Chevron Left
Вернуться к Feminism and Social Justice

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Feminism and Social Justice от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,771
Рецензии: 1,217

О курсе

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Лучшие рецензии

VK
16 июля 2021 г.

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS
22 июня 2020 г.

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 1,224 отзывов о курсе Feminism and Social Justice

автор: Tanya L

14 июля 2019 г.

This course gives me a better understanding of what ferminism is.

автор: Pavla M

30 апр. 2020 г.

This is the only feminist course on course which is both great but also really sad.

I very much liked the professor, her knowledge and personal experiences.

The course was however too short and easy to do.

Would appreciate move relevant content, films and readings.

автор: Hei T U

20 сент. 2020 г.

Prefer to have more reading than long videos

автор: ALBIN K L

23 сент. 2020 г.

it was very helpful course for me to know deeply about what feminism is. i could understand what is equality means. thank you.

автор: Iana S

25 апр. 2021 г.

Very interesting and inspiring! And even being rather short, the course contains lots of historical facts and good cases and shows how all these things are connected. Hope some day I will use those cases told by Professor Bettina Aptheker in my new podcast devoted to awareness among Ukrainian women that they live in a very hostile environment and that this must be changed. Cause we still have a high level of domestic violence and at work and during studying women face harassment all the time.

Recently my two colleagues (both journalists) talked about the 8th of March and a demonstration of women in Kyiv, the capital, the slogan of it was "The pandemic has a woman's face". Because cases of violence against women in Ukraine really became a separate epidemic during the lockdown, but women began to tell about it publicly more and more. So, my colleagues (women) at the beginning of the podcast said that they cannot remember some violence or hostility against themselves. But at the end they began to remember, yes, there were several cases of hostile behaviour from men's side in their life: at a university, at school, at work, in the street... So. Women just often think its normal, I mean, that this is like a part of life that they cannot avoid and even their memory doesn't save those cases as violent ones. Awful. Must be changed!

автор: Emma B (

10 нояб. 2020 г.

As a rising feminist who wanted to understand the history of the movement and the current movement better, along with learning about the intersectionality of different forms of oppression, this course was exactly what I was looking for. The first week of the course was really an introduction, that explained what feminism is and what components it has. The second week was about a workers strike in the 1950s, and in addition to misogyny, addressed classism and racism and the intersectionality of all of it. Week 3 was about the Angela Davis case in the 1970s, and I found it really fascinating. The fourth week was much more modern and dealt with the #MeToo movement and how that has changed the way we look at sexual violence against women. The instructor was very impressive, and it was cool that she was involved in a lot of these cases/movements, because it helped me understand what it was like firsthand. The course is also not very taxing, as I'm in school right now taking a lot of honors classes, but through extra time during the week and on the weekends I was easily able to finish it early. I found this course very interesting and educational, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a deeper look on feminism.

автор: Barbra A

2 мая 2020 г.

First and foremost, I would recommend all women with a lack or little understanding on feminism or female social justice that have an interest in the area to enroll for this short course.

I am very privileged to have been a part of the Feminism and social justice journey. I have appreciated and learnt that we as women, we should at all times uplift each other to promote social justice without discrimination.

Also, I have learnt that Rape is an offence that no woman should keep silent on because it is unjust and against your human rights, because one has not consented to this kind of violence.

When women take part in events, it only makes progress easy as it is more facilitated rather than only men enforcement.

Lastly, I encourage all women to focus on bettering themselves for themselves and not to solely rely on men for progress, happiness among others because only doing this makes you vulnerable to male oppression and criticism.

автор: Silvia A D P

20 июля 2020 г.

I really loved this course. I learned a lot throughout the course, it became too short for how much I liked it, now all that remains is to continue reading, inform myself and continue learning about feminism and social justice. The topics discussed were not boring at all and I can only thank deeply for all that new knowledge and awareness that I acquired. I can say with complete honesty that this course allowed me to clarify some of my ideas about feminism and offered me a totally new vision on topics that I had not considered much either because of my privileged situation or because they have never happened to me. I just hope to put this new knowledge into practice and try to put the seed of questioning our behavior in the people around me.

автор: Reema K

29 апр. 2021 г.

