Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 25,646
Рецензии: 7,428

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

JJ

22 янв. 2021 г.

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

NP

22 авг. 2021 г.

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

Фильтр по:

7076–7100 из 7,480 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Adalberto C

31 авг. 2016 г.

The topics discussed into this course are really interesting. The videos give some perspective at the time of taking care of our own health and eating habits.

The only problem I see, is the shortness of the course and the videos. The topics don't go beyond the surface and there is a lack of: details, examples, and comparisons between healthy diets and harmful ones.

автор: Ashley N

8 июля 2020 г.

I felt that the information in the course was well presented, however, it was a bit out of date. It seemed to be too careful not to offend or seem unreasonable at the expense of sharing science-based recommendations for a healthy diet. That being said, if one were going from the standard American diet to the diet recommended in this, they'd be much better off.

автор: Habiba B

15 февр. 2022 г.

The nutrition and food value are just brushed over, with the focus on teaching food behaviuors, i think this course is not suited to anyone with a european upbringing this is definetely targetted to the USA/Canada region where there is a tendency to eat mostly processed food....I had hope more info on nutrition and food values and macronutriants

автор: Maria S

24 апр. 2021 г.

Very general, basic information provided in the course. It is a very, very small introduction to a subject that is so vast. The last week is practical recipies ideas. Uselful ideas for shopping and laber reading. Not enough details on the food nutrients. The presentaions are very short, 5-9 minutes. More details needed to make it useful.

автор: Boya

4 янв. 2018 г.

The course is very introductory but well laid out. If you are already doing some readings on nutrition before this course, you will find more 50% of the course to be familiar. I really wish that the course is longer and have some more in-depth information, and possibly some more insights related to the various diet trends we see now.

автор: Adam R

23 янв. 2018 г.

It provides good and broad informations about nutrition but I was expected a few more details. I think that this course is more suitable for people who know nothing about nutrition, but maybe a little boring for the ones who already have the fundamentals. Well, in fact, everything is in the title... this is an introduction ! ;)

автор: Dahlia R

31 мая 2020 г.

Perhaps I went in with expectations that were too high. I found the format of this course to be very engaging and enjoyed the quizzes for evaluation, however the content was very elementary. Was looking to learn more about the science behind health and nutrition and less about the social aspects behind the Western Diet.

автор: Katie J

13 июня 2020 г.

This course is for complete beginners. The first week i learnt something about nutrition and was rather excited, the next few weeks, however, were so basic i don't know why one would need a course on that since it's such basic knowledge. Overall, the course is fine and the speaker, Maya, is a very nice presenter.

автор: Diana H F P

12 янв. 2018 г.

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

автор: Thomas C

23 нояб. 2016 г.

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

автор: kondapalli t

2 июля 2020 г.

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

автор: Ricardo C H

11 мая 2020 г.

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

автор: Makarova V A

18 июля 2021 г.

Среди тонны бесполезной информации промелькивали действительно полезные факты.

1. Пейте чистую воду много и заменяя любые другие напитки

2. Питайтесь с большим содержанием белков и жиров, а в виде углеводов предпочитайте две чашки овощей и столько же фруктов. Еда не переработанная - лучший выбор.

автор: Eric J

7 авг. 2020 г.

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

автор: Jayde F

17 апр. 2020 г.

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!

автор: Alexander U

4 сент. 2019 г.

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

автор: Aliona C

13 февр. 2016 г.

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

автор: Fiona V

29 апр. 2017 г.

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

автор: Cassi T

12 авг. 2016 г.

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

автор: Yoke D

8 апр. 2021 г.

If you have absolutely no prior knowledge about food I could see this course being beneficial. Nothing against the instructor; it was very well spoken and put together. I would have loved to have a little more nutritional science involved. This makes for an interesting documentary.

автор: Marvin B

1 сент. 2020 г.

Copied review which captures my experience: "Not actually a 'course' but a short series of very basic self-help videos with distracting background music throughout. 3 stars because it's a nice public service by Stanford but I personally was expecting a university-level course."

автор: Simran P

22 мая 2020 г.

The course was informative. However, i was very basic. Being a post graduate in food science and technology myself, I was looking for advance level. I have a suggestion as well, the background music was high which hindered the listening when the coaches were speaking. Thank you!

автор: Jennifer H

1 февр. 2016 г.

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

автор: Susan M M

1 сент. 2017 г.

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3