Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender от партнера Мельбурнский университет

4.6
stars
Оценки: 277
Рецензии: 59

О курсе

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Лучшие рецензии

E

Sep 12, 2019

I'm really enthused with the lesson cause I feel I had a general view before about this subject and now I m approaching the core. It;s been an issue that I was thinking a lot the last 2 years.

NM

Aug 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Gives you insights on how gender played an important role in the arts. Also how to differentiate and read work on sexuality and gender.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 59 отзывов о курсе Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

автор: María C T

Oct 03, 2017

Great teachers! Good select of artists for the course and definitely interesting gender emphasis!

автор: Rose S

Mar 26, 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

автор: Tijana V

May 17, 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies

автор: sara

Dec 16, 2017

Great academic approach to the Gender discussion widening my horizon.

автор: Nataliya

Dec 22, 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

автор: Anne D

Jun 24, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it.

автор: abigail c

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

автор: Florie L

Feb 21, 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

автор: Laura F

Apr 24, 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

автор: Bernardino A O

Jan 22, 2017

A great course lead by very good teachers.

автор: Rosangela B

Aug 24, 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

автор: Armin D

May 29, 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!

автор: Bart S

Jun 27, 2016

outstanding, do it again!

автор: Steve B

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent in every way

автор: Ana F

Oct 23, 2018

Excellent course!

автор: Germán G A

Dec 05, 2016

Great Course!

автор: aybige t

Jul 06, 2016

E

автор: Olga L P R

Dec 11, 2018

I have learned about the codes of sexuality and gender through this course. Tests are a bit difficult but it depends on which is your best mental trend. You need lots of memory and find the exact words to answer the questions. Some can be tricky, some you can't understand them much well. However, the main conclusion is the world of art has a lot of this sexuality element and you feel the course gets short about it, but you get the ability to find it. I believe you should use it to find the codes in your local art museum.

автор: Alina L

Dec 31, 2016

I learned a lot from this course! I loved how analytical it was and it was great to learn about the historical contexts of gender on the canvas. It has already made some of my museum visits much more interesting and thought-provoking. I will say that at times it would be difficult to follow the lecturers is the only issue I had with this course. Otherwise it was awesome.

автор: Christie

Jul 21, 2017

This is a stimulating and accessible course that challenges your thinking. I appreciated how it had such global and historical outlooks, casting a net wide across the globe and including pre-20th-century and contemporary works of art. The questions asked pricked one's curiosity.

автор: Kathryn

Jun 13, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. An added bonus--I now understand what "sensibility" really means as related to the novel, Sense & Sensibility" by Jane Austen. I hope this team comes up with a part 2 or another class.

автор: Priscila Q

Sep 13, 2017

This course is great, except for the last part about the australian aborigen art. It's SO difficult for us -non english speakers- to understand this classes. The rest of the course is excellent!

автор: Likhitha B

Jul 01, 2017

The gradual depiction of gender since conventions were flouted and refinements textured was portrayed brilliantly from the pastoral paintings to Indigent 21st century works.

автор: Kristen H

May 17, 2017

Very interesting content and insights. I would have liked a bit more of an intro on gender theory and concepts relating to art before jumping into the artwork.

автор: James S

Jan 27, 2017

Good course. Coming from a traditional art historical context/content. Which is still a very valuable methodology in this age of "Visual Culture"! Thank you.