Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fashion as Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fashion as Design от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
stars
Оценки: 755
Рецензии: 170

О курсе

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Лучшие рецензии

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 170 отзывов о курсе Fashion as Design

автор: Chantal M

May 06, 2018

This was an incredible course! I learned so much about the evolution of fashion and how the industry has grown and developed over the past century. It is incredibly well taught, and the videos give you a visual sense of what it is that you're learning. I would highly recommend!

автор: Jayne E L

Aug 30, 2019

This class is more than what I expected. It is so interesting, and actually life changing. I find myself sharing the information I learned, especially the impact clothing has on the environment, but also it’s history. Fascinating. Thank you for such an excellent class.

автор: Gabrielle S R

May 29, 2018

This course is very informative and I highly recommend it to anyone who is considering a career anywhere in the fashion industry. The course is structured and the readings and videos complement each other wonderfully. You will not be disappointed in this course!

автор: Sophie T

Jan 14, 2018

This course is really interesting and fascinating! I've learned a lot about famous items of garments and its history. If I happened to be in NYC, I would definitely go to the MoMA exhibition. I candidly recommend this course to people who interested in fashion.

автор: dylan t l d

Oct 07, 2019

I really like the short and direct way that the teachers spoke, clearly and informatively. And the new artistry I learned about is so COOL! This was a great course and i couldn't wait to get back to work on it. I will be looking at other MoMa course on here.

автор: Грудко М

Sep 11, 2018

This course has helped me to plunge into the history of fashion, to find out what actually is a casual wear and the importance of being eco-friendly in the modern world. Grateful to The Museum of Modern Art of useful and interesting training program.

автор: Lily M

Dec 04, 2019

The course has continued to improve my love for fashion, and it has made me more passionate to not only be bold in what I wear but be educated in what I'm wearing. I feel so much smarter when it comes to talking about fashion and different cultures.

автор: chhavi v

Jul 29, 2019

It was an amazing course that gave me insight into something I am looking forward to studying in college. I am currently a junior and always wanted to do something regarding design. This course definitely gave me a feeling of that subject area.

автор: Tadea S I J

Jan 04, 2019

I really loved it because you get to aknowledge a lot of things about fashion that most of us ignore and are kind of essential to designing. I really recomend this course for any fashion lover or designer interested in the fashion industry.

автор: Sandra M

Aug 23, 2018

This course was truly amazing experience, so much more than what I expected. The sea of information is gathered in such smart, consistent, organized way that it is impossible to even think anything is omitted. I applaud to its creators!

автор: Jenny P M A

Jan 13, 2020

Me encanto este curso supero mis expectativas creo que es emasiado buieno y agradezco a Coursera y a Rhe Museum of Modern Art por esta Gran oportunidad Mucghas Grcias a las Docentes.Mucgas gracias de verdad

JENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

автор: Suyenne S H

Nov 10, 2019

This course has given me the kind of depth I've been looking for the study of fashion design, clothing construction and its history. I definitely recommend especially for those interested in the research aspect of fashion design.

автор: E P

Jul 02, 2018

I learned a lot from this course, and it had one of the more active discussion groups I've seen in a Coursera course. I love that it went into the details of the exhibition and into how the exhibition was conceived and curated.

автор: Claudia C

Jan 15, 2018

A really interesting and easy to follow course, perfect for professionals but also for general culture. Opened up my mind and made me think about certain things from different perspective. Really really enjoyed it!!!

автор: Kai L

Nov 19, 2018

I had learned so so so much through this class that I don't even know where and how to begin. My passion toward fashion has raised so much with this course. Thank you MoMA and the course team for all the efforts!

автор: Kimberley H

Feb 13, 2018

Fantastic, inspirational and engaging course. I learned more about fashion than I ever knew. I enjoyed learning about couture and silhouettes, and particularly liked the Mars boot prototype and the sneaker mask.

автор: Gabriel T R

Jan 16, 2018

This course is one of the best I've taken in a while. If you have an interest for art hisory and cultural background of things this curse will show you how to understand the context of garments in fashion.

автор: Clara T A

Aug 29, 2018

This is a fantastic super recomended course for anyone who likes fashion and design aswell as to know the background of many iconic fashion pieces!

Thank you MoMa! It was a pleasure! I would take it again!

автор: Dario A

Aug 29, 2018

I enjoyed every minute spent on this course, incredibly interesting it explores fashion from many points of view, it definitely gave me a lot to think about when it comes to or relationship with clothes

автор: Candace R

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

автор: Elisabet A

Apr 11, 2019

This is a very interesting course. I feel I have learnt a lot about history of fashion and the most important aspects linked to the industry, specially sustainability. I totally recommend it.

автор: Züleyha K

Nov 05, 2018

A great course to start as a beginner and understand the concept from the start. Lot of great information and great sources, if you are interested I suggest you to take this course!

автор: Natalia K

Aug 20, 2018

A fresh look at the acute problems. Clearly described garments, given interesting facts and details from the history of clothing. I recommend for the expansion of personal knowledge

автор: Deborah G

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

автор: Mariana T V

Sep 24, 2018

Tiene información muy completa sobre la historia detrás de las prendas que han construido a nuestra sociedad y su repercusión a nivel cultural, social, medioambiental y económico.