Chevron Left
Вернуться к Business of Games and Entrepreneurship

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Business of Games and Entrepreneurship от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.4
Оценки: 695
Рецензии: 134

О курсе

As well as a form of art and entertainment, games are about business. Whether you want to work at a game studio, start your own business or make games as a hobby, recognizing the dynamic landscape of the videogame industry is critical to finding your place. This course will introduce you to game production, project management, teamwork skills, and how to position your game ideas and yourself in the broader marketplace. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an impactful portfolio of game work to get noticed and/or develop an effective business plan to bring your game to market....

Лучшие рецензии

AA

Jun 05, 2016

A 'must' for everyone! Entrepreneurship is something unique, is not for everyone but can be reached with some effort. A course that can be applied to all areas. Nice experience.

RD

Jan 31, 2017

I am grateful to Coursera and MSU for this great leaning opportunity.Thanks Coursera and MSU for providing me such a great learning opportunity.Rafi Ud Din-Pakistan.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 131 отзывов о курсе Business of Games and Entrepreneurship

автор: Alberto A d S J

Jun 07, 2017

Good course

автор: Daniel M

May 05, 2016

Great content and great teacher. But I found the assignments and the quizzes not that great. I reckon the questions and corrections were a bit subjective and time consuming.

автор: Brian S P J

Jun 16, 2018

A very helpful, and somewhat depressing, course for people interested in learning the monetary side of the video game business. The lessons learned are very helpful for people interested in pitching game ideas and possibly starting their own business/studio. The depressing part is when it sinks in that video game creation is a multi-million dollar project unless you're resourceful and can do things at or near free.

автор: Nicholas D P

Feb 23, 2016

Very good course, I learned a considerable amount from it.

автор: Anders H

Jan 24, 2016

Very well designed and thought through.

A lot of information that you can continue to develop by yourself.

It gives you the tools and talks about processes which you need to surround yourself with.

The only thing I lacked was a bit more in depth for some of the latter assignments. Having a template would both be distracting, but also give you some examples on what the level needed would to be to be able to pass the assignments.

автор: Ugo N

May 04, 2017

I liked some of the homework sets on this chapter.

автор: Ricardo M

Dec 06, 2016

Excellent introduction to the business of games. Opened my eyes to just how much I have to think about when I decide to make a game development team.

автор: Rui M R H

Nov 10, 2017

While I did not enjoy this course per se, it was essential so I could better understand the game industry. Some US-centric perspectives do not drive anybody out of scope. I was able to understand and compare the equivalents in Europe. What I would improve would be some quiz questions. Some tend to be confusing, and even misleading in some cases. But overall, recommended.

автор: Dominik K

Feb 16, 2017

well done

автор: Sam M

Oct 12, 2016

I find the course material at Coursera all very good. What is lacking is the peer review system. I understand that there is no way they could offer these courses at these prices. It is however the only reservation I have.

автор: Erlend D S

Oct 21, 2019

Boring but very useful.

автор: solange m u

Nov 07, 2017

I miss some master class about Monetization and in-app Purchases with real samples or an assignment related to.

автор: Fahad M

Dec 15, 2015

This is a good course, but being a professional in the software industry, I know many of the teachings described here. It was still a good refresher to have.

автор: Chanchana S

Oct 11, 2016

This course is too broad and specific to USA.

автор: Robyn L

Dec 26, 2015

The information in this course was valuable, but the assignments were poorly integrated with the course. The types of documents assigned were either not covered or barely covered in the course leaving the students to guess what was expected. For one assignment the provided template left off a section required in the grading criteria. The quizes were also poorly tied to the lecture material and some of the questions were ambiguous. There were several quizes were a single wrong answer resulted in having to take the quiz over.

автор: Jose I G S

Jun 04, 2017

The lessons had nothing to do with the weekly assignments

автор: Seth L

Feb 17, 2016

I wasn't that impressed. I did learn a lot about business types and copyright stuff, but it seemed like the assignments had nothing to do with the course material.

автор: Marco T T C

Mar 26, 2016

This course tries to address problems that might arise from game development. It's not an approach to the accounting problems, like finances, a game company may have, but mostly an approach to the bureaucratic problems of creating and publishing a game. It also provides knowledge about monetization pratices and publishing pratices, warning the future game developer how a publish may inadvertently "throw a wrench in the works" of game development.

автор: Juler H

Nov 07, 2016

I didn't enjoy this course as much as the others. Particularly due to the fact that I am only looking for hands on knowledge on how to develop a game and not create a business around it.

автор: Ayman H

Feb 13, 2016

Beginner course. Well designed, but not for advanced game developers.

автор: Alon A

May 29, 2018

adequate

автор: Benhur O J

Apr 17, 2019

Much better lectures however the project assignments are a little bit out of topic considering the information cover by the videos. It would be more practical to show some examples in one of the videos.

автор: Fabricio N B

Jan 02, 2016

The course was very superficial, mostly with tips and hints.

It's good to be aware that the option for performing the quizes and tasks were unavailable, making it hard to evaluate the experience of the course fully.

автор: Viola B

Aug 14, 2016

Too US focused.

автор: Mok K F

Dec 03, 2015

This course tries to cover the many aspects around the games industry. But the coverage in each of the subject is not deep enough to be useful. For example, the instructor talks about project management, public speaking, how to write a resume etc. The instructor starts by talking about why they are useful, and then followed by one to two 10-15 minutes long video lectures. Each of these could worth a full Coursera course and I am sure the other courses have better coverage than in this course.

The quiz questions are not well thought and do not stimulate thinking at all. Some of the "correct" answers are personal opinions but you have to choose them in order to pass the quiz.

The third peer grading assessment asks students to post a video either to pitch himself/herself or to pitch the game the student makes. However, the specialization up to this point does not equip student with the skills beyond the basics. Unless you are already in the industry, I do not think anyone can make anything impressive to be worth pitching in front of the audience.