Chevron Left
Вернуться к Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,184
Рецензии: 422

О курсе

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Лучшие рецензии

MM
11 июля 2017 г.

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

EG
10 авг. 2015 г.

The content of this course is apropiate for drive the finances and risk, We be lear more about this course\n\nI am Engenier in Sofware, the know of finances is aplicable in anyware software.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 416 отзывов о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

автор: vijay v

4 окт. 2017 г.

This is very compact course without compromising essence and worth watching video lectures many times. Materials were of top quality and provided wast amount of fundamental. I cram some information to begin with and ask question myself to get deep insight. On review of of some videos when I saw professor asked same question and explained with illustration, that style of teaching proved very effective as it developed better understanding. Looking forward for more courses on same subjects and similar style!

автор: Abraham R

9 нояб. 2018 г.

I found it to be a very interesting course and the teachers were very clear in their concepts, as well as an excellent didactic material to better understand the topics covered. I thank Coursera for the teachers and the monitors who were always very attentive to answer the questions and help solve the problems that arose in the preparation of the tasks.

The classmates were very supportive and gave light when one had problems to solve the tasks.

Thanks a lot to everyone.

автор: Yongxuan L

6 февр. 2016 г.

Good course. Personally I think it is almost the perfect level for those who have some basic understandings about finance and look forward to go deep(such as me). This course requires some understanding about using Excel, which is quite useful when doing the quiz. Mastering Excel well would save a lot time. Some material might be a little hard but with patience and hardworking, it can still be solved. Highly recommended!

автор: Mary-Anne B

18 июля 2017 г.

I have enjoyed this course thoroughly. With a full time job and two young children it has demanded a great deal of juggling but has been worth it. If you appreciate a thorough and clear presentation of essential principles then this is the course for you. The assignments were sufficiently challenging but more importantly they elucidated key points presented in the lectures. I am definitely going to attempt Level 2

автор: Srijith K

17 дек. 2017 г.

This is a wonderful introduction to the world of Quantitative Finance. The content is delivered in a manner that is easy to understand, yet not oversimplified at all. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to build an understanding of the fundamentals of F.E. A big thank you to the lecturers for making this fun to learn, as well as the mentors who were always there to help out in the discussion forums.

автор: Joe L

22 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent course. This course teach you on how to price options, futures, and other fixed income derivatives. It not only tell you how it works in simple and easy binomial model, but also provide hands-on spreadsheets to start with your homework. It should be easy to follow and learn if you have basic understanding of options, bond, forwards/futures, and some probability theory.

автор: Ronald O

14 авг. 2015 г.

Im really fascinated with this course.

By the way, i think some quiz have few mistakes as the module about pricing swaptions in the calibration model. The answer the professor gave is not 13300 or 19400, but 1330 or 1940 respectively.

The quiz#6, the answer for the question 1 and 2 is multiple, its between a range and i cant complete it, please check the parameters again.

автор: Grzegorz L

22 июля 2017 г.

A lot of useful information in the course. If you've got some programming skills it has even greater impact if you actually write the code yourself to solve the quizzes (still comparing with the solution in Excel). I'd suggest this course to anyone who wants to get a glimpse of the complexities of what Hedge Funds and Front Office desks in Investment Banks actually use.

автор: Soubhik G

20 мар. 2016 г.

Awesome...the concepts have been explained in a superb way, the contents are itself high class, he example computations are jist wonderful. Although I am yet to finish it, I am just enthralled with it and have been a fan of coursera big time!!

Expecting more detailed and rigorous course on financial engg which can be a testimony itself for an entry to the industry!!

автор: Yunis T

11 авг. 2018 г.

This course is definitely for people who really like to use their math skills in finance. I admit that quizzes a little bit challenging and check the learners' understanding. After some practice I'll definitely take FE&RM II. My only feedback is that is would be better to add some more practical examples to slides instead of emphasizing only theory. Thanks a lot:))

автор: Jingxia Z

30 окт. 2019 г.

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Economics and a Master's Degree in Financial Engineering. I got my Master's degree in 2016 while I did not continue to seek a career in this industry because something bad happened to my family. Now I am planning to build up a career in Financial Engineering and this course is really great to help me review the basic knowledge.

автор: Gleb S

14 окт. 2017 г.

