Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 25,117
Рецензии: 7,295

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

NP

22 авг. 2021 г.

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

TL

30 сент. 2016 г.

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Фильтр по:

5951–5975 из 7,341 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: James S

4 мая 2020 г.

This was a very interesting short course on Nutrition. Personally, I found the information surrounding methods to moderate eating habits the most interesting however i disagree with the 6 staple items to have at home. Having Oil, Sugar, and Salt as three of them doesn't seem to fit with the overall message of the course about consuming micro nutrient dense food then have sugars from intrinsic sources whilst looking at labels low in sodium.

автор: Nevine A

7 февр. 2017 г.

I am loving the Stanford nutrition courses. I think this course, plus the Child nutrition course should be mandatory for all human beings. What I wish could be done is that their would be offered more serious courses, ones where people considering the career would truly benefit from. These classes seem more general and light, which is good for people that just want basic knowledge, but insufficient for people seeking more than just that.

автор: Zvi Z D C

11 июля 2017 г.

Although not a course exactly, more like a brief introduction to the food industry, mainly in the USA, this still has a very pleasant lecturer, sharing a bit of knowledge, but also quite a lot of kitchen. I find the music accompanying the videos nice, yet out of place, making it seem more like an advertisement than an actual course. I would give a 3.5 stars if was possible, but due to the heart in the course, 4 is better suited than 3.

автор: Anne C

1 февр. 2016 г.

This is a great introductory and time efficient course that allows anyone to get a brief overview of a healthy life style. This course, aside from the first video, does not go into the nutritional value of food or micro nutrient variables. So, if you'd like to get more information on how to cultivate your own healthy life style this is a great choice. However, if you'd like the more scientific side of things this course is not for you.

автор: Delisa O

22 сент. 2016 г.

This course was great for an introductory course to food and health because it emphasized getting back to the basics of real food and cooking simply. It lost a star because I felt like there were certain topics that needed a more in depth and less cursory approach. They were almost dismissive at times for the sake of "keeping it simple" whereas a simple suggestion about washing produce to remove pesticides could've been helpful.

автор: Alexx H

27 авг. 2021 г.

This course was very helpful and motivating to change current food habits and trends. I learned some valuable tips and gained a few recipe ideas to try for healthier eating at home. This course also encourages me to cook at home more and have more control over what I'm putting in my body. The combination of interviews, examples, and data points were very effective in communicating the overall course message and objective.

автор: Stephanie C

21 февр. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course but was looking for more, as in a Part II. I am not sure how the Week 5 fits in- is it actually part of the course? Nevertheless the GF recipes were a bonus as my diet is GF as much as possible.

I have just one comment about the quizzes: the answer to one of the questions was actually in the next week’s lesson.

Good way to keep learning! I am new to this and will continue online learning.

автор: Anabella D

5 сент. 2021 г.

This is a great introductory course for people who are looking some basic direction into eating in building sustainable healthy eating habits. Much of the content though is intended for people who live in highly industrialised western countries. As a Latin American, I found some of the content was a bit common sense for people from this part of the world, where we are luckily still not eating as much processed food.

автор: Maurice A P

19 авг. 2020 г.

I knew much of this material, and I agree with most of it. I disagree that keeping grains in the diet is a good thing. Many diabetics would be better off not eating grains. I am allergic to wheat, rye, oats, and corn. In short, I am allergic to most grains. I became much healthier when I began to avoid grains. Greens are much more nutrient dense than any grain out there, and I love collard greens and salads.

автор: Randy W

19 июня 2020 г.

Well-balanced and chucked into digestible segments for public consumption and learning. Animation and conversations with Michael Pollen works well to vary to the deliver of information and story line. A couple content errors should be corrected: one of the double bonds in the unsaturated fatty acid has 5 bonds on a carbon, and statement that there is only one essential fatty acid is not correct as far as I know.

автор: Marcela L

15 апр. 2020 г.

I liked a lot the course ,even if it is a basic one. I eat 95% homemade food ,so many of the things they were

talking about are already things I do in my each day routine,I even take my own food to work so I do not eat around junky food. I appreciated the information and the ideeas to help make it easier to cook at home and be more careful about what one eats and the tips of moderating the quantity. Thank you !

автор: Vasundhara

21 февр. 2018 г.

The information in the video was very informative and will assist me in taking informed judgement about the food and its nutritional value when i go to the supermarket next time. It gave me new dimension of looking at food and also learned lot of new recipes. My must try is going to be ricotta cake and i also love the fact that the recipes will assist to those who are gluten free as well. Great course over all!!

