Chevron Left
Вернуться к Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach от партнера Лондонский университет

4.7
stars
Оценки: 180
Рецензии: 63

О курсе

This course explores ways of teaching reading skills in English as Second and Foreign Language (ESL/EFL) using a task-based approach. You will be introduced to the concept of task and the key principles of task-based language teaching (TBLT) and learning. TBLT uses communicative tasks as the key unit for creating language learning activities. You will also examine the role of reading in real-life and in second and foreign language teaching and current thinking about the interface between TBLT and second language reading. You will explore how TBLT and teaching second language reading can be successfully integrated in practice through analysing task-based reading materials. The course culminates in creating task-based materials for teaching reading in your own language teaching contexts. After completing the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the main components and tenets of a task-based approach to teaching language; 2. Explain the main issues involved in teaching reading; 3. Illustrate connections between TBLT approaches and the teaching of reading; 4. Integrate tasks into your own teaching; 5. Identify reading texts that are suitable for the construction of tasks; and 6. Construct reading tasks and sequences for use in your own classroom....

Лучшие рецензии

RY

Dec 20, 2018

The course has refreshed me on how to do Task based teaching in my classroom. The professors and guest speakers are all very helpful in giving new ideas for lesson plan. I really enjoy the lesson.

DA

Nov 21, 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

Фильтр по:

51–63 из 63 отзывов о курсе Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

автор: Wu I

Jun 14, 2016

Excellent video

автор: Sonny A C

Apr 08, 2018

Great course!!

автор: Armin D

Dec 31, 2019

Just Amazing!

автор: Touraille

Jul 06, 2018

Perfect

автор: Marco A C

Aug 02, 2019

I

автор: saira b

Nov 14, 2016

an eye-opening course for teachers who want to develop their knowledge in communicative approach in teaching English language. Thoroughly enjoyed each module as it was very thought provoking and detailed. It was a great experience to peer assess too.

автор: Chitra W

Mar 19, 2018

The concepts related to Task Based Approach are explained very well, using very simple language. This makes learning easy and effective.

автор: Katarzyna M

Oct 14, 2016

I loved everything about the course content, but peer assessment is a TERRIBLE idea.

For one submission I could get both the highest and the lowest grade, without any feedback. Any internet troll could have taken the course and graded participants with the lowest grades possible. Not fun.

I have passed the course (89%), but I won't even try another peer assessment based course.

It's such an irony that (aspiring) teachers were not able to assess someone else's work properly.

автор: Hillary J

Aug 17, 2016

If you are new to teaching ESL, this is probably not a good course. I found the homework used topics that a beginner would not be familiar with. I did like how they used various links to supplement the course (ie a chapter from a interesting text book) to help illustrate points in topics. I may retake the course after I have a foundation.

автор: Benjamin G

Jan 17, 2017

Terribly difficult to engage with 10+ min lectures in every lesson, plus unorganized presentations and interviews making extracting important information difficult; the lack of organization in the interview videos (which are SUPER long) made it very difficult to extract significant information for the course and assignements. I will say that the research and academic readings made available in the course were exceptionally helpful and full of great information, i just wished that that information was presented in a more engaging and interesting way, sometimes more organized as well. Furthermore, much of the referenced material should be made accessible within the course rather than simply cited; it looks fascinating but from places like China, databases and websites with such relevant sources are often wholly inaccessible. Please include links or entire documents.

автор: Partha S

Aug 01, 2017

The course is not academically rigorous, nor are the assignment rubrics challenging. Some of the videos are less engaging - apparent as talking head, and interviews are disorganised.

автор: Laís Z H F

May 07, 2017

I thought the course was interesting, although there was some discrepancy between what was shown in the interviews and the theory presented. For example, in week 6 the interview showed a business teacher. However, at no moment the tutors mentioned anything related to it in the theory presented... The videos were boring because it took too long for the tutors to explain simple things.

автор: Luciana P

May 07, 2017

The material in which the course was based is aged. We can find much more modern texts about TBLT online, i.e. on the British Council website. The videos present the theory in a very superficial way and most of the times the interviews are not related to the theory presented in that unit. I was expecting more from a course by the University of London.