Very good course. Within only 8 weeks covers the approach to pricing of a wide range of key financial products. Very helpful for those people working in finance, but not directly involved in pricing products to learn more about that aspect. Exercises and spreadsheets help get hands on experience and understand the philosophy behind pricing approaches.

автор: Árpád B

26 апр. 2017 г.

As the first serious encounter with financial engineering I found the course challenging but very rewarding. Very good theory-practice ratio. I would definitely recommend to somebody who is interested in the topic and willing to spend many hours with it. My experiences are based on 4 weeks of completed sessions, so please take it with a grain of salt.

автор: LE T T T

20 авг. 2019 г.

In discussion forum, I saw that a few years ago, our mentors replied the questions of learners very quickly. However, recently I've seen that there are some questions that are not answered. I do not know why.

By the way, I am so grateful to our lecturers and mentors. Thanks to their guide, I could pass all of my assignments more straightforwardly.

автор: Charles D S

31 дек. 2015 г.

The material covered in the course is highly relevant to the current job market. Professors Haugh & Iyengar were great at explaining the material and the quizzes were reasonably difficult. The learning spreadsheets were very good as well. Overall, it was a great learning experience and I will enthusiastically recommend it to my colleagues.

автор: Athanasios T

15 янв. 2016 г.

Excellent approach, robust presentation, demanding but rewarding quizzes, overall a valuable course.

A slight drawback is of technical nature and is responsibility of the host platform: a couple of module videos contain wrong subtitles. Nevertheless, both teacher speak clear English, and it wouldn't be hard for most participants to follow.

автор: Manuel A V S

16 июля 2017 г.

This course introduces financial engineering and risk management very adequately. Even though the level is not that advanced, it teaches the mechanics of derivatives, fixed income securities and more complicated securities like MBS. The quizzes are achievable, but don't let the time run up until the deadline since they require attention.

автор: Lahiru C E

13 нояб. 2018 г.

I love the course. The course is rich with good content. I have a financial background but i am new to the financial engineering, so I had hard time to follow some financial models. I feel like it would be much enjoyable and easy to follow theories if the financial models can explain with examples. Other than that the course is great.

автор: Amos F

3 нояб. 2015 г.

Sufficient rigor for a course that is notoriously quantitative and challenging! Working with Excel models is the best way to get your feet wet with abstract price evolution theory which will ultimately be implemented in algorithms of C++ and Python! Kudos to team who is the best in the field educating this subject to the masses!

автор: Francesco M

19 нояб. 2020 г.

Martin Haugh and Garud Iyengar are knowledgeable and passionate about financial engineering. The result is a great course, useful and enjoyable. I learnt a lot, and I am going to use plenty of the tools in my job. Many thanks Martin and Garud – really a great job! (Week 4 and 5 are really really tough!)

Francesco Mandalà

автор: MANISH K S

7 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course material to get to understand & apply the quantitative techniques. Fixed income and exotic options (swaptions) were very well explained. A highly recommended course for anyone who wants to build career in financial engineering /quantitative techniques and for practicing risk managers.

many thanks,

manish

автор: MANOJ K M

7 авг. 2020 г.

It is incredible to see that the quality education from a university as reputed as Columbia is made available to everyone. The Professor's explanation of relatively complex concepts with ease makes the hours spent worthwhile. The course offers the right mix of theoretical concepts and practical implementation.

автор: Sandeep J

2 янв. 2017 г.

Truly excellent course! I really enjoyed learning through the guidance of Prof. Haugh and Prof. Iyengar. I loved the end of week quizes. For more details, please see my review of the Part II. I completed Part I in Oct 2016, and Part II in early Jan 2017. Very good beginning to the New Year! Time well-invested.

автор: Reuben K

8 окт. 2016 г.

Was very educational, learn't a lot and the great thing was having to implement the theory learn't in the notes and lectures during the assignments. The "curve" ball questions were great too as it forced you to apply understanding thus teaching you to apply your knowledge based on the core principles learn't.

автор: Anupam K

6 мар. 2020 г.

The teachers, Martin and Garud, were amazing. Clear speaking, both explained the concepts in detail without getting lost in theory. And the best part was the spreadsheets which helped to get a hands-on and a "real world" flavor of pricing and calibrating fixed income financial instruments. Loved the course!