Chevron Left
Вернуться к Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,029
Рецензии: 385

О курсе

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

EG

Aug 11, 2015

The content of this course is apropiate for drive the finances and risk, We be lear more about this course\n\nI am Engenier in Sofware, the know of finances is aplicable in anyware software.

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 379 отзывов о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

автор: Aditya S

May 14, 2018

It was a great course, a bit advanced though.

автор: Wei D

Jun 21, 2016

It has better content provided than ours.

автор: Connie X

Aug 14, 2019

The background material is in Week 8.

автор: Bei J

Apr 21, 2017

Great course. Highly recommend.

автор: ASHWIN

Apr 17, 2017

Finding it interesting

автор: Somanshu M

Aug 08, 2019

Very good course...

автор: Antonio S

Feb 06, 2017

Gorgeous

автор: Duvakli S

Jun 08, 2020

Thanks

автор: Jung H S

Jun 04, 2017

g

автор: Steven R

Aug 19, 2015

G

автор: Andrew M

Jun 11, 2020

The course is OK. You can learn the material if you work hard to find external sources to help.

A few problems with the course... First, the people speaking in the lectures seem to be speed reading off of a piece of paper, trying to make every video below a certain time threshold. It feels less like teaching, and more like listening to someone read. Second, the handwriting is pretty bad throughout, sometimes illegible. Third, the course significantly lacks example problems along with solutions (showing work) to those problems. Lastly, this course lacks practicality. It would be nice to understand more about uses (expand on calibration of binomial options models, for example).

I have coded some examples for those looking for an extra place to learn the algorithms/math associated with some of the important points of this course: https://github.com/amittleider/FinancialEngineering .

автор: Ved B

Apr 30, 2020

The course content is excellent and is very wisely chosen. However more simplification is necessary. For a student with good knowledge of financial derivatives but limited knowledge of the mathematics behind it, the explanation provided by the instructors may prove to be highly insufficient (from week 4 onwards). More examples should be added by the instructors so as to make the content interesting. Interview with Emmanuel Derman was note worthy.

One more suggestion - the exercises seemed difficult in relation to the course content. A slight mismatch in the answers ( 5.62 vs 5.63) is taken as an incorrect entry. The instructors may consider providing a short range of correct answers in the system so that such mismatches do not occur.

автор: Roger S

May 18, 2020

The material is engaging, interesting, and challenging; the instructors' lectures are generally good quality and easy enough to follow. However, some of the quizzes are horrendous and lead to hours upon hours of frustration as you try to get the EXACT answer to enter into the input box in order for it to be accepted as "correct". Some of quizzes rely far too much on the minutiae of Excel spreadsheet fine-tuning and can be VERY frustrating to navigate. It might be better to test general understanding of concepts or find some other way to design these quizzes. Otherwise, good course.

автор: Chatura C L

Jul 08, 2020

The basic ideas are taught very nicely in the course, but I would have wished to see some more advanced maths such as some integrals computed in order to determine option prices and maybe a continuous time (BDT) model. At some point it was tiring to go through the binomial model.

Nevertheless the course was very interesting. Thank you very much!

автор: Priyank D

May 25, 2020

I learned a lot during the course. Here are my few suggestions:1) a person should be familiar with basics as the course is highly non-descriptive.....you might confuse between financial terms time to time. 2) i think the flow of the course can be improved.The most enjoyable and tricky parts are the quizs,they are tough to crack.

автор: Dmitrii K

May 23, 2020

I liked how binomial model was covered, clearly explained each product pricing. I also liked mortgage module explanation - with examples of the calculation in excel. However, in the first two weeks the teacher reads formulas from presentation without explaining and linking to the real examples.

автор: Bryony

Sep 15, 2016

The lectures weren't always easy to follow but the quizzes were really useful as they meant it was necessary to understand the material. Definitely a useful course, I will be interested to see how it relates to the real world of derivatives pricing.

автор: Xinyu L

Feb 11, 2016

I wish it could be harder and have more challenging quizzes than simply arithmetic and multiple choice.

автор: Jedidiah D G

Jan 04, 2020

Lack of examples/problems worked out in the videos. Can be difficult to pass quizzes accordingly

автор: Akash D

May 19, 2020

No fue lo que esperaba. Los instructtores no dieron su mejor presentacion.

автор: NIRAVSINH S

Dec 12, 2015

good learning with explanation on basic financials

автор: GOTLURU S R

Sep 09, 2015

GOOD ONE

автор: Mansi B

May 03, 2020

I find the explanation very hard to catch up to. Even the simple examples seem very vague and it just seems like going through random equations and theorems. Maybe its the syllabus, but its not that easy to grasp and make sense of. I have studied complex financial concepts but using equations is new and despite having a thorough background in financial studies, i find it difficult to grasp. I think once the topic is introduced, it should be developed on further instead of discussing other concepts briefly. Without much understanding of the first concept, moving onto just a brief discussion of of another topic seems confusing and easy to forget. I am still trying to get through the course and its a little challenging to get finish the slides.

автор: Enkhtuul T

Jun 23, 2020

Although I have passed the SIE exam and have some finance background, I see that the important concepts were poorly explained with no examples. I also found that the slides were difficult to follow... this course needs a major improvement.

автор: Shweta

Jun 07, 2020

Zero course clarity. The professors made no effort to teach the numericals to support the theorems taught. They were rather just reading what was already there in the presentation.