Chevron Left
Вернуться к Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,314
Рецензии: 453

О курсе

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Лучшие рецензии

DP
8 мар. 2020 г.

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
11 июля 2017 г.

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 448 отзывов о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

автор: Ignacio T S

10 нояб. 2020 г.

Great course, but be ready for a substantial effort. Time allocation needed is very variable, sometimes the course expectations did not met the real time allocation, but this depends a lot on the starting skills and how used we are to computing.

автор: Stuart S

7 дек. 2020 г.

I think the formulae were too technical without providing the rationale (give the starving africans a bag of rice or teach them how to grow food). The understanding of the why is important to the understanding of the formula and their use

автор: Yufei S

9 июня 2016 г.

Nice course, covers a wide aspect of materials. However, much of theories are not that easy to understand, so it would be better if the instructors could add a little bit more real-world examples/applications of these theories.

автор: Anirban M

30 авг. 2019 г.

This is a well-structured course who has a basic understanding of finance and wants to steer into financial engineering. The course contents are highly relevant and examples in the spreadsheets provided are very intuitive.

автор: Paulo O

16 мая 2020 г.

Very good course for those who, like me, had never been exposed to financial engineering in the past. I strongly recommend it if you come from a technical background and are willing to develop and broaden your skills.

автор: 李文倩

28 мар. 2016 г.

It is not an intro class. This course is challenging particularly when you are not an English Native. In this course the most frequently used model is binomial model that can be fairly dealt with in the Excel sheet.

автор: Garen V

30 янв. 2017 г.

Eye-opening and powerful crash course introducing to the life of a quant. Problem is in the discussion forums, where there is very little interaction with mentors and week-long (or more delays) in getting feedback.

автор: Richard D

21 сент. 2016 г.

Pretty cool course. I hope they come out with two course sequences, one based more on theory that doesn't back away from stochastic calc so much, and another on practical methods using something other than excel.

автор: rajat c

13 июня 2020 г.

The assignments are well designed to motivate you to think and employe learnings from the course. The instructors teach skills very clearly. I liked the helper videos provided additionally with the course.

автор: Sahil S

26 мар. 2020 г.

The video explain the concepts based on formula and derivation of the formula. However, i would suggest that more numerical example would lead to easy understanding for anyone from non- technical side.

автор: Jürg D

10 дек. 2015 г.

Very well presented, structured and selected material, easy to follow, relevant and interesting. Quizz problems are well thought through and have a reasonable degree of difficulty and length.

автор: Zara D

9 сент. 2020 г.

Extremely hard for someone like me who is trying to do this as a complete novice, need time to understand, no feedback on quizzes so if you are stuck, you need to spend a lot of time on this

автор: LUIS F A G

30 июня 2020 г.

Es un curso bastante completo y bien explicado pero requieres de una base previa de conocimientos matemáticos y financieros para poder sacarle el mayor provecho. Lo recomiendo ampliamente.

автор: Rahul S

25 мая 2020 г.

Great course for knowledge. Still in some part of the course, the course content and level of graded questions doesn't match. At least not all but should have given insights about it.

автор: Andrzej L

20 окт. 2018 г.

Good content, especially liked how professor Haugh explained things. Some assignments could have clearer instructions - but discussion forums are useful to troubleshoot the problems.

автор: Zhenghao L

11 мая 2017 г.

Some of the models are not what's really used on the street. e.g. Street uses SABR and Black-73 to price swaptions. The quiz instruction is also a bit amibious for some questions.

автор: Keith N

5 июля 2020 г.

A lot of the concepts got hidden in numeric outcomes. I understand why the format made that necessary, but it led to time intensive homeworks on relatively simple concepts.

автор: Ni Z (

3 апр. 2018 г.

A very quantitative course for people who want to learn how to calculate the risk for particular products. Course does not include coding but uses spreadsheet instead.

автор: Junling F

17 мая 2021 г.

The course is very well structured, and gives the students good insights of the financial engineering and risk management, I am looking forward to the part 2 session

автор: Felix J

1 февр. 2017 г.

very good course. the exercises are very useful to review the material but it seems that rounding errors can make the difference between right and wrong.

автор: Michael D

23 мая 2020 г.

Very good course. Informative. Sometimes quizzes were annoying to get the rounding correctly however that is minor issue compare to knowledge gained.

автор: Luis V

23 авг. 2020 г.

I thought that the course was very interesting and that the concepts were clearly explained. However, the quizzes could have been harder.

автор: Gello M V

22 дек. 2015 г.

The course is good. Would be better if there are more examples given and lively interaction with fellow learners on the forums though.

автор: Kramer O C

28 июля 2020 г.

A very hard course, I think that the videos ha ve to show more practical problems to get the exams more understanding.

автор: Huynh C D

8 авг. 2015 г.

This course provide with a lot of useful knowledge about financial market and different types of securities as well.