Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 18,109
Рецензии: 5,461

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

CS
26 авг. 2019 г.

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

NF
5 дек. 2020 г.

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Фильтр по:

4401–4425 из 5,420 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Thomas R

26 апр. 2018 г.

Thorough and engaging look at the fundamentals of nutrition and healthy food choices. Excellent resource for anyone who wants to understand the basics of a healthy diet and productive sustainable food choices. Engaging videos and the demonstrations of recipes are particularly nice touch. Thoroughly enjoyed.

автор: Borja T

18 янв. 2016 г.

Could be added more technical question, but I understand that the course is trying to reach as much people as possible.

However explaining a bit more details about minerals, which was not mention, would be good. Extending to flavonoids and some other stuff which most poeple is unaware would be interesting.

автор: Reem N

29 июня 2020 г.

An interesting basic course with explanations about nutrients, calories, plant-based diets etc. I think I had expected more details and a more rigorous course but I see now that this is aimed at people who may have limited to no knowledge about these issues. Very good course, nonetheless. Thank you.

автор: RITESH M

11 февр. 2020 г.

i have learned so many things about food , how to do groserry shopping . i learned that we should more depend on natural food rather than highly processsd food we should eat plant food rather than having meat, and some other supplements that are available in market eassily we must ahave more organic

автор: Alison O C B

26 июня 2020 г.

I really liked it, but it's very basic, and as I'm a first-year nutrition student in college, I should had taken on a harder course that would bring me some knowledge I didn't already know. Regardless of that, it's a very good course for someone who doesn't know anything about health and nutrition.

автор: Jose C

8 мая 2020 г.

I appreciated the insights and recommendations from both Dr. Adams and Michael Pollan. We do overeat in this country but it is so difficult to eat the right way when fresh organic fruits and veggies are SO incredibly expensive and fast food and junk food so cheap. Thanx for this perspective.

автор: Ubayd R

19 окт. 2020 г.

Its been a great journey of learning and experiencing true knowledge about how food and nutrition affect our health and whats the role of food in your lifestyle and fitness. Overall its been a great course i would definitely recommend people to must do this course for a better understanding.

автор: Karime L

22 июня 2020 г.

Great course for beginners. Could have better explanations of terminology like HDL cholesterol and LDL. I think that beginners need a little more detail about terminology involving biochemistry. Overall, it is an inspiring and helpful course to understand why it is important to eat healthy

автор: Thijs W

5 февр. 2016 г.

Great introductory course which gives a more nuanced view on eating. Everyone would be able to understand this and start to cook by themselves. Would have been nice if one week would have been dedicated to some myths, like the protein shake or gluten free diets which are very much debated.

автор: Pan C T

4 янв. 2017 г.

This Course is useful and practical for all the students and people would like to know the detail of food and health. Actually, after finishing this course, I have a stronger interest in food than before. If the lecturer can give us more information about this area, that would be better.

автор: Pam L

9 авг. 2016 г.

Everything I learned or relearned fit with my knowledge of food and food systems with one glaring exception: I am a strong supporter of organic standards and regenerative agriculture. Therefore, I would be unable to recommend vegetables and fruits regardless of their pesticide residue.

автор: Jana R

20 янв. 2016 г.

I would have loved to get more information. Addtional readings, forums to share ideas and recipes, projects etcs about food, health and nutrition. Maybe homework would increase our knowledge! Some paper as final assignment would be helpful.

Thanks for the course and enjoy your meals :)

автор: rishitha t

17 авг. 2020 г.

This course has enabled me to understand what a healthy diet exactly mean. Videos are pretty good and instructions are very easy and acceptable way to implement. Cook recipes are very helpful in day to day lifestyle. Special thanks to Maya Adam, Professor Pollan and Stanford team.

автор: Kat F

5 янв. 2021 г.

I appreciate all of the research and knowledge that went into this course. The recipes, the advice on where to look for healthy food, and how it affects ones body was very educational. I feel as if I have more information on what I should be doing to maintain a healthier lifestyle.

автор: Kara G

10 июня 2020 г.

It was a very beginner course and more designed as instructive rather than educational. If you are health-conscious and want basic tips on how to become healthier then this is the course for you.It is not time-consuming or difficult and I finished the entire course in under a week.

автор: Karlee J

10 мая 2020 г.

A really great class to learn the general rules of what are healthy choices and what are not. I feel that during the COVID-19 pandemics, because people are inside more, they are potentially cooking more, so learning what are the best choices in making these dishes is very helpful!

автор: yasemin i

20 окт. 2019 г.

The course was good for a beginner, nevertheless I found it too repetitive about eating plant based and not consuming processed foods. I wish it had more explanations about nutrients effects on health (macro/micronutrients) and the overall effect of food on health besides obesity.

автор: Deleted A

26 сент. 2017 г.

A very nice and interesting course. Too bad the recipes aren't to download, but good that there are so many subtitles in so many languages so you can just write it down yourself and look the ingrediants up even if you didn't have English as your mother tongue. Thank you very much.

автор: Rini S

21 нояб. 2016 г.

First things first, I am really glad that I 'stumbled' over this course. I got to know a lot about what to eat and how calories are not everything we ought to be looking for. After this course, I have come to know that I've been reading the nutrition labels wrongly all my life.

автор: Tristan I

3 февр. 2020 г.

The course was very helpful. Since this is an introduction, I finally get a good intro to food and health. It is great. However, it needs some more reading and probably more questions in the tests to make it better. All in all, very great class and I recommend joining it.

автор: Rochelle S

25 апр. 2020 г.

I certainly enjoyed, this course. I found the information you have prepared valuable. I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants/needs to gain insight knowledge and a better understanding about Food and Health. Hope to study here again in the future.

My rating 4.7

автор: Viviana G

18 апр. 2020 г.

Great course! Loved it and am thankful to have been able to complete it. This is where I first began to really understand nutrients. I would like to see an updated version as in 2020 there is more information that would be relevant and useful in this course syllabus!

автор: Livnat B

27 февр. 2016 г.

The course was informative, condense to be easily understood, and was well done. I left the course eager to learn how to cook!

I think the course could have demanded / pushed the students a little more to think about this deeper.

I am excited to try out the recipes!

автор: Taheera A

23 окт. 2020 г.

Simple and easy to follow course that gives you the basics that you need in order to make healthier choices when it comes to food and shopping. It gives you the general knowledge needed in order to make informed decisions when it comes to buying and preparing food.