Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды от партнера Университет Северной Каролины в Чапел-Хилл

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,872
Рецензии: 548

О курсе

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Aug 11, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

LH

Apr 20, 2018

Incredible course with an engaging professor who makes you want to learn more with every lesson.\n\nThe best course I saw on Coursera and exactly what I would appreciate in any course, online or not.

Фильтр по:

476–500 из 540 отзывов о курсе Введение в закон и стратегию об охране окружающей среды

автор: Mona A A

Jun 03, 2020

GOOD

автор: Vidya M

May 17, 2020

Good

автор: Mohsen L G

Oct 11, 2016

good

автор: JUSTIN G M

May 19, 2016

Good

автор: John G

Feb 15, 2017

W

автор: Vasileios C

May 27, 2016

-

автор: Pat D

Jan 02, 2016

E

автор: Natàlia B P

May 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I think it's great to learn about the perspectives and approaches used in environmental law and policy to address and/or solve the issues that we have, do and will face in terms of human and environmental health. I really liked how it was structured (the 6 weeks), the 1-min lawyer, reading the case and the full-length lesson, and of course I really enjoyed how Prof. Hornstein expressed himself. He made it really fun and interesting. I'm not from the US so I would have appreciated a little bit more of an international perspective, but I knew what to expect given that the course is taught by a US university. All in all, great experience.

автор: Jhonatan L

Sep 20, 2015

I thought the course was a fantastic introduction to environmental law and policy. I especially enjoyed the structure of each lesson (reading -> video) and the entire course. I thought the Prof did a great job of being enthusiastic and was mostly clear when explaining, analyzing and discussing each case. Perhaps, an aspect that could be improved in the future is to ask more in-video question to challenge the student to think critically while watching the videos. However, where there is most room for improvement is to have much better management of the discussion section. There was no authority answering any questions whatsoever, not content related nor operational.

автор: Kirsten A

May 09, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The plan flowed well, covering a range of different types of law and discussing the economics and policy that influence all aspects. Professor Hornstein is very knowledgeable, engaged with his topic and takes to heart his role as teacher. His lectures are full of information and infected with his enthusiasm. The activities were interesting and promoted learning. The only distraction is that the course was first recorded in 2013. A lot has changed in Environmental law since then.

автор: Kylie P

Jan 22, 2018

I've learned an incredible amount from this course. There is a LOT of information to process. I'm very happy that I took it. The professor is entertaining and passionate. My only issue is that the videos must have been created2013- which isn't itself a problem. However, one of the videos mentions that new information will be coming in 2015... I'd like for that information to be included in the course- even as a short side video or link to a relevant article! Otherwise, fantastic!! would recommend!!

автор: Harry G

Jul 02, 2018

Interesting and well presented; covers development of US law but the principles and concepts (nuisance, regulation, endangered species, clean air, clean water, political economy of environmental law, risk distribution, climate change, and others) are common across other systems of environmental law. Unfortunately, the content is now out of date with regards to climate change as the recording seems to be from 2013, well before the Paris Climate Agreement.

автор: Yugesh P

Mar 27, 2017

The material was exceptional, but as I came to found out, that the assignments were watered down with respect to the earlier version of the course that was available in 2014. Please work to get back peer-reviewed assignments. Also, Prof. Hornstein's informal manner and way of teaching greatly helped in understanding the concepts. Thank you University of North Carolina and Prof. Hornstein for this wonderful primer on Environmental law.

автор: David C

Aug 18, 2015

the course was fantastic especially the 1 minute lawyer segments. Not sure if it is a site problem, problem with the course or with my machine but I frequently had times where the picture would freeze and audio would continue. The videos while informative were also quite long and it might have been a better idea to divide each 20 minute video into 2 smaller ones. Otherwise though it was a great course by a fantastic professor.

автор: Nguyen T T

Aug 23, 2015

Thank you so much Prof for guiding us through a difficult yet an interesting topic. The course is well arranged in the way the choosen cases make it easier to understand the statutes, though it not that easy. I wish the course had brought in more international cases as the non-American students like me might be more intersted in.

I love this course, as well as the T- shirts and the tux :)

автор: Michael L

Feb 21, 2016

Instructor was very enthusiastic about the course, I thought it was well structured and it's good to get a framework for things. As someone who came in as pretty conservative leaning on the Environmental issue, it helps me become more knowledgeable about why the EPA can do the things it can, and a better understanding of how environmental law works. More information is always better!

автор: Sophie A

Aug 23, 2020

Good introduction to some of the fundamental ideas and formative cases in environmental law and policy. The professor was engaging and explained the concepts clearly.

I wished the quizzes and readings had been more challenging (and that the course was longer!). It would also be great to update the course with more recent information and cases that affect GHG emissions policy.

автор: Kandace S

Mar 03, 2017

Really informative and enlightening course! Prof Hornstein made the content easy to understand especially for those of us who don't have a law background. For anyone looking for some insight into environmental law, whether it's for your own general knowledge or if you want an idea of what studying environmental law entails, I'd definitely recommend it.

автор: Annie P

Nov 16, 2015

This is a very informative course that directly applies to many present-day environmental issues. If you're someone who has a passion for the environment and wants a better understanding of the underlying statutes framing these issues, take the course! It is heavily focused on United States law, but the basic concepts are universal.

автор: Rachel G

Jan 04, 2018

Overall an engaging and informative course, thank you! It was at the right level for me coming from a Geography background with little knowledge of Environmental Law. I would have enjoyed more international case studies. The course was made in around 2013 and, in places, would benefit from being updated / checked for typos.

автор: Patricia O

Dec 08, 2016

Great course on the basics of environmental law an policy, very easy to follow and enganging for the audience. Still, would suggest to update some issues e.g. GHG as the Paris Agreement was ratified recently. But overall I would recommend for everyone interested in environmental issues as it was a great introduction.

автор: Madelein W

Jul 19, 2020

I liked this course. I have a law degree from a different country and I completed mine many year ago. I wanted an overview of US environmental laws and just general positive law as it stands. This was a good course and interesting. My only critique would be that it seems somewhat dated... maybe 4-5 years?

автор: Rebecca P

Jun 25, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. It has definitely enhanced my understanding of the general mechanisms that govern environmental law and introduced me to a lot of important language for these concepts. Highly recommend for people affiliated with land management (I'm a park ranger).

автор: Urika H

Jul 20, 2018

In my junior year and I was over the fence on whether to consider Environmental Law as my guiding path and realised there wasn't a lot I had to carry further with it and this course was exactly what reaffirmed my passion for the environment and conservation through law.

автор: Tan W

Feb 12, 2017

Enjoyed learning about the different statuates and policies as well as how to read them. From those not from US and fear that the stuff learnt may not be as relevant, don't fret! What's introduced are major policies that are important to the global community!