Chevron Left
Вернуться к Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,284
Рецензии: 449

О курсе

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Лучшие рецензии

DP
8 мар. 2020 г.

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
11 июля 2017 г.

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 443 отзывов о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

автор: Tomás G V

29 авг. 2020 г.

I honestly expected more from the course. I cannot say I learned any new "skill", but I was partly challenged by the exams, mostly throughout the first 4 of them. On that same note, I'm a management engineering student, I have some financial background but most of the theoretical concepts were new to me, but besides being newly introduced to most of the course's content, I sincerely felt the exams were at times not coherent with what was taught. This course will put you to test, it's not "easy" or at least there isn't that much guidance, which made it exciting, but frustrating most of the time. What I really "learned" from this course was to be more organized, put in the time and do extra research. On account of all this, I cannot complain much: this was, at most, a deep introduction into Financial Engineering, I can now understand the jargon these profesionals use in the capital markets, but I am far from capable of properly "price" any of the financial derivatives or other securities covered in the course. I also didn't pay for theit, which means this review isn't probably the most "accurate" one. Finally, sincere THANKS to Columbia University and mostly Coursera for providing top education to everyone, you just made an undergraduate student very happy and I aspire to keep a "relationship" with both institutions in the upcoming years.

автор: Val S

3 окт. 2019 г.

This was exactly the course I was looking for! It covered all the right topics and depth of material was perfect for what I needed. The instructors were clear and thorough. One aspect I felt did not work due to the online format was the learning opportunity by interacting with TA/other students. I attempted to do extra work assignments but could not get any questions answered in a reasonably timely fashion, and same goes for course material. I passed the course but feel it would be worth more if there was someone responding to student questions in the forums. That was the reason for 4 sta

автор: Prabhav P

14 авг. 2020 г.

The course content is excellent and teaches concepts used in real-world scenarios. The quizzes are also challenging. However, the biggest letdown was the manner in which the content was delivered. Simply reading 30-40 slides does not constitute teaching. Moreover, the instructors seem disengaged and there is a dearth of supporting material for some of the more advanced concepts. Probably some recitation classes would have helped. I had to read multiple textbooks just to get some ideas about certain topics.

автор: Alfonso D

19 февр. 2017 г.

The course in general is fine. Although it is not an introductory level, and users should be aware of it. By the time you finish it, you will have an idea of how financial engineering works and will understand the math behind the scenes. The required level of mathematics is not very high, and high-school maths are enough to follow the formalism. Also, several assignments are done in Excel, so basic knowledge of its features will help.

автор: Wenying Y

26 июля 2019 г.

Course material is quite challenging, most of it is in an appropriate level for me. But the quiz questions are often too hard compared to to what were taught in the lectures, and the spreadsheets used for those calculations are confusing, they are not clearly explained in the lectures at all, I think there are even some mistakes in some of them. Overall a worthy course, I learnt a lot from it. Looking forward to attend the 2nd one.

автор: Shyam S

9 сент. 2017 г.

It's a very interesting and an excellent course for the people who are interested in finance and management. The forum is highly active and the course mentors have really been helpful. It can be cracked and solved easily if one has adept knowledge of Numerical methods (Interpolation and extrapolation), Microsoft Excel which covers almost 75% of the work apart from the formulas.

автор: Dean C

3 авг. 2018 г.

Interesting and well laid-out, the only improvements I would suggest are more effective ways to troubleshoot questions around the quizzes, as well as better integration of the optional sections at the end, which jump into heavy maths without practical examples, limiting the motivation for students to stick with them.

автор: Charalambos L

5 мая 2020 г.

The course instructions should be more clear. The fact that week 8 is the revision material required for understanding many parts of the course is very strange. There should be also more examples of the exercises during the course than simply the test, whilst for the quiz there should be a form of better feedback.

автор: charlie b

26 мая 2020 г.

The material is interesting, but the earlier sections require a large amount of independent research to get to the answer and the ideas are not explained in a way that tells you the purpose of the securities you are pricing, only how to price them. Towards the end of the course this gets better though.

автор: Andrew S

5 июля 2018 г.

That particular course helps me to better comprehend the mechanisms of how financial instruments work. I am really grateful to professors who lecture a material and my special thanks to mentors and tutors for their assistance on the forum - without you I will not be able to complete that course.

автор: Luca C

2 мар. 2020 г.

Great course ! Very clear materials and challenging tests. Just too much focused on mathematic formulas rather than financial principles. I would definitely reccomend it to anybody willing to learn more about derivatives and other sophisticated financial instruments in general.

автор: RAMESH R

19 окт. 2018 г.

I have spent lot of time on this course, it is really excellent. Due to the concentrated information, it takes more time for me to learn the subject. Everything is explained very well with detailed notes on the topics. I hope I will finish this course one-day. Thanks

автор: Antonio A

24 янв. 2021 г.

Maybe some more guided exercise session would be beneficial to students. To move from theoretical lessons to practical quiz session without preparation is not good. I'd also suggest to suggest students some specific book, just to offer a more guided preparation

автор: Hsuan-Chen P

26 окт. 2017 г.

The entire course contents are really helpful and valuable. Professors explained the lecture clearly and the tutor was also really willing to help students with any questions. I'm going to continue taking the Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part 2.

автор: Ignacio T S

10 нояб. 2020 г.

Great course, but be ready for a substantial effort. Time allocation needed is very variable, sometimes the course expectations did not met the real time allocation, but this depends a lot on the starting skills and how used we are to computing.

автор: Stuart S

7 дек. 2020 г.

I think the formulae were too technical without providing the rationale (give the starving africans a bag of rice or teach them how to grow food). The understanding of the why is important to the understanding of the formula and their use

автор: Yufei S

9 июня 2016 г.

Nice course, covers a wide aspect of materials. However, much of theories are not that easy to understand, so it would be better if the instructors could add a little bit more real-world examples/applications of these theories.

автор: Anirban M

30 авг. 2019 г.

This is a well-structured course who has a basic understanding of finance and wants to steer into financial engineering. The course contents are highly relevant and examples in the spreadsheets provided are very intuitive.

автор: Paulo O

16 мая 2020 г.

Very good course for those who, like me, had never been exposed to financial engineering in the past. I strongly recommend it if you come from a technical background and are willing to develop and broaden your skills.

автор: 李文倩

28 мар. 2016 г.

It is not an intro class. This course is challenging particularly when you are not an English Native. In this course the most frequently used model is binomial model that can be fairly dealt with in the Excel sheet.

автор: Garen V

30 янв. 2017 г.

Eye-opening and powerful crash course introducing to the life of a quant. Problem is in the discussion forums, where there is very little interaction with mentors and week-long (or more delays) in getting feedback.

автор: Richard D

21 сент. 2016 г.

Pretty cool course. I hope they come out with two course sequences, one based more on theory that doesn't back away from stochastic calc so much, and another on practical methods using something other than excel.

автор: rajat c

13 июня 2020 г.

The assignments are well designed to motivate you to think and employe learnings from the course. The instructors teach skills very clearly. I liked the helper videos provided additionally with the course.

автор: Sahil S

26 мар. 2020 г.

The video explain the concepts based on formula and derivation of the formula. However, i would suggest that more numerical example would lead to easy understanding for anyone from non- technical side.

автор: Jürg D

10 дек. 2015 г.

Very well presented, structured and selected material, easy to follow, relevant and interesting. Quizz problems are well thought through and have a reasonable degree of difficulty and length.