Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 22,305
Рецензии: 6,622

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

TL
30 сент. 2016 г.

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

CN
13 мая 2021 г.

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 6,630 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: graham f

28 нояб. 2016 г.

This has ruined my life.

автор: adriana g

24 апр. 2020 г.

extremely basic

автор: Ginger M

5 апр. 2020 г.

Dr. Maya Adam has a nice way of presenting. She's very calm, sincere, knowledgeable, interested and aware that the average Joe Schmo doesn't have a heavy background in the sciences to understand a more complex presentation which nutrition is. I highly recommend this course, because it gives some nutritional terms and concepts, in the first couple of lessons like the hyper glycemic value of foods, macronutrients, monosaccharides, polysaccharides, intrinsic sugar, amino acids, and metabolic syndrome, but the course doesn't overwhelm you. I think that Dr. Maya Adam could have given a few more concepts and used some more academic vocabulary. Dr. Michael Pollen has an equally calm and sincere way of presenting. He complements Dr. Maya Adam, and I love his mantra: "Eat Food, Not too much/ mostly plants." Both instructors aimed to make this course enjoyable, and informative. Eating the foods we do that may not be helpful to us has to do with mindset and using food for all that ails us. This latter part should have been addressed more. I like the way the course ends with Dr. Adam Maya welcoming us into her kitchen with her children nearby and baking, cooking and sharing her love of foods with her favorite recipes. It makes you feel very welcome in this homey atmosphere.

автор: Fabio P

19 февр. 2020 г.

For the first time in my adult life I weight 158 pounds. This weight scared me so much that I decided to visit a doctor. The diagnostic turned out to be ok. After reading Omnivores Dilemma by Michael Pollan, I made some simple transitions that change my eating habits. For example most of the cakes and cookies I consume are homemade. I still enjoy drinking a coke with my meal but I reduced the portion to a quarter of the small bottle. Reading on this course about changing the plate size to reduce the intake of food make me extremely happy. This course has highlighted many of my (accidentally) healthy changes that I have done this year. It is phenomenal to put creativity and science to understand food. This course is like eating homemade popcorn, extremely healthy and easy to digest. The language on the quiz changes a bit so it requires a little bit more slow reading. But slow reading is not a bad thing at all, just like food, it allows us to intake the material better. MD Maya Adam does an incredible job in preparing the information for the course.

автор: Morgan R

25 нояб. 2019 г.

My mother was obsessed with the Keto diet (don't tell her I said that). It put her in a three-day coma, and we nearly lost her. I remember her following several different fads when I was growing up, and honestly, as a working mom, I fell into the same processed trap that she had fallen into when she was a working mom to four kids and a full-time student.

I work for the Ozark Foothills Literacy Project, a tiny nonprofit that teaches adults basic skills. I have recommended this course to my students, because I didn't feel I was qualified to teach nutrition (I'm overweight). I also struggle with insulin resistance due to PCOS and Dysautonomia. I am working on correcting my bad habits and modeling good ones for my daughter. I don't ever want her to struggle the way that I have. She's two. Where most kids would throw a fit for a toy when their mom is at the market, she throws tantrums for mandarin oranges. #ParentWin

Thank you for providing this course for free. I've introduced you to an entire Juvenile Detention Center, and they are ecstatic.

автор: Jen S

9 июля 2017 г.

This is an excellent introductory course on food and health. I learned quite a bit about nutrients that I didn't know and was reminded of things that had learnt in the past and forgotten. It was an excellent companion to a lifestyle transformation I'm trying to do. It's nice having a reminder each week (by going through the course material) of why you are doing what you are doing (healthy food choices) and what you can improve. The course was not very time consuming and just easy to understand and follow. It's perfect, if you have a busy schedule and can't devote too much time on an online course. I'm now looking forward to further improving my knowledge on nutrition by attending another course on a similar topic. Perhaps another course that delves more into behaviour science and healthy eating would be a great next step after this course. Or a nutrition specialisation... Just putting it out there...

