Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fashion as Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fashion as Design от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 727
Рецензии: 165

О курсе

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Лучшие рецензии

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

Фильтр по:

151–165 из 165 отзывов о курсе Fashion as Design

автор: Lily M

Dec 04, 2019

The course has continued to improve my love for fashion, and it has made me more passionate to not only be bold in what I wear but be educated in what I'm wearing. I feel so much smarter when it comes to talking about fashion and different cultures.

автор: Pedro O V

Nov 20, 2017

Nice selection of garments as examples and discussion points. Excellent points made through the whole course as to the modern discussions happening in the fashion world. Good introduction into thinking about fashion as a design discipline.

автор: Connie Y

Jan 12, 2018

Good but a bit easy.

автор: Alejandra D A

Nov 11, 2017

What is really awesome and enlightening about this course is the approach to fashion items through their own design and the message for which they were created or have been used for. Each piece of clothing contains a sort of secret that we can discover or re discover in this course.

автор: Joy S

Jan 14, 2018

interesting. Has a lot of reading and you need to read it or you won't pass quizzes.

автор: veenamadhuri

May 22, 2018

i really got to know what are deep wonderful things that we never see in designs and clothes.

автор: 刘春燕

Jan 22, 2018

It is an interesting course which you can know the history and shift of meanings of fashion items. I really learn a lot through it.

автор: Marjolaine G

Dec 23, 2017

Very enjoyable course but I feel like it was heavily based on the exploration on items instead of waves of movements. Week 7 was the best week with the most actual questioning and exploration into fashion and deeper meaning. All in all, I still enjoyed it and learned a lot about the history of various clothing items.

Edit: Very high quality sources for videos and articles!

автор: cat j

Apr 04, 2018

nicely made. great extra material

автор: Lisa L

Jun 29, 2018

thank you!

автор: Olesya M

Mar 25, 2019

Made me think about fashion in a different light. There is so much more than meets the eye.

автор: Radhvi K

Jun 24, 2019

just understood, Fashion with different eyes..!

автор: qingjian w

Jun 21, 2019

Good intro for fashion

автор: Lukas R

Sep 19, 2019

Interesting insights.

автор: Imogen B

Oct 02, 2019

Although I found most of what was featured in the course interesting, and it allowed me to approach fashion from a more academic perspective for the first time, I feel there are some areas where it falls short slightly. Due to the course being based on an exhibition, I sometimes felt as though I wasn't really exploring the topic as much as I would have liked, as if I was just paying to go through the exhibition, rather than through a course. The way that everything was peer-assessed and reviewed is, while a good idea, sometimes a bit irritating as I would spend lots of time and effort forming a (hopefully!) insightful reflection, and would look at other people's submissions to see one-word answers. It felt a bit strange that I ended up getting the same certificate from the course as another person despite putting in a lot more effort. I would have liked my thoughts (or at least the final essay) to be seen by a professional, so I could actually improve my writing skills and knowledge of fashion. However, I fully understand that it would really be impossible to allow this for the thousands of people taking the course- I think this may be more of a flaw with my expectations rather than one of the course itself. I also thought there was a slight disconnect between the nature of the course week-by-week and the final essay. The multiple choice knowledge questions, quizzing us on dates and names doesn't match up to the final essay, which was very self-reflective and quite subjective in nature.