Chevron Left
Вернуться к Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Finance for Non-Finance Professionals от партнера Университет Райса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,057
Рецензии: 453

О курсе

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Лучшие рецензии

KH
27 мар. 2020 г.

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

RM
16 авг. 2020 г.

This is a very well designed course. Taking you through basics and in the end puts you in a real business scenario where you are expected to take a decision based on the tools and concepts you learnt.

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 452 отзывов о курсе Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

автор: DILAN O

6 авг. 2019 г.

Thank

автор: Deleted A

11 дек. 2019 г.

Nice

автор: HASAN

31 авг. 2019 г.

good

автор: CEM

31 авг. 2019 г.

thk

автор: SONAT

29 авг. 2019 г.

..

автор: Uğur S

31 авг. 2019 г.

.

автор: VAHAP V

28 авг. 2019 г.

.

автор: AHMET Ö

26 авг. 2019 г.

.

автор: Craig E

30 янв. 2019 г.

V

автор: Vishesh A

20 июня 2020 г.

Course content is presented in a well-organised and logical manner. It is an excellent course if you want to review concepts of capital budgeting (like NPV, IRR, WACC, cost of equity, cost of debt, and DCF analysis). The professor uses Excel to solve problems, and the capstone case is also Excel-based, which adds another layer to the course. Overall, this short course if very good for reviewing basic concepts of capital budgeting, but might seem slightly difficult for those who have absolutely no background in finance.

автор: Aljazi A | K

28 апр. 2020 г.

The instructor did a great effort summarizing the key concepts in finance in digestible manner. I loved the course so much & I'm glad to complete it.

However, I would like if there were some reference textbook shared with the students (even with added price); so we can practice more, and read the materials after the instructor.

I also faced huge shock at week 5 and some difficulties solving the capstone quiz, so if there were more example to practice it would be better.

автор: Sahil G

20 апр. 2021 г.

The professor and their way of emphasizing on key points is very good. It will be good if students make live notes of what he speaks during session with practitioner.

the Home Assignments are helpful and although the capstone had many doubts the discussion forums helped.

The only thing I think can be better is giving more than one Capstone and the reading material may be increased to give more real world understanding from actual Stock markets or Corporate case studies.

автор: Steven B

3 янв. 2020 г.

I got to quite enjoy it and the presenter. I was particularly intrigued by his use of the light board and his apparent mirror writing. I almost didn't do this because the coursera guide was directing me to free trials and similar. I think that stand-alone courses like this should be easier to find. The helpdesk people did little to help and it was only after I escalated the whole thing that someone found a way that I could spend money...

автор: CHIA

26 авг. 2020 г.

Great instructor. Easy to understand. Super funny.. Most of the stuff are super easy to understand. Definitely not as dry as other course i went. Downside, Some of the math are a bit difficult for me as Instructor immediately tell us the formula without deriving it for us. Also, the capstone case study shocked me as i did not know how to start. Even with peers help, i did not score well.

автор: Joshua B

27 авг. 2019 г.

I took a sports finance course from my college three years ago. Finance for Non-Finance Professionals was a great course for me to recall the materials and equations. James Weston made the course enjoyable and informative. My negatives for the course is the difficulty of the capstone case and the length of each video, and therefore, each week. Overall, this was a great experience for me.

автор: Monica G

13 дек. 2020 г.

Love the enthusiasm of the professor, the lessons are never boring. Always on point and well explained. I felt like I learned.

Sometimes if you are rusty on algebra or not very familiar with the topic it might be harder to figure out why certain things go in a certain way, but the professor is also very responsive in the forums and usually someone asks the question you need.

автор: Nallely G J

8 окт. 2019 г.

It is a good course for people like me who does not anything or just a small piece of finance concepts and application. But just for that reason some times it is difficult to follow the information, because this has a lot of finance terminology that as a beginner unknown. Even though I had a great time and a huge learning.

автор: Meenakshi D

29 окт. 2019 г.

Excellent course ware, interesting lectures, tough quizzes/project designed to give students a good grasp over fundamentals. Accounting ratios, forecasting, variance analysis should be covered in detail to bridge the skill gap and enhance job prospects. Renaming the course should increase the number of enrollments.

автор: Andrea C R

13 июня 2020 г.

Great course. I learned a lot and for sure will recommend for people like me that wanted to start learning the basis for finance. However, be aware that in some cases you might need to look for further explanations of concepts outside the videos to be able to really answer quiz questions.

автор: Niveditha R

9 апр. 2020 г.

It explains all important topics related to financial modelling in a short and precise way. I felt few topics could be more elaborate with more examples. I would suggest this course to people who have limited time and want to start with the basics .

Thank You Professor James Weston.

автор: Mateus d C C

10 мая 2021 г.

Good course with an engaged and motivated teacher. In the last week the assigments fell off a little bit in quality with confusing questions, but overall it's good. It would be nice if the course provided suggestions of articles or books to depeen the knowledge in each week.

автор: Alberto

26 апр. 2020 г.

This course is is explained clearly by the professor. The videos where structured in a good manner and was clear to read and understand as the professor explained. There are questions in between the videos that help you take in some of the information given during the video.

автор: Lisa S O

1 июня 2019 г.

It's nice and simple. Doesn't go too far into the technical details but enough to get you started should you ever feel to venture further into the field. Provides some thoughtful reading materials. The recording is clear and the professor tries hard to engage.

3.5 stars.

автор: Hou W

4 авг. 2020 г.

the content is easy to understand and right level for people without finance background. The concepts is explained very well. The only down side I would say is that the content is probably too shallow and does not offer too much direction for self-guided study beyond.

автор: Tinrui T

28 мая 2020 г.

Overall a great course. Very clear and very conceptual, great learning for anyone interested in finance. Professor Weston is a gem and makes learning light and fun. My only problem with the course is the lack of explanation for the Capstone Quiz and Final Quiz.