Loved the crisp yet deep overview of historical and contemporary contexts of the feminist and social justice movement which has implications from across various sections of society and system. Thank you Professor Bettina Aptheker for your genuinely passionate and curiosity-led course which left a lot of room for thinking about these issues in current contexts and our own place and time. Strangely enough, it also helps lend credibility to many pervasive experiences of injustice in our daily life- private or public and this course helps one with the vocabulary and confidence to process, contextualise and postulate one's experiences and understanding in charged current times especially in India and the world.

автор: Nupur B

27 апр. 2021 г.

It was a very informative and interesting course. I Really liked the way of teaching of the professor. She was well versed and a knowledgeable resource person. I have learnt the basics of feminism and understood the working definition of feminism even the purpose and importance of feminism in todays era.

Topics like Empire ZINC movement, Angela Davis' trial, arrest and prosecution were incredible.

#METOO Movement has helped me identifying the societal changes that have prevailed in our society and even in the whole world.

It has also helped me to analyze the effects of various feminism movements that have taken place until now.

Overall it was a great experience studying this course.👍

автор: Eliany A M D

6 июля 2020 г.

Un buen curso que permite ampliar el entendimiento acerca de la interseccionalidad, la mujer, la raza, la etnia interrelacionadas, para la opresión y discriminación.

Considero que estos tipos de cursos deben extenderse, y además hablar sobre feminismo en los colegio, en la clase de historia, porque algo que he notado es que esta parte de la historia esta oculta, negada, y excluida de los curriculas e identidades del estudiantado. El mundo debe conocer los logros feministas, las niñas deben reconocer que su mundo es distinto, que puede gozar de ser niñas y mujeres libres, propias de su personas, gracias a estas luchas y reivindicaciones feministas a lo largo de la historia.

автор: soumya p

8 апр. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course and was able to finish it way before the stipulated time because of how much i could relate to the experiences shared throughout the course. The discussion forum was really informative as well as the question aimed to get a more wholesome understanding of how abuse operates in different parts of the world and reading through it really made me feel like women essentially have the same experiences throughout the world. Some of the cases studied during the course took place before I was even born and reading about them really helped me in broadening my understanding of how social movements and Feminism has evolved over centuries of struggle.

автор: Завьялова Л И

30 мар. 2020 г.

The course Feminism and Social Justice is really great! Thanks to Bettina Aptheker, I know more of the history of feminism and how it developed. Incredibly interesting, quite brief and powerful, it made me think of the current social environment in my country and in the world in general. As a consequence, I should say I am ready to spur into immediate action to help people treated unfairly. Moreover, the professor is very knowledgeable. She managed to make many complicated concepts into easily understandable parts. I would definitely recommend the course to my friends and acquaintances as the information given here is worth knowing and studying.

автор: Camila

20 мая 2021 г.

This course is a great introduction to feminism and social justice through case studies that reflect on the weeks topic. I enjoyed Bettina Aptheker's approach to the lessons and I feel like I learned a lot about the history of feminism and social justice movements in the US. As I said, this is a great introductory course, as it teaches with examples and especific court cases to support the point being made. I find amazing that someone who is a prominent activist and writer offers such an accesible course. I would definitely take another course with her on whatever topic she wants to teach, that's how much I enjoyed having her as an instructor.

автор: estefania l

4 авг. 2020 г.

Fue un curso bastante satisfactorio para adentrarme a entender que significa feminismo y justicia social , lo recomiendo al 100 por ciento , la profesora te explica de una manera básica como estos términos se relacionan con otros para que toen un significado mas general pero a la vez cambia a través del tiempo y observamos esto con ejemplos de épocas anteriores y las comparamos con casos que suceden hoy en día en nuestro tiempo y como aun estamos en una lucha constante para que la mujer sea considerada en todos los ámbitos existentes igual a u hombre pero en el sentido de igual que verán en el curso , igual en humanidad

автор: Riya B

31 окт. 2020 г.

It was quite informative and comprehensible. I loved how the course included videos and information from the past which allowed me to connect the dots and understand the origins of various issues, the laws and policies that were formed and changed along with time and with different movements. Before taking the course, all I understood about feminism was "a movement demanding equality". This course has helped me broaden my horizon on the very concept of feminism, especially by introducing the concept of intersectionality and collective empowerment. I would definitely recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

автор: Барташевич М І

17 мая 2020 г.

