Chevron Left
Вернуться к Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects) от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 253
Рецензии: 81

О курсе

In this course, learners will complete several VBA projects. It is highly recommended that learners first take "Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" and "Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2". This course builds off of skills learned in those two courses. This is a project-based course. Therefore, the projects are quite open-ended and there are multiple ways to solve the problems. Through the use of Peer Review, other learners will grade learners' projects based on a grading rubric....

Лучшие рецензии

DC

Sep 28, 2018

Projects were enjoyable and challenging. Instructor is excellent -- does a great job of explaining the material and interacting with learners. Content very relevant to real-world projects.

VV

Oct 15, 2018

The course was really good. It helped me gain knowledge about the various aspects of excel which had been untouched by me. It has helped me in my professional endeavours too.\n\nThank You

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 81 отзывов о курсе Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects)

автор: Brad H

Jun 02, 2018

The projects in this course were challenging, but at no point did I feel completely loss. The lessons leading into the projects were very informative. I had to refer to Level 2 a few times and rewatch the videos, but never really had to search the internet. Overall a very good course.

автор: Gina K

Jul 14, 2018

I really enjoyed those free projects! Very challenging. However, I am not the biggest fan of peer reviews. For people wanting to finish the subscription earlier and not go with 3 month fees it is basically impossible. Either one doesn't get reviews - even after posting into discussion forums - or one cannot upload because it is not open yet as the course officially hasn't started. Or one switches sessions backwards and one is too late in submitting and doesn't get reviews in time either. I would prefer much more having grader and the peer review just as a second option to learn from others in case one gets absolutely stuck or to see other ways to do it. But to make passing and timing dependable on this: not helpful. Other than that, again, loved the class. :) Thanks!

автор: Konstantin P

Mar 14, 2019

It was very interesting course. There are 6 open-ended projects. Students can choose ones that they like to complete and they can complete another projects in future. To complete some of projects students should surf the internet, discuss problems in forums.

Another good point is review of peers' works. There are many interesting approaches used for completion a task.

It was rather challenging and useful.

автор: Nian L

Oct 17, 2019

This series of VBA courses from UC Boulder is one of the best for beginner to learn VBA coding. The materials and videos are well organized; Charlie is an excellent instructor to guide you through different topics step by step. The assignments are very helpful to enhance and improve your ability to be able to code independently if you put in the work. Part 3 is project-oriented, the projects involved are all very practical and can be applied in various real-life/working environment. I feel extremely grateful that Charlie has put this course on Coursera, I loved the experience. One minor issue is that since the grades are from peer-review, sometime it's hard to wait for/find other classmates to grade. My approach is to use sharable link and leave messages while review others/ in the discussion forum. Hope this little tip will help the later classmates to get their grades smoothly.

автор: Diego A Q

Jan 28, 2019

I did not know any VBA before this specialization, but now thanks to it, I do!

In this third part of the specialization, you have to develop some challenging projects where you will use all what you have learned on part I and II. You can even choose in the first three weeks which projects suits best to your learning goals.

Although I did not required extra help, I noticed that the Instructor Nuttelman responses via the forum, which is great. Also, even though there is no grader but peer reviews , I received nice and useful feedback from other students, who at this point are all capable of reviewing and commenting other's work.

In my opinion, this course is very well structured! and Nuttelman's english pronuntiation is very clear which is important for me as a non native English speaker.

автор: Roger W

Dec 08, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I believe VBA is an underappreciated language because many individuals undervalue its practical application. Part 3 allows your understanding of VBA to migrate toward this more valuable aspect of VBA.

In terms of course content, Charlie is a fantastic lecturer willing to go above and beyond for all course-related matters. Also, the slow peer-reviewing issue can be fixed by using the discussion forums as a medium to negotiate quicker reviews. I would 100% recommend this course to any individual looking to transform/optimise excel-related processes (or any process that can be completed in excel).

автор: Tim T

Oct 09, 2019

The projects were definitely challenging, the 2nd one more so than the first or third, but it allowed me enough practice to get good at both user forms as well as coding / debugging. Extremely well put together course. At first I wasn't a fan of the peer grading, but each assignment is graded by 3 people, and then it takes the median of the score given by those 3 people. For example if someone wasn't paying attention, and marked you as 0 for a rubric part that gives 0 or 3 points, but the other 2 graders did give you 3 points, then you would get 3 points for that section. Very fair.

автор: Moreno C

May 29, 2019

Course 3 is the most demanding but also the most rewarding of the specialization.

The projects go well beyond the mere application of the set of skills developed during the first two courses.

Fortunately, the instructor provides useful videos that make all the projects feasible, with the due amount of effort.

I would recommend to complete all the projects, not only those that are required to obtain the certificate since each project contributes to strengthen different abilities.

автор: Kennie N H

Nov 26, 2018

I liked the projects as they allowed you to showcase what you have learned through part 1 and 2. And if you have any issues, you receive a very quick response from the course instructor via the forum.

Prior to this specialization I already had some experience with VBA, a large part of my master's thesis was done using it, but I was still able to learn new stuff, and more importantly, just get a better understanding of VBA and becoming more confident in using it.

автор: Xavier h S

Apr 12, 2020

Best course on how to use Excel/Vba for solving engineering and management problems. Applying Monte carlo simulation to practical problems has never been easier before taking this course.

