Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Game Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Game Design от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,561
Рецензии: 446

О курсе

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Лучшие рецензии

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

YX

Dec 06, 2015

This course inspire me a lot. It is not easy, but with tons of fun. I spent a long time to think out the idea and make it and improve it. I did progress in gaming making as a fresh man. Thank you!

Фильтр по:

401–425 из 430 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Game Design

автор: Luiz F R

Nov 12, 2015

Good course!

автор: Amaranta G R

Jan 22, 2016

Really fun

автор: Alexander R

May 03, 2016

g

автор: Gabriel A

Sep 28, 2015

M

автор: Nicholas V

Oct 22, 2017

The information that is taught here is basic common knowledge that a five minute youtube video could teach you. I enjoyed the style and categorization of video lectures, moveover the instructor is easy to learn from and quite an entertaining fellow. On the other hand, like many courses on this site it suffers from anonomous 'peer-reviews' which can be very frustrating. I like to work at a quick pace, however I could not work how I wanted because peer feedback is required to build on your assignments. If I could make a suggestion to the course moderators I would say " Please increase the required amount of reviews you need to complete from three to at least five, because there are not enough willing people to review work. I had to post on the forms in order to recieve a grade on time" Over all this course left me with a bad taste in my mouth I am not sure if I will continue into the specialization if it will continue to be this frustrating.

автор: Meredith G

Apr 03, 2017

This is a great course due to the well designed and produced videos, peer feedback feature and structure of the course. However, I feel that the lack of input from CALARTS is the drawback. I have been in other courses in Coursera and have found the input from tutors really reassuring because I am getting expert feedback. If courses like this are to be continuously supported by Coursera clients/students, this kind of feedback is critical. If certificates achieved through Coursera are known to be only peer reviewed, such certificates will not carry weight and be recognised by other organisations/employers.

автор: Gianmarco D

Oct 11, 2017

The course is great and I had a lot of fun experimenting with the assignments and trying to come up with different ideas. There's a big problem though, and it revolves around the fact that the course is now followed by a small number of students and the teaching staff is absent, emerging from the shadows just to drop a few answers on the forum every now and then. The course need more love, as the assignments aren't always clear and some support could be of help to students. Anyway, the content is great and it is tuned well to the beginners level.

автор: Juan D M

Feb 13, 2016

The course is fun and a very intresting approach to game design throug board game design. You get good tips for designing games and the different and important things to know. Though I think it could go deeper into some topics and explain a little more beyond just giving examples, videos are good but a little short, each week is roughly 20 minutes long each. Even though I really liked it and got the best of it .

автор: Carolyne E F

Jan 27, 2017

Although a neat idea, I was a little disappointing to find that over the course of 4 weeks we'd only be creating and adding to a small paper game. I was hoping for something a little more in depth. And although I don't disagree that this course provided some wonderful input to creating a game, I felt that it was something that could have been done in a single lesson.

автор: Daniel D

Dec 03, 2018

The videos are excellent and the teacher demonstrate vast knowledge in the area. But, I miss a more professional feedback on our submissions, sometimes it doesn't help at all, we're basically doing it by our own all the time, I believe the results could be even better with a better guidance.

автор: Cristobal H

Jan 16, 2016

I know that the title says "introduction", but I felt it was to basic...I liked the approach of the homeworks, but I missed more reading material or more sources to explore...also, being an introduction to game design, I think many issues froom game design were not touched.

автор: Ramon M L

Feb 19, 2016

It felt few content, i think there could be more content in this course. Though i have to say i learn new stuff, but i which it had more content to learn more.

автор: Deborah M M

Nov 19, 2015

A whimsical introduction to game design and the springboard for a Specialization Certificate, therefore important to take.

автор: Dimitris K

Aug 13, 2016

A quite simple beginning, might end up being a little bit too simple. The future looks promising, though!

автор: Leah O

Jan 09, 2017

It was ok for what it was. It is a very brief introduction. Fun teacher, but very limited information.

автор: Jeffrey B

Dec 09, 2016

Good introduction course. Perhaps a bit light on material... reviews from others are very helpful!

автор: Sergey F

Jul 19, 2017

very simple, only some basics and a lot of "water" material. I don't see reasons to pay for this

автор: Daniel

Feb 24, 2016

Very little content. Most of the value comes from working on games for the assignments.

автор: Paul B

Oct 28, 2015

Fun course, not much depth.

автор: Maeve B

Feb 16, 2016

This course, though fun, was not intensive at all. The main issue I have is probably with the Coursera structure itself. Many of your homework assignments are based off of if people can understand the instructions of the game- which, if you have mostly non-English speakers, sort of takes the homework from being "be creative and challenge yourself" to "make sure everything you write down is 3 words max or else the people GRADING you won't understand it". This is also true when looking at these students' games- when half of your grade depends on your clarity, these kids are ultimately at a disadvantage. I'm sure there were amazing games made by some of the non-English speaking students, but I wasn't able to understand and play many of them. It is fantastic that Coursera is open to everyone, but when your grades are based off of clarity of language, it gets tricky.

автор: Varsha A V

Jan 31, 2016

The lectures tend to be a bit boring. However the hands on assignments give great insight into understanding the basic concepts of game design and narration.

автор: Rebekah c

Oct 05, 2015

idk its not what i expected. i really want to start with actually making a computer game not a paper game

автор: Richard H

Oct 21, 2015

The instructor is good but the amount of content is severely lacking compared to alternatives.

автор: Alexander P

Oct 19, 2017

Not enough content for a paid course

автор: Keone M

Feb 09, 2016

Enjoyable but limited content