Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 25,073
Рецензии: 7,279

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

GG

7 окт. 2021 г.

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

NF

5 дек. 2020 г.

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Фильтр по:

5876–5900 из 7,327 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Yulin A H

20 авг. 2021 г.

y

автор: Thilagavathi T

19 авг. 2021 г.

8

автор: Sumaiya b

25 июля 2021 г.

w

автор: Nivetha N

23 июня 2021 г.

i

автор: Michelle R

18 июня 2021 г.

автор: Leticia A d L

1 июня 2021 г.

B

автор: karla S F G

10 апр. 2021 г.

.

автор: Inês L

16 мая 2020 г.

G

автор: Chi W Y

9 апр. 2019 г.

d

автор: gustavoa_pc@hotmail.com

17 нояб. 2017 г.

e

автор: chaitram

5 июня 2017 г.

v

автор: sandi h

11 окт. 2016 г.

I

автор: pleun

10 авг. 2016 г.

H

автор: Berenice S

12 февр. 2016 г.

I

автор: Galaxzy L

27 янв. 2016 г.

E

автор: Jeane A

26 янв. 2016 г.

T

автор: Lanese F

18 янв. 2016 г.

E

автор: Christina Y

7 июля 2020 г.

this course is absolutely amazing. I love the videos, the structure of the course, and how Maya Adam explained everything so clearly and concise. I also really appreciate those interviews with Michael Pollan and I agree with what he said: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants". This course has taught me a lot in a very short amount of time. I also love how the course includes a list of recipes in week 5, these are amazing. I love cooking and I love living a healthy lifestyle. I'm absolutely going to try some of the recipes!

I think it will be better to include more examples or data from other parts of the world instead of just the U.S.. I am aware that this is a Stanford course, but since it's on Coursera and there are many people from other countries that are attending to this course, it will definitely benefit them more by providing more information regarding food and health of other countries. Also I think it might be better to level up the course a little bit. Despite it being an introduction for beginners, half of the content are actually common sense (or maybe just for me, I always pay attention to the food I eat so maybe unconsciously I already knew some knowledge about food and health). But it will be great to have a more advanced course regarding the topic.

Food and health is, I would say, the most important thing in life that people should pay attention to. However, so many people just ignore what they eat everyday and don't care about their health. There are also a lot of misunderstandings about what healthy food means and what should people eat when they are on a diet. I really want to help people around me to have a better diet and lifestyle, and hopefully one day I will be able to help more and more people that I don't know of through internet.

Thank you Maya and Coursera.

автор: Bart V

23 окт. 2017 г.

The course is nicely presented with clear speakers. It gives a good and basic overview of what includes healthy foods and the problem with processed foods. The use of visual aids in the form of pictures, graphs and short video clips definitely works well with this kind of topic. As an introduction or reminder of good eating habits, this course does its job just fine.

However, I did expect more depth. The source material was very short and simple, and the few academic parts (such as the graphics charts and chemical bonds making up some of the nutrients) were quickly glossed over. This also led to many quiz-questions being almost trivial because the answer was pretty much impossible to get wrong. For example, there are many questions of the following kind: "Q: What is true about vegetables? A: 1.They contain a variety of healthy nutrients. 2. It's better to eat only meat. 3. Processed foods are far healthier. 4. They contain extreme amounts of calories. 5. Supplements are much more effective sources of vitamins." These kinds of questions do not add any value to the assignment in my opinion. I felt that a little more depth at least would be good (without having to go overboard), and maybe some extra scientific articles (the extra suggested material are all full books, which is a lot to plow through).

However, since I understand the course is not meant to be an 8-week academic investment but an introduction to get people interested in topics concerning food and food habits, this course does a fine job of that, and I like the enthusiasm of the speakers! And they do often provide the simple material with statistics, which is good.

автор: Carole A

8 апр. 2022 г.

This course is basic and definitely targetted to American people. I'm French, living in the UK, married and mother of 2 young teenagers. In my house, we do eat moderately for pleasure and cook from scratch at every meal (some meals take 15min to make!) . I personnally cook meat or fish or egg once, sometimes twice a week for my family and rarely buy cured meat. I cook mainly plant based meals with the goal of eating tasty food that we all enjoy or experience. I wasn't aware that I was doing the right thing which is nice to discover. Here, most people talk about "healthy food"; I grew up in a culture we simply talk about food and what to cook, nopt wether if it's healthy or not, but our food is looking like "food" in its original form. Despite this course being quite basic, I enjoyed it as it is always good to be reminded; it also gave me a good idea at why the United-States were in an obesity crisis: I didn't expect their supermarket to sell as much convenient and processed food. I hope that the food industry will change in the future so people can become as healthy, mobile, pain free and happy as they deserve to be, without giant corporations making millions selling processed food. Healthy food is the medicine that everybody needs, not the one sold by the pharmaceutical industry.

