Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды от партнера Университет Северной Каролины в Чапел-Хилл

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,027
Рецензии: 588

О курсе

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

Лучшие рецензии

MS
2 июня 2020 г.

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

LH
19 апр. 2018 г.

Incredible course with an engaging professor who makes you want to learn more with every lesson.\n\nThe best course I saw on Coursera and exactly what I would appreciate in any course, online or not.

Фильтр по:

526–550 из 581 отзывов о курсе Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды

автор: Harry G

1 июля 2018 г.

Interesting and well presented; covers development of US law but the principles and concepts (nuisance, regulation, endangered species, clean air, clean water, political economy of environmental law, risk distribution, climate change, and others) are common across other systems of environmental law. Unfortunately, the content is now out of date with regards to climate change as the recording seems to be from 2013, well before the Paris Climate Agreement.

автор: Yugesh P

27 мар. 2017 г.

The material was exceptional, but as I came to found out, that the assignments were watered down with respect to the earlier version of the course that was available in 2014. Please work to get back peer-reviewed assignments. Also, Prof. Hornstein's informal manner and way of teaching greatly helped in understanding the concepts. Thank you University of North Carolina and Prof. Hornstein for this wonderful primer on Environmental law.

автор: David C

18 авг. 2015 г.

the course was fantastic especially the 1 minute lawyer segments. Not sure if it is a site problem, problem with the course or with my machine but I frequently had times where the picture would freeze and audio would continue. The videos while informative were also quite long and it might have been a better idea to divide each 20 minute video into 2 smaller ones. Otherwise though it was a great course by a fantastic professor.

автор: William T K

12 янв. 2021 г.

While unfortunately dated at this point, Professor Hornstein's introduction course does an excellent job of outlining the principles underlying environmental law, both in the United States and internationally. Everyone with the ability to do so owes it to themselves, their community, and their planet to become familiar with the subject matter of this course, which is becoming more urgently relevant day by day.

автор: Nguyen T T

22 авг. 2015 г.

Thank you so much Prof for guiding us through a difficult yet an interesting topic. The course is well arranged in the way the choosen cases make it easier to understand the statutes, though it not that easy. I wish the course had brought in more international cases as the non-American students like me might be more intersted in.

I love this course, as well as the T- shirts and the tux :)

автор: Michael L

21 февр. 2016 г.

Instructor was very enthusiastic about the course, I thought it was well structured and it's good to get a framework for things. As someone who came in as pretty conservative leaning on the Environmental issue, it helps me become more knowledgeable about why the EPA can do the things it can, and a better understanding of how environmental law works. More information is always better!

автор: Sophie A

23 авг. 2020 г.

Good introduction to some of the fundamental ideas and formative cases in environmental law and policy. The professor was engaging and explained the concepts clearly.

I wished the quizzes and readings had been more challenging (and that the course was longer!). It would also be great to update the course with more recent information and cases that affect GHG emissions policy.

автор: Kandace S

3 мар. 2017 г.

Really informative and enlightening course! Prof Hornstein made the content easy to understand especially for those of us who don't have a law background. For anyone looking for some insight into environmental law, whether it's for your own general knowledge or if you want an idea of what studying environmental law entails, I'd definitely recommend it.

автор: Annie P

16 нояб. 2015 г.

This is a very informative course that directly applies to many present-day environmental issues. If you're someone who has a passion for the environment and wants a better understanding of the underlying statutes framing these issues, take the course! It is heavily focused on United States law, but the basic concepts are universal.

автор: Rachel G

4 янв. 2018 г.

Overall an engaging and informative course, thank you! It was at the right level for me coming from a Geography background with little knowledge of Environmental Law. I would have enjoyed more international case studies. The course was made in around 2013 and, in places, would benefit from being updated / checked for typos.

автор: Patricia O

8 дек. 2016 г.

Great course on the basics of environmental law an policy, very easy to follow and enganging for the audience. Still, would suggest to update some issues e.g. GHG as the Paris Agreement was ratified recently. But overall I would recommend for everyone interested in environmental issues as it was a great introduction.

автор: Madelein W

19 июля 2020 г.

I liked this course. I have a law degree from a different country and I completed mine many year ago. I wanted an overview of US environmental laws and just general positive law as it stands. This was a good course and interesting. My only critique would be that it seems somewhat dated... maybe 4-5 years?

автор: Rebecca P

25 июня 2017 г.

Really enjoyed this course. It has definitely enhanced my understanding of the general mechanisms that govern environmental law and introduced me to a lot of important language for these concepts. Highly recommend for people affiliated with land management (I'm a park ranger).

автор: Urika H

20 июля 2018 г.

In my junior year and I was over the fence on whether to consider Environmental Law as my guiding path and realised there wasn't a lot I had to carry further with it and this course was exactly what reaffirmed my passion for the environment and conservation through law.

автор: Tan W

12 февр. 2017 г.

Enjoyed learning about the different statuates and policies as well as how to read them. From those not from US and fear that the stuff learnt may not be as relevant, don't fret! What's introduced are major policies that are important to the global community!

автор: Victor H

18 авг. 2018 г.

This course help me to build the basic knowledge of US environmental law and its policy. By knowing, I can make the comparison with my local legal framework and analyse environmental problem with more perspectives

автор: Ana M A O

31 окт. 2020 г.

The professor was amazing, the course was very good, but is very old, so its not updated. It will be great that the University ad a new video with the developments in the subject matter for the last years.

автор: Renato R

22 нояб. 2018 г.

Interesting! The content is well structured, with case-by-case approach. It gives good insight into the general principles of environmental law. I would have expected a bit more insights into policy too.

автор: PRANJJALL S

8 июня 2020 г.

Very informative course! I had fun learning the subject due to the teacher being so fun! Highly recommend this course if you're interested in learning about environmental law from the very basics!

автор: Chelsea K

5 окт. 2016 г.

This course was well organized and highlighted the most influential environmental law cases in the US. It would be great if the course could be updated to reflect the recent COP21-Paris Agreement

автор: Indumathi A

29 июня 2017 г.

It was a good course, but I was little bit disappointed that it was very restricted to US only. I know the professor is from there, but a few cases from around the world would have been nice.

автор: Emily M

9 авг. 2020 г.

Great introduction to the world of environmental law; including landmark US cases that set the tone for current policy. Excellent conversationalist tone makes legalese easier to digest.

автор: chloe w

26 авг. 2017 г.

Would have been ideal to include case studies around the world. Entirely US based. Good in some circumstances I suppose! Overall very good course would recommend

автор: Ihintza

23 янв. 2016 г.

This course was well planned and dynamic. The professor extraordinary and presented all the topics in a way to make them even more interesting.

автор: Belle S

23 мая 2016 г.

Very informative! Professor Hornstein makes the topics easy to understand & interesting despite little knowledge on environmental law.