Chevron Left
Вернуться к Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Excel Skills for Business: Essentials от партнера Университет Маккуори

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 28,450
Рецензии: 7,793

О курсе

In this first course of the specialization Excel Skills for Business, you will learn the essentials of Microsoft Excel. Within six weeks, you will be able to expertly navigate the Excel user interface, perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, professionally format spreadsheets, and create visualizations of data through charts and graphs. Whether you are self-taught and want to fill in the gaps for better efficiency and productivity, or whether you have never used Excel before, this course will set you up with a solid foundation to become a confident user and develop more advanced skills in later courses. We have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. A broad range of practice quizzes and challenges will provide great opportunities to build up your skillset. Work through each new challenge with our team and in no time you will surprise yourself with how far you have come. Spreadsheet software is one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, make sure to position yourself ahead of the rest by adding Excel skills to your employment portfolio....

Лучшие рецензии

KG

Jun 09, 2020

Very good teaching of fundamentals. Everything was explained in a really structured manner. Final assessment was like cherry on the cake as it helped in revisiting what has been taught over the weeks.

KS

Jun 30, 2020

This is an amazing course for learners. I am having a lot of fun completing this course from the starting point. It is very much enjoyable and the way the course teachers deliver every lecture superb.

Фильтр по:

7076–7100 из 7,787 отзывов о курсе Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

автор: Pramit S

Apr 20, 2019

H

автор: ABHIGAURAV S

Feb 11, 2019

A

автор: Tyson M

Nov 13, 2018

-

автор: djenabou b

Aug 26, 2018

g

автор: Tejasvi H

Aug 03, 2018

-

автор: marian c

Jul 10, 2018

E

автор: Marcus B

May 17, 2018

w

автор: Dominique S

Jan 22, 2020

Excel Skills for Business was a great class, but it was challenging. I wish there were more explanations of the basic formulas and functions. The class briefly went over very important information in Week 2 and partially in Week 4 with Conditional Formatting. After and before that, it went over a million other basic things that are important and necessary to know -- the essentials of Excel of course (such as printing, styles & themes, filtering & sorting, etc.) Then it came time for the final and I felt nobody was truly prepared.

What I needed more help with was everything in Week 2 -- Formulas, Functions, Absolute Cell References, Calculations Across Sheets, all the formulas and equations to GET the answers like for example how to figure out how to get the discount or tax. And Conditional Formatting.

I completed the course, and took it beyond serious and sadly, I feel like I didn't grasp the information enough to move on yet to the IntermediateI course. When I say I took it seriously, I took such extensive notes that it took me well over an hour to get through every single 3-minute video, even with the typed out transcript available that I copied and pasted into my notes first. I did every assignment. It's not like I rushed through the class.

It's really difficult to get answers in the forum, which is obviously disappointing for students. Matthew Kyng and Tim Keighley DO respond to students when they can and provide an email address for students to be able to email their spreadsheet to the teachers to evaluate their errors and then tell then help to get the answer on their own. They take regular nights and weekends off (as they should) so students sometimes end up getting discouraged because they don't get answers before the exam is finished. Students are supposed to be able to answer but students very rarely PROVIDE helpful feedback in the forums, they only are asking the same questions are you are so it's not a help.

автор: Soheil H

May 03, 2020

This course was great and was what the title mentions: essentials. It mostly made no assumptions about any prior knowledge and addresses most discrepancies between the different versions of Microsoft Excel, well mostly. Here are some of the problems that if noted could either improve the course or help future students until they are improved by the Professors-

1) For the options that were in the File tab in the excel ribbon as opposed to the operating system's menu bar file tab, this course failed to address the location of the relevant content on the versions of excel that do not have the file tab.

2) Some of the workbook or exercise documents that where to be downloaded for practice and/ or to be worked on in tandem with the video instructions either had faulty/missing information or some unnecessarily deep menu settings (EG. locked and protected cells) that prevented completion. These were seemingly unintentional despite they were a lesson well learned.

3) lastly, some of the quiz questions offered an excel file to test for yourself and then answer about the inquired affect of a certain action. A few of them did not take into account that not all versions (EG. Mac vs Windows) of excel have the same functionality. as a result, the quizzes are reasonably not the best representation of efforts.

However, overall, as a beginner course it gives you the confidence to know that whatever knowledge you build over this it won't crumble down as it is a solid foundation. Whatever time you spend going around its shortcoming happens to be time experimenting and leaning about new features; perhaps even the most important time during the course it very much that.

Thank you Professor.

автор: Anastasia K

Apr 26, 2020

The explanation and the way the video's are made is terrific. It was easy to understand and fun to do. A very good way to learn. I am very happy to have finally been able to learn how to use Excel the proper way. There where so many things that I didn't know about.

But, it is not easy to do on a Mac. Because the course is mainly done for Windows computers and an older version. I had to spend a lot of time searching for the right combinations. The ones given are not active on the new systems that Apple gives. I would strongly recommend to redo this course anno 2020, and maybe make a separate version for Mac users. This version is way too old.

Thank you very much.

автор: Jaqi F

Aug 18, 2020

I really appreciated the course and was amazed at some of the subject matter. I never knew that Excel did so much! The bit of feedback I have to give is that there were several unclear questions that I ran into on tests that were phrased in ways that were difficult for me to understand what was being asked. There were several "trick questions," due to slight turns of phrase that forced me to retake certain tests multiple times. I suspect it might be a language barrier due to the difference between Australian and American sentence structure. I still learned a lot, regardless of the language barrier, and I'm ready and excited to move on to the next course!