автор: Loyce B

16 авг. 2021 г.

I learned a lot in this class. I took it to see if this is going to be the right new post retirement career path for me. Yes, I am retired but it's in my DNA to help others through volunteerism. I teach diabetes classes at the community women's center in my neighborhood and I want to include the importance of making healthy food choices. If I am better equipped with food and nutrition knowledge and information, I can share accurate and current ways to make healthier choices which can ultimately lead to better controlled diabetes numbers. I do know that eating healthier is just one of many things that diabetics need to do to control diabetes. I am also a diabetic. Thanks again for this class. I will definitely be looking at the food and health curriculum to start planning the classes I need to take to be successful as a nutrition and community healthcare advocate.

автор: Carmina F

28 нояб. 2020 г.

Hello I am Carmina. I almost ignore this course completely due to the bad reviews was given for this. I am glad I did enroll it and did not listen to them. It was not basic for ordinary people, but was for nutritionist or who are into food learning. It says that it is extremely easy and basic but I found it challenging, informative, entertaining and helpful. Almost everyone can pass this course, but it doesn't mean you're not going to learn anything new. Well it is really basic, BUT I LEARN A LOT in just week 1 already. It is mix with scientific terms. I love this course and willing to complete it!

...

Please make a fair review not because it is your experience or opinion, but for someone who are planning to take it. BELIEVE ME, it's a good course not that basic enough to say don't eat that or eat this.

автор: Meagan P M

15 авг. 2018 г.

A good introduction to food and nutrition that is readily digestible for anyone. Some historical background without going into potential food industry conspiracies (marketing strategies aren't conspiracy, they are fact) is lightly covered to provide context for the Western diet and food experiences. The tone of the course does not demonize food choices and stays on point to promote eating more whole foods and eating in moderation in general. The basic science behind how humans process food into energy is covered well with simple diagrams and does a good job of using both scientific words as well as layman's terms together to make the information more easily understood. Overall, the course promotes taking an active role in the food we eat in order to support our health.

автор: Nikita K

23 сент. 2018 г.

This course isn't that much of a "course" where you need to study and work a lot, but more of an interactive guide to how we can improve our day-to-day approach to eating and preparing food. For me, many of the things outlined during the course were eye-opening. I've already started applying some of the ideas in real life e.g. substituting processed foods with the natural equivalents, started cooking at home more often. I really loved how the concepts were described in this course - in a comprehensible and actionable way. I will now try to dig deeper some of the topics like nutrients, calories consumption to balance my diet considering that I'm also doing sports. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants treat eating consciously and not as some routine stuff.

автор: Jon M C

14 февр. 2016 г.

Extremely well produced. I would have liked a little more bit information but for a Free Intro class it's well worth it. Being a food professional in the industry over 20 years the challenge is getting others to change their eating habits. Stopping the super sized highly processed food consumed here in America is difficult when many of the people think that is their only choice and for some of the poorest it is. But all of us can and should pass this message on to others.

On a side note, lose the animation of the overweight guy with the flannel shirt and the cutoff sleeves. You've just alienated a demographic you would like to see change in. Kind of elitist in my opinion. Not that I own any flannel shirts :)

Thank you for a great course!

Jon M. Costedoat

Los Gatos, CA

автор: Will Z

8 июня 2016 г.

Excellent course loved the info and the way it was presented. Quick to the point and on par. I wouldn't mind seeing a little more info on seafood and fish in general I've read a few studies and as far as i can tell at this point in the game we've poisoned our oceans tremendously and theres been scientific studies that have found large quantities of highly toxic chemicals in the fish's blood and meat. so thats about the only thing id like to see is going a little deeper into the actual health risks associated with the damage humans have caused to the food we eat from the oceans to GMO's. These seem like hot topics in todays day and age. But like i said i really enjoyed the course and look forward to taking additional courses on nutrition and food prep.

