Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basics of Extracellular Vesicles

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basics of Extracellular Vesicles от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Ирвайне

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 263
Рецензии: 70

О курсе

This course aims to provide the basic knowledge about extracellular vesicles (EV) a generic term including exosomes, microvesicles, microparticles, ectosomes, oncosomes, prostasomes, and many others. It covers areas such as EV history, nomenclature, biogenesis, EV cargo as well as the release and uptake mechanisms, collection and processing prior to isolation, different isolation methods, characterization and quantification techniques. This course is divided into five modules. Module 1 is an introduction to the field and will cover the nomenclature and the history of EVs. Module 2 will focus on the biogenesis, release and uptake mechanisms of EVs as well as the different EV cargos (RNA, protein, lipids). In Module 3, we will focus on the collection and processing of cell culture media and body fluids such as blood, breast milk, cerebrospinal fluid and urine prior to isolation of EVs. Module 4 and 5 will present different isolation methods and characterization/quantification techniques, respectively. Here differential ultracentrifugation, size exclusion chromatography, density gradient, kit based precipitation, electron microscopy (EM), cryo-TEM, flow cytometry, atomic-force microscopy and nanoparticle tracking analysis will be presented. The recommended prerequisites are college-freshman-level biology and biochemistry. After a completed course you should be able to: + Discuss the nomenclature and subgroups of extracellular vesicles. + Describe the RNA, protein and lipid content of extracellular vesicles. + Describe the basic concepts about the most common isolation and characterization techniques and how these techniques are used in the EV field. + State the benefits and limitations of the most common isolation and characterization techniques for extracellular vesicles. + Explain the considerations that are important during the collection and isolation of EVs from different body fluid. + Describe the release and uptake mechanisms of extracellular vesicles All lectures are given in English. Each of the five modules will be followed by an exam. All exams will be in the format of multiple choice questions. The course is organized in collaboration between the International Society for Extracellular Vesicles (ISEV), University of California Irvine (USA), University of Gothenburg (Sweden) and Pohang University of Science and Technology (South Korea)....

Лучшие рецензии

MH

Jan 11, 2019

Awosome course. Lot of information given with paper based data and suggestion. I really love it. I am also working with Exosome. I use cell culture media from PC12 and fibroblast cell line.

DD

May 17, 2020

I found Ia very professional way to introduce everyone to the amazing world of EV. Professor show elegantly their knowledge. The course fulfils my expectations. Congratulations! Nice works

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 67 отзывов о курсе Basics of Extracellular Vesicles

автор: Denise S

Mar 16, 2017

It's a great course, learnt a lot. It would have been great if the slides were provided too and addition of discussion forums would also help to cultivate what we have learnt better by exchanging views with fellow classmates. Thanks very much for providing the course.

автор: Florencia I

Jun 30, 2019

I loved this course! Very complete, well balanced and dynamic lectures. I learned a lot about EVs and can't wait to start working with them!

автор: Sandra M D A

Mar 09, 2019

Me ha gustado mucho este curso, ya que he aprendido muchos conocimientos sobre las vesículas extracelulares.

автор: Shukhman B

Nov 12, 2016

The most important benefit of this course is the fact that it exists. At present the course is mediocre to bad: its educational value is low: transcripts are disgusting, they are not proofread, omitted pats of sentences, inconsistent English, they almost completely obscure, disrupt the sense of the presentation. The course offers no slides. I see obvious negligence in preparation of many lectures (especially bad week three).

The target audience for the course is professional biologist that are comparable with arithmetic and elementary algebra and can easily use an internet browser.

The course contains numerous mistakes: in particular, the elementary formula Dr. Cecilia Lasser presented in her week 4 lecture on Differential Ultracentrifugation contains an error.

The lectures presented by non-native English speakers are very difficult to understand because of poor & inconsistent English.

Please, make the lecture slide available for your students.

Please, arrange a forum giving a possibility to ask a questions and get understanding of the material that remains unclear.

The lectures on electron microscopy were very good, - thank you, Johanna!

The lectures on AFM was the only one that was just excellent, - Thank you, Dr. Shivani Sharma.

Please, review the sequence of lectures: I think the week 5 material may be moved to week 3.

автор: Judith D M

Jan 01, 2018

I loved this course! I currently work in the liposome field and I was curious about learning EVs especially because its a young and growing field where they will be a lot of things to study. I liked the combination of scientists who got on board to share their knowledge in the field and I will definitely think of studying EVs in the future.