автор: Kelly B

May 04, 2020

A good introduction to, and reinforcement of, some of the basics. I feel much more comfortable with Excel and ready to learn even more. I did find it a bit of a challenge though to follow along while using a Mac. I had to dig a little deeper to discover how to find and apply some of the commands. Also, while using the latest Windows platform, I discovered that there simply were key differences in how information was laid out in the ribbon. I spent quite a bit of time trying to find things as a result. Not the instructors fault, of course, but a bit frustrating at times.

автор: Christi D

Aug 07, 2020

Overall, I thought this training was strong and well-paced. My only commit would be that on some of the tests you asked questions that covered skills that had not been addressed yet. I am all for challenging folks to work through the system to find what they need. That is how this self-taught gal learned. But even I had some challenges finding what I needed, mostly because this was about learning terminology for me. So, when a term came up on a test we had not addressed yet, it proved difficult.

автор: H R

May 03, 2020

It's a Good Experience for beginning Learners to learn reach and Dept of Excel Basics.It Helps to get knowledge about New Techniques for different functions and also easy hacks for Pie charts, line charts and other components .The Excel skills will reduce the unnecessary steps involved in data Processing.The Basic skills are very essential to save time and proceed further for better output.I wish to say Thank you to Coursera for giving me an opportunity to learn the skills.

автор: Paras A

May 28, 2020

In the course there should be some assignments with guidance in which we make use of the formulas and actually produce worksheet that have practical application like for example making an attendance sheet and what formulas we have to apply in order to make one. Actually i was asked to make one but I could make it because I could make the excel recognize P as 1 in the worksheet. Although I know that if I try I can make it but this course should also have such activities.

автор: Subhanjan R

May 25, 2020

A very well designed course that touches on subtle nuances of excel that one generally misses when one learns excel by hit and trial on the go. However, this course provides a comprehensive coverage of all the basic elements needed to make professional spreadsheets. A great tool to revise basics for the ones who have lost touch. Coupled with experimenting with the worksheet, this course goes a long way in making approaches stick in the minds of students.

автор: Abhishek S

Oct 08, 2020

One of the best Excel Courses on the internet. Hats off to Macquarie University and the faculty of its Economics and Business School, namely Nicky and Prashaan(I hope the spellings are correct). I would personally want nothing more to be added to the course. It's perfect. I would make sure to do the rest of the courses that form the complete specialization. Once again, I am grateful to the complete team involved in the curation of the course. Thank you.

автор: Leslie H

Mar 11, 2018

The download files in some of the exercises did not match the videos. Some of the exercise/quiz questions were not covered in the videos. Also on some of the exam questions, the correct answer was marked as incorrect - not often, but in some cases. All this say that someone may want to review the videos and compare with all the exercises, quizzes and tests. The instructors were wonderful. I very much enjoyed the course.

автор: Mark A

Sep 01, 2020

The Course was some what challenging but Hands High to the developers for making it very understandable for each Students such as myself. This course have built my confidence and inspired me to now challenge myself more, it was truly an motivational step for me as I am someone who didn't went all the way through Secondary School. I found this Course to be very helpful for any one who have a love for Excel.

Thank you.

автор: Themba M

Oct 01, 2020

I had a very hands on experience, practice makes permanent exposure which allowed me to try several tasks to ensure that the excel knowledge is instilled and applied correctly, and the teaching methods are extremely helpful and makes the course more interesting so that we can go the extra mile, this is one fascinating course I am wishing to apply the skills I earned in this course in the workplace successfully so

автор: Sumon R

May 09, 2020

If you decided that you would continue this course so an advance congratulation from me. I think this is damn interesting course for learning excel basic even if you are a beginner ! All of the video tutorial are well structured and provide greatest information with example.You will learn through quiz.Quiz are always relevant with proper worksheet in all exam after a week.The mentor are really amazing.

автор: Aaron C

Aug 17, 2020

Overall, a very practical and useful course. The challenges/exams are well-written and practical questions based on material covered. Not sure if it's possible, but sometimes some of the questions/shortcuts aren't always up-to-date/relevant for Mac users. The quiz questions can sometimes also be a bit confusing and it's clear the multi-choice questions were written using a PC to work out the answers.

автор: Sascha H

May 28, 2018

I greatly appreciated the outline and presentation. What didn't work well for me was the fact there is noone you can ask a question when problems arise - no one else than the forum that is. As a foreign learner I also noticed lots of differences in how my Excel behaves vs. the Australian version used here. But eventually it still worked and I enjoyed it so much I signed up for the next course.

автор: EdSource

Jun 07, 2020

Great course. I recommend to those that are self taught or is an immediate Excel level to take this course because it definitely refreshes your skills and you also learn great short-cut tips. Very challenging and I recommend to everyone to read the questions very carefully. Questions in the quizzes and final assessment can be quite tricky. So read them thoroughly and practice makes permanent!

автор: Sybil C

Sep 27, 2020

I did learn some new skills and enjoyed the demonstration videos. The instruction on creating and working with charts did not work out the best - seems like my version of Excel is just too different from the instructor's version so I had to try to teach myself how to perform the tasks. Also noted many typos in course printouts - nothing major but many spelling and consistency issues.