автор: Ярославна П

21 окт. 2020 г.

Первое, что хотелось бы отметить, это невероятно приятные рассказчики. Небольшие видео по 3-5 минут, в которых без воды выжали всю основу нутрициологии, подача материала идёт легко, поймёт АБСОЛЮТНО каждый, вне зависимости от возраста.

Конечно, те, кто хоть немного интересуется питанием, нутрициологией, 50% материала точно знает, но это ни в коем случае не отменяет его полезности. Повторение и ознакомление с деталями никогда не бывает лишним.

Я считаю, с этим курсом необходимо ознакомиться каждому человеку, кого интересует как минимум его здоровье. А также неплохо бы посоветовать это людям, которые ещё не осознали ценность питания в их физическом здоровье.

Коротко, информационно, интересно.

Спасибо большое Coursera за предоставленную возможность.

автор: Xuan L

8 июня 2019 г.

There are plenty of important and useful information of food and health. By studying this course, I have learned the value of food, how to choose the right food and how to enjoy the real food. Such are truly helpful for me to spend my food budget wisely on food that will both support my good health and enjoyment. The examples raised in the courses are very vivid and easily understood. The explanations are friendly and easy to grasp. I can't agree more with the propose and solution inside this course: make time to cook at home and maximize the value of food. I've started to take time to cook at home and even track my homemade food by using online food blog since last month. Food is essential and I sincerely recommend this course to everyone.

автор: Sarai S T

2 февр. 2020 г.

This course is very useful because brings good and interesting information in a simple way, so, you can learn and remember the tips easily. In a short period of time, you have meaningful information that you can use in your daily live to improve your habits and the habits of people around you. I think that if you apply this knowledge your health will improve for sure. Este curso es muy útil porque te brinda información buena e interesante, así que, puedes aprender y recordar los consejos fácilmente. En un corto periodo de tiempo, tienes información significativa que puedes usar en tu vida diaria para mejorar tus hábitos y los hábitos de las persona que te rodean. Creo que si aplicas este conocimiento tu salud mejorará con seguridad.

автор: Sujata B P

6 июля 2020 г.

From this course I came to know about effects of highly processed foods how they are harmful to our health.I got an idea that cooking is one of the best way of refreshing our mind.It gathers whole family members while eating.It is beneficial for consuming green leafy fresh frozen vegetables rather than meat in our meal.This course gives the knowledge about healthy eating habits.This course is not only essential for students, it is also essential for whole people in the world.It encourage people about limiting food quantity while eating, about healthy diet.The whole course explain the topic in a easy way.I encourage my other friends to gain the knowledge from this course which is essential for our entire life.

автор: Kevin C

16 мая 2016 г.

This course is extremely well made! I am enjoying it very much! I'm personally using it for a review of nutritional principles and basics and this course is FILLED with wonderfully clear and visually captivating video lectures cut into shorter 4-5 minute lectures! This course is probably meant to be taken over a months time, but It's SO Captivating that I can't get enough and be through it in a few days at most! Thank you for putting this course online for everyone to take, learn and enjoy! I'm going to recommend it to my whole online nutrition course at my university for an excellent review of basic and key nutritional concepts! It will certainly leave a lasting impression on my further nutritional studies.

автор: Carmen C

23 июня 2020 г.

First and foremost, although it might seem simplistic, this course is so well taught and so informative that I have found again my love for real food. Since losing weight has been a primary goal for a few years now, I tried the “all or nothing” sort of diet. I had joined a gym where I was given a diet that was so strict where all I could eat were certain types of food, etc. I soon realized that I had no fun eating and I would dread the next bland meal. Having taken this course has taught me the value and importance of having a nutritious meal. I am so happy to have found Coursera. I cannot thank you enough for putting this information together. It is so worth every second of my time spent.

автор: Jo-Ann D

15 мая 2020 г.