автор: Priyanka B

Apr 10, 2020

I loved the way the professors explained every concept and the presentations had all the important points to be noted. Images were used effectively and the transcripts were also useful. Quiz had all tricky questions and it was a good experience in finding out all the answers from the videos. Thank you

автор: Samantha S

Aug 29, 2016

This course was really well organized and paced but packed full of a lot of really good information from great sources and leaders in the field. I really didn't know anything about exosomes before I started this course and now I feel like I can even teach the people in my own lab a few tricks.

автор: Momchil N

Mar 28, 2020

Very good and well organized lecture slides! The organizers invested obviously a lot of effort and time in the preparation of the course. For people with advanced knowledge in cell biology, it might appear a bit easy at the beginning, but a lot to learn on the side of the techniques!

автор: Santharam K S

Jun 09, 2020

It is an excellent course in terms of content and the speakers. I wish you had a demo of experiments on a couple of topics. I gained immense knowledge on extracellular vesicles after attending this course. Thank you very much to all the speakers for sharing their valuable knowledge.

автор: Hasanul B

Oct 14, 2016

This is one of the best course I ever completed successfully. The course instructor's describe all the critical problems arise during the lab work. I believe by following this course one may get inspiration to start work in the field of Extracellular Vesicles.

автор: Esteban J O H

May 15, 2019

Very complete introduction to the field of exosomes with relevant bibliography and relevant papers to move deep into this amiazing and exciting field. Thanks for all the person who made this possible and hope to see you on the next ISEV2020.

автор: Azalea K

Jul 27, 2018

Very good and informative course. I learnt a lot about EVs and exosomes, which are usually not found in published articles or books. I wish somebody had recommended this course before I started my PhD, would have saved me a lot of time!!

автор: Nima K T

Oct 28, 2019

Hi , I am a veterinary student fascinated by extracellular vesicles , and with the help of this course I could learn the basic of this vast field , and I promise to continue on this path that one day I will share my works with coursera.

автор: Jai M

Jan 02, 2017

I am a masters student doing an EV related lab project, this course has provided great insight into EV research from leaders in the field. Importantly, this has made me aware of what to look out for in the literature.

Many Thanks!

автор: Ashley R

Jun 30, 2017

I learned SO much from this course. I'm so glad I took it! Although I did the free (audit) version, I do wish that I could have taken all of the quizzes for each week to ensure I fully internalized and understood the information.

автор: Thais S M L

May 26, 2020

I loved this course! I was extremely happy with the quality of the classes. Teachers deserve congratulations. It helped me to learn more about this beautiful universe of extracellular vesicles.

автор: MD N H

Jan 11, 2019

Awosome course. Lot of information given with paper based data and suggestion. I really love it. I am also working with Exosome. I use cell culture media from PC12 and fibroblast cell line.

автор: David

May 17, 2020

I found Ia very professional way to introduce everyone to the amazing world of EV. Professor show elegantly their knowledge. The course fulfils my expectations. Congratulations! Nice works

автор: Minos V

Jan 31, 2018

The only problem I faced, has to do with the subtitles. They have lots of mismatches and mistakes. Nevertheless, the MOOC is undoubtedly great and pretty educational.

автор: Madhura K

Aug 05, 2020

Awesome and unique course. Cleared my basics and introduced me to many new things. I especially loved knowing the different techniques used for EV research.

автор: Ronak H

Jun 28, 2020

Loved the course and gained knowledge about this field. But I wish a discussion forum could be present. Also the lecture slides should be made available.

автор: Karem J N

Aug 20, 2018

El curso es muy completo en cuanto a conceptos generales de los exosomas y a las tecnicas generales que para analisis y caracterizacion

автор: Daniel J O

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent focused topic course. Upper division level and helps to have a good course in cell biology as a prerequisite..

автор: Jaime A D V

Nov 06, 2019

OUTSTANDING COURSE ABOUT EXTRACELLULAR VESICLES, SPECIALLY ANALYZE THEM FROM BIOGENESIS TO PHENOTYPE.

THANK YOU SO MUCH

автор: Janviere K

Apr 24, 2017

I enjoyed how the course touched on all important aspects of EVs in depth providing relevant and supportive literature