Chevron Left
Вернуться к Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I от партнера Колумбийский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,272
Рецензии: 447

О курсе

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Лучшие рецензии

DP
8 мар. 2020 г.

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
11 июля 2017 г.

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Фильтр по:

401–425 из 442 отзывов о курсе Разработка новых финансовых инструментов и управление рисками, часть I

автор: Hilmi E

3 июня 2017 г.

Excellent overview .. Good assignments that enhance the lectures..

автор: Benjamin S K

14 июня 2020 г.

easy to understand but hard to solve quizs..(chooser option...!)

автор: Déodat V

18 апр. 2017 г.

Really good insight into the pricing of financial instruments

автор: Michael S

18 янв. 2018 г.

there is one flaw that the video is kind of obscured.

автор: Enrico M

20 июня 2020 г.

Very Interesting course. I would put more exercises

автор: Jumana P

30 мая 2020 г.

The course is extremely Challenging but worth.

автор: Aditya S

13 мая 2018 г.

It was a great course, a bit advanced though.

автор: Wei D

21 июня 2016 г.

It has better content provided than ours.

автор: Connie X

14 авг. 2019 г.

The background material is in Week 8.

автор: Bei J

20 апр. 2017 г.

Great course. Highly recommend.

автор: ASHWIN

17 апр. 2017 г.

Finding it interesting

автор: Somanshu M

8 авг. 2019 г.

Very good course...

автор: Annisa D H

15 апр. 2021 г.

too dificult

автор: Antonio S

5 февр. 2017 г.

Gorgeous

автор: Duvakli S

8 июня 2020 г.

Thanks

автор: Jung H S

4 июня 2017 г.

g

автор: Steven R

19 авг. 2015 г.

G

автор: Andrew M

11 июня 2020 г.

The course is OK. You can learn the material if you work hard to find external sources to help.

A few problems with the course... First, the people speaking in the lectures seem to be speed reading off of a piece of paper, trying to make every video below a certain time threshold. It feels less like teaching, and more like listening to someone read. Second, the handwriting is pretty bad throughout, sometimes illegible. Third, the course significantly lacks example problems along with solutions (showing work) to those problems. Lastly, this course lacks practicality. It would be nice to understand more about uses (expand on calibration of binomial options models, for example).

I have coded some examples for those looking for an extra place to learn the algorithms/math associated with some of the important points of this course: https://github.com/amittleider/FinancialEngineering .

автор: Ved B

30 апр. 2020 г.

The course content is excellent and is very wisely chosen. However more simplification is necessary. For a student with good knowledge of financial derivatives but limited knowledge of the mathematics behind it, the explanation provided by the instructors may prove to be highly insufficient (from week 4 onwards). More examples should be added by the instructors so as to make the content interesting. Interview with Emmanuel Derman was note worthy.

One more suggestion - the exercises seemed difficult in relation to the course content. A slight mismatch in the answers ( 5.62 vs 5.63) is taken as an incorrect entry. The instructors may consider providing a short range of correct answers in the system so that such mismatches do not occur.

автор: Roger S

18 мая 2020 г.

The material is engaging, interesting, and challenging; the instructors' lectures are generally good quality and easy enough to follow. However, some of the quizzes are horrendous and lead to hours upon hours of frustration as you try to get the EXACT answer to enter into the input box in order for it to be accepted as "correct". Some of quizzes rely far too much on the minutiae of Excel spreadsheet fine-tuning and can be VERY frustrating to navigate. It might be better to test general understanding of concepts or find some other way to design these quizzes. Otherwise, good course.

автор: Chatura C L

8 июля 2020 г.

The basic ideas are taught very nicely in the course, but I would have wished to see some more advanced maths such as some integrals computed in order to determine option prices and maybe a continuous time (BDT) model. At some point it was tiring to go through the binomial model.

Nevertheless the course was very interesting. Thank you very much!

автор: Priyank D

25 мая 2020 г.

I learned a lot during the course. Here are my few suggestions:1) a person should be familiar with basics as the course is highly non-descriptive.....you might confuse between financial terms time to time. 2) i think the flow of the course can be improved.The most enjoyable and tricky parts are the quizs,they are tough to crack.

автор: Lê T T T

16 июля 2020 г.

I think this course is good and gives me some useful knowledge. However, the most disadvantage is that it is lacked of example and that makes us really hard to understand and do quiz. I rank 3 stars for this course with the hope that the disadvantage will be improved to make the course more perfect.

автор: Dmitrii K

23 мая 2020 г.

I liked how binomial model was covered, clearly explained each product pricing. I also liked mortgage module explanation - with examples of the calculation in excel. However, in the first two weeks the teacher reads formulas from presentation without explaining and linking to the real examples.

автор: Bryony

15 сент. 2016 г.

The lectures weren't always easy to follow but the quizzes were really useful as they meant it was necessary to understand the material. Definitely a useful course, I will be interested to see how it relates to the real world of derivatives pricing.