adrian R

Jun 21, 2019

I am using this as a review of General Chemistry to prepare for the MCAT and it is so helpful! The approach when I took it during class was very rote-memorization-heavy and I was worse off for it. Prof. Hutchinson lays things out in a very logical way and all the learning is based on key questions that a curious learner would likely find themselves asking; all the "why" questions you might have while learning Gen Chem are answered and not brushed off with a "just memorize it." It does probably help some that I was exposed to this material once already but I am retaining so much more than when I took this course in college or even than when I was going through the ExamKrackers MCAT Chemistry book. So much gratitude!

автор: KARTHIK K

Aug 20, 2019

Awesome

автор: Keith S

Dec 16, 2018

Very clear explanations, well presented.