автор: Beatriz E

7 апр. 2020 г.

Kudos to the content itself and everything (especially the video editing) but...

It lacks something like, as a nutrition student, it needs further introduction to just food and health. I was expecting like the science behind all those nutrients, or computing the number of nutrients be needed in a single day but alas, this is a 50-50 mood to me. I knew almost half of it because it was tackled before. But it kinda sets up as a more of a "nutrition counseling" to me but without the proved studies. Lastly, I feel left out when watching these videos because it sets up to an American setting (or Western diet) so kinda disappointed I guess for an international student.

In conclusion, the whole course is just 50% home economics and self-help, 40% relation of all food and health lessons to an American scenario, and 10% science.

Recommendations:

- More provided open discussions about the lessons because this sets up like a slice-of-life, common-sense whatsoever.

- Include problems also from international countries, not just the US set-up.

- More in-depth explanations of the nutrients and the concept of nutrition

автор: Tannia F

9 мар. 2019 г.

Me gustaron mucho los videos y los contenidos. En general me pareció un curso bastante completo. A manera de crítica constructiva puedo decir que me sorprendió que a pesar de recomendar que la alimentación debería basarse mayormente en el consumo de vegetales y frutas, no presentaran más información ni recetas veganas. Pienso que el curso podría enriquecerse mucho con más contenidos que sustenten lo que dijeron en muchas ocasiones sobre el consumo de vegetales. Actualmente hay infinidad de fuentes de información confiable que demuestran que la mayor cantidad de enfermedades crónico degenerativas prevenibles tiene su origen en el consumo de productos de origen animal, además de los productos (que no son alimentos) procesados y el exceso de comida, como dijeron. Otra sugerencia que ayudaría a una mayor credibilidad, es contar con opiniones de otros expertos aparte de M. Pollan, pues parece como si fuera el único en la materia. Gracias :-)

автор: Arthur W

19 дек. 2019 г.

This is a very good overview of very positive steps towards a healthy diet. I would recommend it to people eating the SAD diet (Standard American Diet). The only really significant shortcoming is in the recipe section. While very well produced and Maya does an excellent job in the kitchen, pretty much every recipe has large amounts of refined sugars, as well as large amounts of added fat. I've long said that I can produce a tasty meal out of sawdust if you give me a good selection of fats and sugars as well as sodium. Perhaps there should be some suggestions for alternatives such as sauteing in vegetable broths or using things such as dates (or even date sugar) for sweeteners. It was nice to see some optional reading and videos such as eating animals and Forks Over Knives included in the mix.

Overall a very good introductory course to a healthier lifestyle and eating!

автор: Birinder K

15 сент. 2017 г.

This course was very helpful for me to realize why it is imperative to change from packaged processed food to 'real food'. Explanations and discussions are to the point, and cover the relevant topic in a manner that is not only highly informative but also interesting. Each of the videos in a module are short enough to ensure that you are not bored.

I will highly recommend all the home makers and parents - with small children, growing or grown ups - to go through this course. So many times we unintentionally end up feeding our kids with foods which are so harmful for their health. More often than not it is because we are not aware of the high risk of packaged and fast food.

This course has helped me to really rethink the food that we have at home.

Thank you.

автор: Liliana M B B

21 мар. 2022 г.

Efectivamente es un curso de introduccion. Me hubiese gustado un enfoque mas "plant based", considerando que los lacteos son buenos para el ternero pero NO para el humano ( ademas de las toxinas como el pus),la cantidad exagerada de azucar por la lactosa y el colesterol, etc; el pollo esta cargado de hormonas y antobioticos y la carne de res... bueno tiene tantisimos problemas ademas de hormonas y antibioticos... me decepciona un poco que aun pensemos en alimentacion saludable sin considerar que esos ingredientes deben salir o moderarse significativamente... no lacteos, no carnes=nocolesterol!!! e incluirse opciones vegetales de calidad. Mas recetas con leguminosas y tofu... mas semillas como marañones y semillas de girasol!