This course is very well organized and easy to understand. It includes the perfect balance between auditory and visual information. The information covered in this course is extremely important for everyone to know, and can easily be put into practice. Dr. Maya Adams & author Michael Pollan do an excellent job in explaining critical information regarding FOOD and Our Health, and the benefits of realizing that simple informed changes can make all the difference. This is a course in looking at our own mindset concerning food & our health. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in using food to improve their own health and well-being, and the health of their family.

автор: Laurence D

29 дек. 2016 г.

Amazing course. I learnt everything I wanted (and needed) to know about the basics of good nutrition. I loved how the course doesn't just give you general information but also practical tips to shop, cook and eat better. I feel that I gained knowledge but also the ability to apply this knowledge in my everyday life, which is very empowering. As a social scientist, I appreciated the effort put in addressing socioeconomic factors affecting people's diet. To me, the course was complete and thorough its its objectives, and the great quality videos were very enjoyable to watch. I could tell that there was a team of professionals who put their passion and skills behind each one of them.

автор: Khrystyna Ç

5 июля 2018 г.

I have studied nutrition and dieting for a long time and had quite a deep knowledge as for a normal person only taking care of my own health. However, there still were some gaps which I could not understand despite all my researching. This course structured all my knowledge and clarified all things that I could not understand. It is so clear and so influential, that I even started to translate it into Ukrainian and Turkish, both of which are my mother tongues, to make it accessible for more people. I am going to convince all of my relatives and friend to take the course because it is crucial for happy and healthy living. I want to thank everyone involved in creating this course!

автор: fatou n

30 июля 2019 г.

Unfortunately, I had a failing grade in Sport and to catch up and get my credits, my schools registered me to this "class". At first I was septic about it because i wasn't interested but when I really started reading the materials, I really learned a lot. Life changing information, I tend to really eat until i am full and mostly with processed food, by now i will eat until i'm not feeling hungry anymore and with natural fresh foods.

Now I know how to be healthy by doing shopping and .i am someone who hates to cook and just order food, with the videos, my mind has changed, I will try to cook by myself at home so that i can control what i am eating and be healthier.

Thank you

автор: Luísa d S C

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Excelente curso online com informações extremamente relevantes, com uma perspectiva internacional e que agrega bastante com os meus conhecimentos prévios. Visto que tenho acesso a estudos específicos devido ser graduanda de Nutrição.

Entretanto, isso não impede a compreensão. Os conceitos e aulas são abordados de maneira leve, com uso de exemplificação, o que acaba tornando mais fácil o entendimento. Outro diferencial se dá por conta de que o curso possui tradução para o português e outros idiomas, auxiliando ainda mais na acessibilidade das informações.

Sou agradecida pela oportunidade de fazer um curso internacional e agregar mais expertises ao meu arcabouço acadêmico.

автор: Valeria F

3 июня 2018 г.

It was really nice listening to Mrs. Adam ! I really enjoyed your course, even if, for me, since I am Italian, I already enjoy cooking and eating healthy food. I just want to try to loose some weight, that's why I started and completed the course. I really liked the videos, they look really professional. I am just sad about so many people in the world who cannot afford nice and healthy food, like 13 millions of Americans live in so-called "food desert" with no fresh food at all. I hope that more whealthy people will become aware of good nutrition and so can choose wisely what and how and when to eat and more poor people that can afford the healthy food. Thank you so much!

автор: Aarya H

29 дек. 2020 г.

This course is very useful for people willing to learn about food and nutrition. I feel very glad for having an opportunity to do this course.

The course is absolutely amazing. And this course is an true example that learning can be enjoyable and interesting.

All the hardwork of editing, filming, making, etc of these videos of this course is truly appreciable.

This course also helps people who want to keep their control over food and nutrition and stay fit and healthy.

Apart from learning and reading, this course is going to help me practically in my real life, If ever I got onto the control of food, I know that the knowledge from this course is going to help me out.

😊