автор: Juan M F M

Jan 07, 2020

Excellent course and excellent specialization. Charlie, thank you so much, you are a great professor and a nice person.

автор: Ronald d R

Jun 06, 2018

Challenging and rewarding. Very useful and complete. Great tutor support. A course i am enjoying very, very much.

автор: aashray k

Jul 18, 2019

I have been a portfolio manager at a hedge fund for some time, so I approached this series of courses with a view to using VBA professionally. The first two parts of the 3-course series are fantastic - lectures and assignments. The third part had excellent assignments, exactly the sorts of problems one tackles professionally. The only negative feedback I have is that I found the peer review system a bit hit or miss - some reviewers were very diligent, while others were a bit cursory or failed a project because of an error I and other peer reviewers didn't see (maybe due to an older version of Excel, etc.). I have taken a few different Coursera courses and in terms of utility to time ratio, this series is fantastic. Thanks Professor Nuttelman!

автор: Mark D

Jan 19, 2020

Instructor and videos are very good. Peer review process and coursera's software for grading could be improved. Students should be able to see how many times their project has been graded while they wait for a grade to be finalized. Students should be able to see a history of the projects they graded for others and be able to change grades if there was a mistake in the grading process.

автор: Akos N

Jul 19, 2019

Part 3 is somewhat a disappointing finish for the terrific P1 and P2 courses. There are simply not enough course takers so that the peer review system would make sense. Moreover, it really only focuses on user forms which is a very limited tool compared to other alternatives available in Excel. I highly recommend taking P1 and P2, but the only thing that kept me going is to get the set fully complete...

автор: Igor S

Jun 07, 2020

Although you have most of the tools in hand after completing Part 1 and 2 of the specialization, and can google the rest, you will definitely learn new things if you decide to invest time into this part. Dr Nuttelman guides you through the projects, teaching various VBA tricks in the process. In addition to coding in VBA, I also learned more about Regression analysis, matrix multiplication, general statistics - all the things I struggle to understand in my profession. If one type of project is not for you, there is an alternative for some of them. On the downside, it is a rather large time commitment but I'd say it's worthwhile.

автор: Maria C

Jun 29, 2018

Thanks a lot for the great course and great specialization!Working in Supply Chain Planning, I need deep knowledge of Excel, especially now, when companies tend to save on expensive tools like SAP or Oracle. I always wanted to learn Excel VBA, but it seemed not easy to me.It was a surprise for me that VBA can be explained so well, in a structured way and with great examples! Instructor Charlie creates very nice and friendly atmosphere in the course and provides great and very talented teaching!Thank you for that! I will recommend excel VBA specialization to my friends and colleagues.

автор: Matus K

May 09, 2020

Excellent "trilogy" of VBA courses. This third one was about the application of all the knowledge learned in the part 1 and 2. I totally agree with the instructor professor Charlie Nuttelman - the best way of learning something is by doing challenging projects when we need to rack our brains. Thanks a lot for this series of Excel/VBA for creative problem solving. The instructor is awesome and provides a lot of useful tricks and information needed for the accomplishment of the assignments and also applicable in real problems.

автор: Aleksej A

Jan 26, 2020

Best course in the series as you really get to put your acquired knowledge into practice. I though the projects were diverse enough to find interesting applications across various fields. The final project was very interesting and worth doing as you get to create a sizeable application from scratch with a large amount of code that was as tricky to troubleshoot as it was to write and you had to learn from your mistakes over and over again.

автор: Albert L

Feb 14, 2020

I would like to thank the instructor for his engagement, high-quality material, and useful comments. This course has helped me cement the knowledge from the previous 2 courses, and I am now a confident user of VBA. Even though it is impossible for any course to cover all the aspects of a programming language, it does provide a solid basis which one can further develop their skills upon. Keep up the good work!

автор: Teo Y Z

May 28, 2020

A great course by Professor Charlie Nuttelman! He teaches us the foundations for each project, without giving too much away so that we can use our creativity to solve the projects. Some projects take longer than others, but they definitely help to reinforce the concepts from parts 1 & 2 of the course. There's also new contents learnt that can be applied to real-world scenarios.

автор: Lindsey L

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent course. Charlie is very good communicator. Encourage anyone learning Excel VBA to take it. The Week 5 problem was challenging but not difficult. There are some things I wished had been covered such as coding best practices, variable naming, in code documentation. Also, would appreciate suggestions as to other course to continue improving my programming skills.

автор: Yuan L

Oct 31, 2019

I love this specialization!

Charlie is a very nice and patient instructor.

He starts from the very basic knowledge of programming language. He explains each project from the sketch and the structure of each project is very clear. He is good at using concise words to describe a complicated issue. I learned a lot from these real projects in this part3. Thanks!

автор: Charles H

Jun 04, 2020

Great, great series of courses. I consider myself a VBA veteran, but I learned so much in this class. I was also able to apply the fourth week project directly into some analysis I was doing for my job (very good timing). Prof. Nuttelman is a great teacher who does a great job of balancing instruction with also challenging folks to figure it out.

автор: Andrés T R

Apr 30, 2020

The course was really helpful to develop my skills using VBA and I think that the approach of having to do projects to complete each of the course weeks is the best way to put in practice the things you learn on the two previous courses.