автор: Neil R

7 окт. 2017 г.

After finishing this course, I can confidently say that I do have a better understanding when it comes to the nutritional component (e.g. micronutrient and macronutrient values) and quality of food. It is simple to understand and the information given is well presented. There might be some things and ideas that I don't agree with, but overall the knowledge you can gain from this short course is worth the time.

автор: Yulia K

26 апр. 2017 г.

The course is easy to listen and comprehend, and all material is pretty practical. However, it is rather superficial. I myself maintain a healthy lifestyle, and I didn't learn almost anything new from it (i'd say, around 5% of the information was new to me). I expected more. On the other hand, it's a good course for people with weight&lifestyle problems to figure out first steps towards a healthier lifestyle.

автор: Giselle M

15 мар. 2018 г.

Very easy and nice way to present food and health, but I really believe it is also important to consume organic as much as possible and it should be incentivises , as we know pesticide in excess is also harmful in the long run for our health and planet, if we want to educate the population, let's educate and also taking our planet into consideration, as we have the 17 development goals to achieve by 2030.

автор: SARAH H A

6 сент. 2016 г.

Very informative course, which has encouraged me to research the topic further and to adopt a healthier lifestyle. Based on my research, however, I believe a mistake might have been made. According to the instructional material, the only group of essential fatty acids is omega-3. Based on my research, however, essential fatty acids include ALA, an omega-3 fatty acid, and LA, which is an omega-6 fatty acid.

автор: Mariam A

4 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I would have liked to learn more about the science behind these claims (the first week was excellent for that), and I was uncomfortable with choosing "going vegan is not sustainable" because much of the research shows that it certainly is. I did really enjoy learning about how good fruits and vegetables are for the human body! I was less interested in how to cook. Thank you!

автор: Mohit

19 янв. 2016 г.

I am currently pursuing this course and I find this course to be very simple for a rookie to understand and implement. It clears a large amount of myths that we have regarding different types of food. I understand that in order to gain full benefit of this course we need to implement the stuff presented in this course. So I will start the implementation and additional research required very soon.

автор: Maribel Z

3 февр. 2016 г.

Videos are very clear and very well explained... Nice animations, graphs, ... definitely a great piece of work.

However, I have to say that I expected more content/theory on food and health inside our body rather than general advises on how to cook at home. I am a person that cooks already at home and does not like to eat much processed food, so majority of videos I found too simple and basic...

автор: Bayu C

10 февр. 2021 г.

Great content and great quality of delivery of lectures.T hese courses are very helpful and it's such an inspiring guidelines for people to live a healthy diet.

I like the enthusiam of the instructor. The instructor put in a lot of effort to generate the interest.

The explanations and analogies related to the topic in discussion Everything was great about this course. Thanks i really appreciate

автор: Juan J B L

2 апр. 2018 г.

It is a good place to start thinking about how to change your eating habbits. I looked for a course like this on YT but no luck. I didn't want to research diets, I wanted a holistic understanding of nutrition itself so I can make personally informed decisions. I want to understand how and why things work and don't work, rather than just trusting diet; this course really helped kick that off.

автор: Lakshmi V

11 окт. 2017 г.

This course is presented in a neat and friendly manner. The simple language in explanation and illustration makes it enjoyable to delve into the course. I personally liked the way suggestions were presented in taking care of one's own and family health, rather than making it technical. I am glad I to have taken up and completed the course. Wishing many more delightful courses from Maya Adam.

автор: Hugo

31 мая 2020 г.

Interesting course which remember me fundamentals of nutrition and best practices to cook healthy.

I regret that course dont go more far on nutrition skills or vegetarian recipes for example but it's a good course to introduce nutrition for a person who wants to change his bad consummation habits and increase his health and his nutrition skills.

Hugo (sorry for my bad english, i'm french)

автор: Deborah

6 сент. 2016 г.

This was an easy course and I found the information very helpful in making you aware of processed food. I think it could have been a bit richer by exploring some other areas of health and food. I felt like the main focus was on processed food. The good thing though I learnt so much about processed food and I'm making every effort to cut it and eventually eliminat it from my diet.

автор: Paul G

12 янв. 2021 г.

There are some good points, and some misinformation that was presented in the material. The point about getting the family involved in meal preparation, and relying less on processed foods is a great place to start.

The soundtrack that played during the course makes it next to impossible to concentrate on the subject matter. I was expecting more from a Stanford produced course.