Chevron Left
Вернуться к Business of Games and Entrepreneurship

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Business of Games and Entrepreneurship от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.4
Оценки: 683
Рецензии: 131

О курсе

As well as a form of art and entertainment, games are about business. Whether you want to work at a game studio, start your own business or make games as a hobby, recognizing the dynamic landscape of the videogame industry is critical to finding your place. This course will introduce you to game production, project management, teamwork skills, and how to position your game ideas and yourself in the broader marketplace. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an impactful portfolio of game work to get noticed and/or develop an effective business plan to bring your game to market....

Лучшие рецензии

AA

Jun 05, 2016

A 'must' for everyone! Entrepreneurship is something unique, is not for everyone but can be reached with some effort. A course that can be applied to all areas. Nice experience.

RD

Jan 31, 2017

I am grateful to Coursera and MSU for this great leaning opportunity.Thanks Coursera and MSU for providing me such a great learning opportunity.Rafi Ud Din-Pakistan.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 128 отзывов о курсе Business of Games and Entrepreneurship

автор: Pola K Z F

Jun 22, 2019

Amazing course that put your hand on the basic of games within the modern business models

автор: Nikhil V T

Jul 24, 2019

It really was awesome. I've learned various new things which are totally unknown to me.

автор: Dmytro N

Feb 25, 2019

Pretty good course for general overview of the industry, legal and production sides of games.

автор: Jakob K

Dec 05, 2018

Just Fantastic

автор: andraž g

Feb 26, 2019

Coveres about 80% off business side. It lacks marketing and differenct campaings for starting your game conpany or strategyes for getting funds.

автор: Samuel R R

Apr 15, 2016

So far so good!

автор: Nenad N

Mar 12, 2016

Course assignments have nothing to do with the lectures. Most of the assignments could have been copy-pasted stuff from the previous course in this specialization. Same as with previous course - review point organization leaves too many space for individual opinions. Assignment with a video clip is something I didn't expect at all. I had to download a bunch of free software to make it, and I didn't make it good enough, because I'm not skilled in using those programs. Of course, it then reflected my average score, because review point system is too much oriented toward personal opinions of others. I felt this course gave me the least out of this specialization, and I also felt this course scratched a lot of things, but didn't quite get into many details that could have been mentioned (maybe even instead of the assignments that were quite dull to me). There is a section of clips that is a bit useless to those outside of USA. Unlike previous course, this one was at least doable inside the expected work hours / week (except for the video assignment which took me a bit more), and that's why I'll give it 1 point higher than previous course.

This review might sound a bit harsh, even though it's not the intention. With a bit of polishing, it could become really great, but it really could use some of the improvements I have mentioned above.

автор: William H R

Apr 07, 2016

The Good

> A lot of content

> Provided a lot of outside reading material

> Passionate professor

> A lot of good refreshers (about CVs, teamwork, business practices)

Suggestions

> I hope in the future more time could be spent on monetization theories and practices

> More emphasis on mobile games (as much as I dislike them)

> Maybe some type of "case study" examples about games from conceptualization to publishing

автор: Matheus G L

Sep 30, 2016

The course content is good, although it is very "USA centered". It is very good for people with small experience in the professional market, no just the games area, but all areas.

Casey is a great teacher, he makes boring stuff be less boring.

The only negative point of the course are the assignments. Again, like in the previous course, the assignments are too subjective, too personal, hard to do and evaluate.

Unlike last course (Game Design), I really recommend this one, useful stuff.

автор: Nikolaos B

Mar 18, 2016

It was good and useful to get a better idea about the industry

автор: Rubens Y

Dec 23, 2015

Very interesting course in the business aspects of video gaming. Perhaps a little bit basic (for undergrads) but it has an awesome experience

автор: Debora v b

Mar 29, 2016

The material was interesting and the professor was engaging to watch. But unlike other Coursera courses, I never did see any replies from a staff member to any of the questions posted on the forums. Other professors on Coursera reply to threads themselves or have a TA reply for them. I understand that one person may not be able to reply to all threads if the forum is active. But at least those asking questions to get clarification about the assignments should be answered. The class forum was not very active during this session and could have been easily watched more closely by one person.

автор: Anders H

Jan 24, 2016

Very well designed and thought through.

A lot of information that you can continue to develop by yourself.

It gives you the tools and talks about processes which you need to surround yourself with.

The only thing I lacked was a bit more in depth for some of the latter assignments. Having a template would both be distracting, but also give you some examples on what the level needed would to be to be able to pass the assignments.

автор: Timothy V

Jan 01, 2016

This course is good for someone that's interested in starting up a company - for video game development or really any kind of self-employed, consulting, freelance or even small business company. I've been self-employed for 15+ years and can honestly say I didn't learn anything that I hadn't already known. But my experiences in entrepreneurship and this course both are similar in content, meaning the class is a good resource for those who don't know where to start.

автор: Kendal B N

Jun 07, 2017

Some business content but more of an overview of the wacky culture of Game Companies. It does get student to try and think about the realites of trying to make a game a financial success.

автор: Eduardo D Z F

Aug 06, 2016

Awesome course! But I think It was a very short course. I wish it had more content.

Very expensive course for this amount of content...still I really like it =).

автор: Arturo E

Jan 12, 2016

I liked the course, it was not just about business with games but all the soft aspects related to making games as well as the ones more related with creating the company an so forth.

I enjoyed the course very much.

автор: Carlos M

Feb 02, 2016

I believe the final assignment should be a Business Plan for a Game Developer Company. It would sum up all that we learned throughout the course!

автор: René S K

Feb 14, 2016

Great course. Unfortunately it is not so in the deep as hoped.

автор: Dominik K

Feb 16, 2017

well done

автор: Ricardo M

Dec 06, 2016

Excellent introduction to the business of games. Opened my eyes to just how much I have to think about when I decide to make a game development team.

автор: Sam M

Oct 12, 2016

I find the course material at Coursera all very good. What is lacking is the peer review system. I understand that there is no way they could offer these courses at these prices. It is however the only reservation I have.

автор: Nicholas D P

Feb 23, 2016

Very good course, I learned a considerable amount from it.

автор: Brian S P J

Jun 16, 2018

A very helpful, and somewhat depressing, course for people interested in learning the monetary side of the video game business. The lessons learned are very helpful for people interested in pitching game ideas and possibly starting their own business/studio. The depressing part is when it sinks in that video game creation is a multi-million dollar project unless you're resourceful and can do things at or near free.

автор: Xiaoxiong X

Dec 22, 2015

Game video pitch is the most interesting assignment. I have got chance to see other students' ideas.