Chevron Left
Вернуться к Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications от партнера Роттердамский университет им. Эразма

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,001
Рецензии: 214

О курсе

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Лучшие рецензии

DT
13 февр. 2020 г.

Course was very well structured, pacing was very pleasant (albeit a little fast for the chapter about time series). Teachers were top notch! I had lots of fun while learning . Thank you!

JJ
15 нояб. 2015 г.

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 207 отзывов о курсе Econometrics: Methods and Applications

автор: Deleted A

25 мар. 2016 г.

One thing I regret from this course is the content of the video lectures. Having watch the first week's videos, I found that the professor mostly just read the slides - and did it in a very faithful and careful manner, not to miss a subscript .... This is quite devastating for me. I can read the slides myself (although I have to download it first, since the fonts on the screen are very small). What I need is the professor to explain the logic behind the formulas, the *why* behind what is written, instead of just reading *what* is written on the slides.

I find it amusing that with an expected learning of 8 hours a week, the total duration of the first week's videos add up to a mere 36 minutes. A couple of weeks ago I have just finished a course that subjectively is comparable in its difficulty level. That course is also rich in mathematical content and also requires a commitment of 4-8 hours per week. Each week, the duration of the lecture videos amount to somewhere between 120-150 minutes - and the lecturer didn't read slides; instead, he would explain the logic behind the concepts and provided papers for learners to read on our own time. That approach really helped scaffold my learning.

I hope you'd consider revisiting this course's learning plan - or probably just state on the course info page that this course is more suitable for a refresher course rather than an introductory one.

автор: Nicolas V

11 авг. 2017 г.

Too much math with not enough explanations.

No explanations on how to solve the exercises on any software.

Exercices are very long (the "10 minutes"/exercise is just a joke - one took nearly an hour). Correction of the exercises are poor (just written answers on paper).

автор: Pedro A

5 окт. 2017 г.

Old fashioned Econometrics course, still using the ideas of fixed regressors (rather than the more sensible conditional models approach), emphasizing prediction instead of causal interpretation, etc.

It is false that such approach allows to introduce difficult econometric methods in an easy way: it has been for decades that modern and worldwide used handbooks (Wooldridge, Stock & Watson, Angrist & Piscke, etc) do it in a more sensible and opposite way. This is so not only because it is actually easier (learn just from the title of one the book by Angrist & Piscke: "Mostly Harmless Econometrics"), but also because fix the right concepts and way of looking at the problem: probability (not fixed things), conditional expectations, causality.

автор: Bruno A C A

5 сент. 2018 г.

Amazing for a person who would like to start with Econometric models at the most fundamental level. You will get a load of knowledge after you complete even if you know about econometrics. If you have difficulty in algebra and statistics, do start with the last week's lectures. They are the most difficult, but follow them until the end and do all the exercises. Also, the support of the teaching staff is outstanding when you have questions. Cannot recommend it more.

автор: Philipp T K

12 дек. 2016 г.

This is a fantastic MOOC: it has depth, exercise questions with solutions, challenging assignments and background material. The quality of the lecture videos is excellent!

автор: Nishikant C

7 мая 2019 г.

Very Good Course. However, The exercises were a bit challenging . Walk through of related examples would have helped a lot for the exercises.

Does require some mathematical background in Statistics. Intermediate to advanced course considering the complexity

автор: Tan Z M

9 июня 2016 г.

Very practical, I would urge people who intend to take this course to come to this course with at least some knowledge of econometrics and statistics. It would come in handy.

автор: Graham T

23 окт. 2018 г.

Rigorous condensed econometrics course with clear instruction. Great for my review of the subject, and most likely for anyone new to it who has the prerequisite skills.

автор: Christian K

9 янв. 2019 г.

Depending on what you are looking for, this course might be too theoretic or mot theoretic enough:) IMHO it strikes the balamce quite nicely, although the forced theoretical parts in the tests kept me from buying the certificate. I simply want to be able to perform the analysis.

автор: Zoltan A S

2 янв. 2016 г.

The course it's great , however in my opinion it's too theoretical with few practical examples.

If you're confortable with matrices and mathematics this course will provide you with very interesting tools and demostrations.

I don't think that the course is for casual students, as it's very specific.

автор: Nathan B

20 апр. 2016 г.

Not much teaching going on here. The concepts are barely touched on before the student is asked to jump into training exercises that require lengthy proofs of concepts not thoroughly taught.

автор: Subin P

9 июля 2019 г.

if this is the first time taking econometrics, do not take this course. you will have a hard time.

by no means is this for first-timers.

автор: Cormac D

16 июня 2020 г.

This course is a joke

автор: juan j m

14 авг. 2016 г.

Excelente diseño. Felicito sinceramente a todo el equipo de profesores y administradores que hicieron posible que se ofrezca este curso en línea. Sé que hay MUCHÍSIMO trabajo detrás de este curso que a veces pareciera no se valora. Creanmelo, han logrado un curso de muy buen nivel que seguramente se irá perfeccionando con las aportaciones de todos. Es perfectible. En lo particular, me ha permitido moverme de mi zona de confort para no perder de vista la importancia de la enseñanza de las demostraciones en el campo de la Econometría. Muy buen precio. Seguiré participando.

Atte.

Juan José Mendoza Alvarado

Universidad Autónoma de Nayarit

автор: QUOC T P

1 июля 2017 г.

This is an excellent course.

There are two things that I really hope to get in the future:

I would appreciate if there is a guide for solving all problem with Mathlab or R or any Statistics package

And, I would like to see Econometrics 2 (which is more about pannel data)

Thank you for all of your effort

Best wishes for you

PHAN Truong Quoc

автор: Carlos J R R

7 янв. 2016 г.

Excelente curso, muy bien ideado con muchos ejercicios para que queden bien grabados los conceptos, en un nivel no tan básico pero con toda la información necesaria para lograrlo. De los mejores cursos que he tomado en Coursera. Soy economista y lo tomé para repasar y fue mejor de lo que esperaba.

автор: Danilo C

24 апр. 2016 г.

ESTE CURSO ES MUY BUENO POR QUE ESTOY APRENDIENDO MAS TEMAS DE ECONOMETRÍA YA QUE EN CLASES DE ECONOMETRÍA DE LA UNIVERSIDAD NO HE RECIBIDO.

автор: Alesia N

6 янв. 2019 г.

it's a very deep course

автор: Chen S

26 июля 2017 г.

This course is giving us useful insights, however, what it is talking about is not beginner-friendly. If there would be reading materials talking about what we can be using, it would be much better. As a beginner, it is just too hard to continue even for the first week.

автор: David O

22 мая 2018 г.

Good course but too challenging unless you have a background in maths. Should go slower with clearer examples.

автор: Hussein C

29 мар. 2016 г.

If I can understand all of these derivatives, why shall I attend your course? It is not helpful course, especially for persons looking for some practical econometrics applications rather than focusing on the mathematics side of it.

автор: viveksampy

13 февр. 2017 г.

The class recording could have been made simple. Lots of notations, and would definitely be difficult for people without prior econometrics background.

автор: Nikolaos T

11 апр. 2018 г.

Besides the videos there was low supporting content. I needed to search a lot online to find information that were needed. Waste of money.

автор: Ticiano A M C

3 нояб. 2015 г.

If you have to pay for the certificate itself, then the course can't be too serious or maybe even that much helpful.

автор: Neda

23 апр. 2016 г.

poor!