Chevron Left
Вернуться к General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Отзывы учащихся о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application от партнера Университет Райса

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 565
Рецензии: 151

О курсе

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Лучшие рецензии

ZK
28 авг. 2015 г.

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM
1 окт. 2018 г.

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 148 отзывов о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

автор: Leonor P A J

28 февр. 2017 г.

muy bueno

автор: José L D D

11 февр. 2017 г.

Excelente

автор: Johnny S

29 дек. 2016 г.

Excelente

автор: EMMANUEL N

23 мар. 2019 г.

exallent

автор: KARTHIK K

20 авг. 2019 г.

Awesome

автор: 刘诗凡

13 мая 2018 г.

Great

автор: VICTOR F Y A

12 сент. 2015 г.

buena

автор: Deleted A

25 окт. 2015 г.

good

автор: Steven M J M

23 окт. 2015 г.

G

автор: David D

14 мар. 2020 г.

I took the course "General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application" from Dec 2019 - Mar 2020. I found this to be an excellent course on many levels. First, I thought the educational theory of the course was outstanding. Beginning each unit with empirical data, building from these to create a model (inductive reasoning), and then applying/adapting the model to answer questions/solve problems (deductive reasoning), was fantastic. I took general chemistry for the first time 40 years ago, and was taught using a strictly deductive reasoning approach - and honestly I really didn't like chemistry all that much. It seemed stale and boring. To my great surprise however I found that when I became a practicing chemist in industry, I totally loved chemistry! This love has deepened and broadened throughout my career. I applaud Prof. Hutchinson on creating this course and making it available on Coursera.

Second, I think the course structure was outstanding. It seems to me that the entire course aim was to get the student to understand that at equilibrium, delta G^0 = -RTlnKp. Each unit in the course introduced data and theories which led to this powerful relationship between thermodynamics and equilibrium. I relearned concepts and equations from my past and came to understand and appreciate them in new ways.

I could not give the course 5 stars however due to the many errors I found throughout. There were errors in what was said in the lectures, errors in what was hand written in the lectures, and most importantly errors in quiz questions and answers. Some of the quiz questions had no correct answer option at all. Other quiz questions/answers were very poorly worded. Fortunately I had a chemistry career to fall back up when confronted with these errors. However I have concern for those taking this course as their very first introduction to chemistry. It could be very frustrating and confusing to these individuals. A thorough review and correction of the course lectures and quizzes would be most beneficial.

Despite these limitations - I heartily recommend this course to any wishing to get an introduction to fundamental chemistry concepts and principles. It allows the student the understand where our current understanding of chemistry came from and how this is applied in current chemical research.

автор: Anastasiia E

29 апр. 2020 г.

The lectures are great but something is really wrong with the quizzes. Sometimes you find in the test for week N a question which is to be covered only in week N+1. Often the questions are just unclear.

However, if you accept this fact as given and don't care too much about you score for the course, you may learn quite a lot. The concept development approach indeed promote a qualitative understanding and the material in the lectures is provided well and clearly. Simply the lector is good in explaining.

The quizzes are messed up (huge contrast with the lectures!) but they still made me to think and to recap what I have learned, so it is useful. This wasn't my first Chemistry course. I took it to straighten my understanding and it served the purpose very well.

If you only start learning Chemistry, you probably want better quizzes to monitor your progress.

автор: Cliff S

23 окт. 2016 г.

Excellent introduction to Chemistry, focused on models which allow you to understand all of the empirical rules/laws. However, it appears to be an older course and some of the quizzes were effected by Cousera upgrades and they are corrupted and some questions can't be answered (as in some cases there are actually no choices given!).

автор: Edmund E

21 мая 2020 г.

The calculations questions need practice questions within the material rather than just in the assessment components otherwise excellent.

автор: hakan b

11 февр. 2017 г.

How can i get certificate please

автор: John R

3 авг. 2020 г.

I didn't Recieve Certificate after completion

автор: Lesli F

24 сент. 2015 г.

While the visual set up is well thought out (you can see the instructor, slides and writing space, the setup of course materials is too stringent for the beginning chemist. More time seems to be needed focusing on the basics of chemistry and chemistry math (such as how to read CH4, sig figs, etc) prior to testing on stoichiometry.

автор: vinit n k

8 июня 2020 г.

first they tell there is a certificate then they wont provide it this isnt fair...........

автор: Kathleen P

15 нояб. 2015 г.

Too many mistakes in the math. I dropped after a week

автор: MR. N P

20 июня 2020 г.

I think this is the biggest platforms to learn at home by the COURSERA. And I hope u guys get such a wonderful details about CONCEPT DEVELOPMENT knowledge for those people who actually wants to make different from the different.

Thanks to Prof.Hutchiston who spread their anormous knowledge of Basic Chemistry.

автор: Alnardo T

29 окт. 2020 г.

the lessons is related to so much on a highschool lesson because of that , i can keep up with the lesson and i'm not find it difficult to misunderstanding the video lesson. But sometimes the quiz is not hard or not easy just normal, in addition to the quiz is so easy and so hard on the other lesson.

автор: Jimmy O

30 июля 2020 г.

Very well presented course with an excellent free textbook to study with. My only complaint is that the quizzes sometimes include questions from chapters outside of the section, but I'm still giving 5 stars because the quality of everything else is so good.

автор: Malcolm W

24 мая 2020 г.

The second half is not as polished as the first half. However, I still found this useful as this encourages engaged learning and worked well with the constructivist philosophy of the course. Overall, an excellent experience.

автор: Ugbosu F O

21 июля 2020 г.

I'm really happy about my success in this course, at first it was looking bulky but now I'm done, not just done but I've also acquired so many skills on this course.

A big thank you to everyone at RICE and Coursera.

автор: Ritchelle A P

11 окт. 2020 г.

i would like ti thank my instructor for having this kind of lecture.. chemistry is one of my favourite subjects during my junior high school. it is indeed an amazing experience to gather learnings about chemistry

автор: Aaron J S M

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Hello! This rating reflects how great the course is! I just need to acquire my Certificate, I thought it was given automatically after the course. Please do tell me ASAP if I need to do something for it.