Chevron Left
Вернуться к Метод конечных элементов для решения задач в области физики

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Метод конечных элементов для решения задач в области физики от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.6
Оценки: 300
Рецензии: 65

О курсе

This course is an introduction to the finite element method as applicable to a range of problems in physics and engineering sciences. The treatment is mathematical, but only for the purpose of clarifying the formulation. The emphasis is on coding up the formulations in a modern, open-source environment that can be expanded to other applications, subsequently. The course includes about 45 hours of lectures covering the material I normally teach in an introductory graduate class at University of Michigan. The treatment is mathematical, which is natural for a topic whose roots lie deep in functional analysis and variational calculus. It is not formal, however, because the main goal of these lectures is to turn the viewer into a competent developer of finite element code. We do spend time in rudimentary functional analysis, and variational calculus, but this is only to highlight the mathematical basis for the methods, which in turn explains why they work so well. Much of the success of the Finite Element Method as a computational framework lies in the rigor of its mathematical foundation, and this needs to be appreciated, even if only in the elementary manner presented here. A background in PDEs and, more importantly, linear algebra, is assumed, although the viewer will find that we develop all the relevant ideas that are needed. The development itself focuses on the classical forms of partial differential equations (PDEs): elliptic, parabolic and hyperbolic. At each stage, however, we make numerous connections to the physical phenomena represented by the PDEs. For clarity we begin with elliptic PDEs in one dimension (linearized elasticity, steady state heat conduction and mass diffusion). We then move on to three dimensional elliptic PDEs in scalar unknowns (heat conduction and mass diffusion), before ending the treatment of elliptic PDEs with three dimensional problems in vector unknowns (linearized elasticity). Parabolic PDEs in three dimensions come next (unsteady heat conduction and mass diffusion), and the lectures end with hyperbolic PDEs in three dimensions (linear elastodynamics). Interspersed among the lectures are responses to questions that arose from a small group of graduate students and post-doctoral scholars who followed the lectures live. At suitable points in the lectures, we interrupt the mathematical development to lay out the code framework, which is entirely open source, and C++ based. Books: There are many books on finite element methods. This class does not have a required textbook. However, we do recommend the following books for more detailed and broader treatments than can be provided in any form of class: The Finite Element Method: Linear Static and Dynamic Finite Element Analysis, T.J.R. Hughes, Dover Publications, 2000. The Finite Element Method: Its Basis and Fundamentals, O.C. Zienkiewicz, R.L. Taylor and J.Z. Zhu, Butterworth-Heinemann, 2005. A First Course in Finite Elements, J. Fish and T. Belytschko, Wiley, 2007. Resources: You can download the deal.ii library at dealii.org. The lectures include coding tutorials where we list other resources that you can use if you are unable to install deal.ii on your own computer. You will need cmake to run deal.ii. It is available at cmake.org....

Лучшие рецензии

SS

Mar 13, 2017

It is very well structured and Dr Krishna Garikipati helps me understand the course in very simple manner. I would like to thank coursera community for making this course available.

IK

Jul 21, 2019

The course is great and the tutors are very helpful. I just have a suggestion that there should be more coding assignment like one for every week.\n\nThank you

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 62 отзывов о курсе Метод конечных элементов для решения задач в области физики

автор: Elizabeth F

Jul 05, 2018

I like this course it is useful because have theory and the application part.

автор: Prasanth s

Jul 12, 2017

thank you sir for giving this offering of this course

автор: Michael B

Mar 05, 2017

This was a great course, I can only recommend. The tutor really explains basically all that there is to linear PDEs. What I miss, maybe as a different course is the case of nonlinear equations.

автор: aamir i

Mar 09, 2017

A rigorous and organized introduction to the subject with the additional benefit of learning through implementation.

автор: Shaik K B

Jan 17, 2017

This is the best course as iam learning I so happy about your lecturer's

It is an wounder full experience that iam getting from you

автор: Jose G L G

Jun 12, 2017

A must take course if you intend to one day tackle real world finite element based Physics simulations.

There are finite element method software packages that lead us to believe that we don't need to understand the finite element method (FEM) in order to make physics simulations.