This course realli inspired me. I am a philosophy student and the next year I am supposed to write my graduate work, but I had some problems with choosing the topic, because the theme of my bachelor`s work did not inspire me any more. So, it was some kind of creative crisis. But then I saw this course. Earlie I`ve been studying feminism and especially the famous work of Simone de Beauvoir The Second Sex, so I decided to join. And now I`m really thinking of choosing feminism for my graduate work. In conclusion I`d like to point out that this course is really easy to learn and I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you for that!:)

автор: Zainab R

7 апр. 2020 г.

I am so glad I was able to take this course and I wish more and more people would take it:

a) Dr Aptheker is a brilliant teacher—her lectures are coherent and she is very clear about what she is talking about. It was a delight to take this course from someone like who has been a part of such great movements.

b) It is an important course for anyone who is interested in feminism and social justice; it focuses on intersectionality, Dr Aptheker makes use of cases that we have heard of to go ahead with what she wants to talk about, the course looks through an interdisciplinary lens which makes it all the more interesting.

автор: Bryan A G B

2 авг. 2020 г.

Professor Aptheker is person who has a lot of knowledge and conscience about the topic, having studied it, practicing it and actually taken an active role in many of the most known famous feminist movements in the world. Her course was full of historic background, current issues and a lot of self-deconstruction about the way we live and think. This course focuses on feminism and social justice movements overall, treating every topic with respect and a big amount of awareness, since exact dates, facts, and quotes are brought to the conversation. I absolutely recommend this course made by Professor Aptheker.

автор: Jennifer S

27 июня 2020 г.

Este curso respondió a una de mis pasiones y prinicipios y su construcción es impecable. La profesora Bettina Aptheker es una contadora de historias excepcional, su conocimiento del tema, su amabilidad y deseo de transmitir sus conocimientos y la consciencia social que implican, fueron importantes para el seguimiento y terminación del curso. Los temas son realmente interesantes y pertinentes. El curso está estructurado para enlazar correctamente el feminismo y la necesidad de que el mismo (o los mismos) sean o respondan a luchas sociales omnicomprensivas. Muchas gracias, lo disfruté y aprendí mucho.

автор: sofia b l

26 авг. 2020 г.

I loved the course! Im 16 years old and it really made me think and reflect on many many things and aspects of our society today. Bettina is an amazing woman and lecturer and I will for sure continue to research about her. If yo want to learn about feminism, social justice, the power of social movements, privilege, violence and so much more interesting topics this is your course. I really am thrilled to continue investigating and learn so much more about social justice after doing this course, so I really hope if your reading this you give it a chance because you are not going to regret it. :)

автор: Veronica N

2 февр. 2020 г.

I found this course to be incredibly interesting. The lectures were the right links and covered the right amount of detail. The instructor has a great deal of in-depth knowledge about the subject, and even first-hand knowledge. I liked the learning checks during the lecture, the discussion questions, and the quizzes. I especially liked that there was no writing required on my part. I have taken this course to familiarize myself with the subject and had there been a lot of writing involved, I would not have signed up. My life is too busy so this course is perfect as it is designed.

автор: Ajnabi K P

8 июня 2020 г.

Social justice feminism is the practice of recognizing issues of oppression dealing with race, class, sexuality, and citizenship and challenging them through practice rather than theory. This form of feminism allows for a broader audience beyond the white middle aged women who began the movement. It actively fights racism and class privilege by “ensuring that those most affected by policies and practices are at the decision making table.” It advocates for more women of color in leadership roles and allows recognition for global gender justice and women's rights.

автор: Caroline k

17 нояб. 2020 г.

i really like this course. no like is an understatement I love this course. The stories are so inspiring. not boring at all. It taught me the true meaning of feminism opened my eyes to how unfair this world is ,how many concepts we live on are entirely wrong. this difference btw man and women , between black and white, between classes is just a society abstract thriving for power while stumping on the weak.

i learned the relation between feminism, class, race ... Cause we cant reach a level of equality if some group of people cant get justice.

автор: Cemre A

29 нояб. 2020 г.

Most of my life people called me "you are such an opposer" or "..such a feminist" in a very condescending way. I've always thought to myself "I am not a feminist because it is ridiculous to defend what I already have. It is like defending my right to blink". But I was in denial because people put so much negativity in the concept, made it sound like women are just being spoiled. This course gave me the courage to embrace feminism and understand it in a deeper level. And Prof. Aptheker is THE BEST. I am so glad I took this course.