That is true if you just want to study simple academic problems. However if you want to simulate the real world you need to understand the basics of the FEM. This course will provide you with these basic tools.

автор: Kiran A

Dec 23, 2017

Intense development of FEM. Although its more of classroom type of teaching, its effective and Prof. Krishna has done a great job in explaining the concepts well. The assignments are good and check the understanding of the subject. Week 3 Assignment could be pushed to Week 5 may be, or it could be split into two assignments. The number of attempts for quizzes could be perhaps reduced. Presently, it is very easy to score in these quizzes. Overall a great course, and I feel confident knowing the fundamentals of FEM.

автор: Yuxiang W

Jun 21, 2018

Great class! I truly hope that there are further materials on shell elements, non-linear analysis (geometric nonlinearity, plasticity and hyperelasticity).

автор: 杨名

Jul 07, 2018

Very detailed explanation and illustration. The Professor will help you revise the course material at the beginning of each video, so don't worry about forgetting things. The course is interesting and useful. Gain me a lot of insights. Assignments are great.

автор: FRANCISCO T

Jan 13, 2018

This is a very good course for getting introduced in the theory and practice of the finite element method. I wish there were a second part.

автор: BHARATH K T

Jul 09, 2017

good

автор: Солин В А

Apr 02, 2019

Это отличный курс по МКЭ. Он не легкий, совсем нет. Я пытался пройти его больше года, но в итоге осилил. Он действительно помог мне разобраться в МКЭ.

This is exxelent course about FEM. It's not easy to complete. I've managed to finish it about year. It's very usefull. It hepled me to understand FEM.

Спасибо большое за эту возможность.

Thank you for this opportunity.

автор: Abhishek T

Mar 26, 2019

Very interesting course

автор: Marco R H

Jun 23, 2019

nice one!

автор: Ishaan K

Jul 21, 2019

The course is great and the tutors are very helpful. I just have a suggestion that there should be more coding assignment like one for every week.

Thank you

автор: 杨思超

Aug 30, 2019

very good course on explaining the mathematical ground of FE and connecting it with the physical domain. Also learned a lot on the coding part of the FE modeling

автор: LO W

Aug 31, 2019

It is worth to put some effort on this course. I learn alot .

автор: Marvin T

Jan 15, 2019

In principle, it is a good course and taught in a very understanding manner. For a five star rating, I would like to suggest that there should be additional physics, e.g. convection problems, or turbulence, featuring a CFD chapter for example with heat transfer.

автор: Vinayak V

Dec 30, 2018

The course was was great. However, illustrative examples solving real engineering problems could be introduced in lecture.

автор: Pierre B

Mar 17, 2017

This is a good intro course which introduce the Finite Element Method step by step, which suited me perfectly since I hardly coded in c++ nor did FEM before.

Nevertheless, as a graduate student, the pace is very slow, and the outline and motivation unclear, which would likely have discouraged me if I did not review video in x2, and stuck to second week lectures and onward.

I would advise to introduce more outline and motivation at the beginning of the week lecture to keep students motivated.

Apart from that, I recommand the course !

автор: Antonio R

Jun 21, 2018

The course is really deep and I have to say the professor really inspired me to keep learning.It might be a little slow but the course is in general pretty good.

автор: Kapouranis I

Jun 29, 2018

Really recommend it. There will be times when you think you should give up, but just finish it. It is worth it.

автор: Guilherme D

May 21, 2019

Well structured course. It builds up from the basics of finite elements to more complex problems.

автор: Krishnakumar G

Aug 16, 2019

While quite mathematical in nature as opposed to a purely applied view of the method, Prof, Krishna Garikipati's teaching style and clear explanations make the material accessible to practicing engineers outside of academia. This is a great course to take for a strong introduction to the theory of FE method. The TA's explanation videos, while being helpful can sometimes be too verbose. This is a long course, and took me nearly 4 months to finish the videos. I had to go back and watch each of the videos at least 2 times over these 4 months, since some ideas are a bit mathematically dense. Upon second viewing, the ideas become clearer. Overall, a highly recommended course!

автор: LINGALA K

Jul 13, 2017

the course is enough learn things better way to explain give notes and pdf format and doc l.