Chevron Left
Вернуться к Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology от партнера New York University

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 449

О курсе

This course gives you access to an exploration of physiological systems from the perspective of overall health and wellness. In particular, a focus on yoga, meditation and mindfulness as a therapeutic intervention in chronic illness and long term treatment. This course is intended for yoga practitioners and teachers, as well as college students and medical practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of the physiological benefits of yoga. The value of taking this course is to understand the impact that yoga can have on reducing stress, and aiding in healing or preventing physiological pathologies. Throughout this course, we will learn about different physiological systems and highlight yoga practices that can influence different systems and reduce pathology. Reading material will include analysis of scientific studies that have successfully utilized yoga practice as a tool for treatment of various illnesses such as: hypertension, stress, diabetes, insomnia, chronic pain and PTSD. In order to understanding these conditions, lectures will provide a complete understanding of the correlating physiological system. The weekly course assignment will include physiology lectures, a weekly yoga practice, suggested readings, and optional discussions for a total of 3-5 hours per week. The course will provide a tremendous amount of information and hands on experience for those interested in alternative health perspectives and a more in depth scientific understanding of this ancient healing method....

Лучшие рецензии

AN

24 февр. 2020 г.

In this course I have learned more about anatomy than my entire life and all yoga courses together. I can't enough recommend this course for any yoga level practice wether students or instructors!!

ED

25 окт. 2020 г.

Excellent course, it tied together the physiology and yoga very well, the videos that showed how to do the poses and then reminded you what that pose was doing physiologically was very helpful.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 181 отзывов о курсе Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

автор: Becky K

12 июля 2020 г.

I love yoga. I am fascinated by it. But this course...I just can’t force myself to finish it.

автор: Laura S

27 янв. 2021 г.

I am currently training to become a yoga teacher and this course gave me a very in-depth understanding of the effects of yoga on the cells, organs and body as a whole system. Lectures were detailed but very well explained and difficult concepts were always supported with visual representations. The course integrates scientific theory and concepts with hands-on yoga practices, making it intellectually challenging and interesting but also practical learning experience. Highly recommend to anyone, from yoga teachers to yoga lovers, to medical practitioners and healthcare providers. Thank you!

автор: AVINASH K

15 мая 2020 г.

I was searching this type of course from long time and finally I got on coursera. I am highly thankful to Alexandra Seidenstein, Eddie Stern, Tommy Lee and other guest faculties. This course is very helpful to understand the effect of yoga on human body scientifically. The different physiology taught by Lee was amazing to understand the engineering of human body. Specially the concept of Genetics and Epigentics and nervous system were mind blowing. The different yoga postures taught by Stern and Seidenstein are very very useful to control the stress as well as for complete health.

автор: Linda J D

30 мар. 2022 г.

I totally enjoyed the course. I can not beleive how much I learned about the body and how it functions. I learned most of the limited biology from taking and teaching yoga. I now have even more great information to share with my class. I like to that I can speak to certain fucntions with new and comprehensive knowledge.

This course was very well presented. I do not have a science or biology background, but I understood almost everything! If I had a chance to start all over again, I would probably have chosen something like Neuroscience as I find it fascinating. Thank you!

автор: Shivani R G

28 сент. 2021 г.

Incredible course, full of relevant subject knowledge as well as very-valuable personal experiential wisdom from Teachers. I have been a Yoga practitioner for 15years and this course has helped me cross-over from being a Yoga Enthusiast to a FIRM BELIEVER - in its powerful & intrinsic impact on living a Healthy, Integrated, Wholistic life, and achieve balance in one's Body, Mind and Soul. I will revisit the learnings and knowledge of the course, to ingrain them and apply them. My thanks to Alex and Eddie, and hoping that I meet then when I visit NY :)

автор: David D

24 дек. 2020 г.

I found this to be a perfect course to teach oneself the basics of yoga but more importantly the scientific explanation why and how this works on the various systems and organs of the body. It covers many weeks but I welcomed the amount of material, with an interaction of theory, research and practice. I would think anyone could find value for this time investment.

All the lecturers were outstanding but the two main lecturers were superb, able to speak clearly and directly to you without reading from a screen prompt. Bravo!

автор: Klára K

19 июля 2021 г.

This course is a beautiful combination of yoga and physiology. You'll learn about the affects of yoga on chronic diseases, chronic pain and stress as well as other pathologies and it's numerous benefits on our overall health and wellbeing as well as that yoga is not just the movement but rather holistic approach to life. It affects many aspects of our life and can help in many areas of our life as stress reduction, that has a big impact on all the other systems in our body. I recommend to everyone that found this course.

автор: Susana P

19 июля 2020 г.

Este curso me encantó! Abarca todos los sistemas del cuerpo, te ayuda a profundizar más en el conocimiento sobre yoga y la meditación. Los impactos que tiene sobre el cuerpo y mente los he podido emplear en mi vida diaria y en mis clases. He logrado que mis clases tengan otra intención, que es sanar a mis estudiantes y ayudar a que tenga mejor calidad de vida a traves de la practica de yoga y meditación. Infinitas gracias por su trabajo y espero que hagan más proyectos parecidos.

автор: Terry H

13 нояб. 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed learning in an interactive way, by participating in yoga sessions, how practicing yoga has such an influential benefit on our physiological systems, such as nervous, respiratory, circulatory, muscular skeletal, and lymphatic systems, as well as it helps in reducing chronic stress and pain. The instructors are excellent in explaining how our complex physiological systems are influenced by yoga practice to reduce stress. I highly recommend taking this course.

автор: OU S

26 нояб. 2022 г.

I have to recommend this courser as one of the best for any who want to begin a yoga career path. In the past, I practise yoga and know yoga’s benefits but still feel confused for the amazing effect in the view of science, this course helps me better understand yoga in Western engineering heath knowledge. Combined with Asia knowledge, I believe my explore for yoga will get a huge progress. And in the course, there are many helpful readings which are all precious materials.

автор: Rakesh K T

14 апр. 2021 г.

The course on Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology has added immense value in my understanding of Physiological systems of human body. It is a great learning how yoga practices and different breathing techniques demonstrated in the course modules can help in transforming our lifestyle, perception for maintaining good health, staying calm, reducing stress. Interviews with experts are very enlightening. Very beneficial course for everyone.

автор: Heidi S

9 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for this course opportunity! I have always known that yoga practice was good for overall health and now I understand more fully the physiological reasons why. This was interesting, informative and fun. I have learned new elements for my yoga practice and have made a commitment to use it daily to develop my techniques to reduce stress and create homeostasis in my body and to be able to share this with my health coaching clients as well! Namaste

автор: Tracie C C

5 июня 2020 г.

This was an excellent course! It gave me a clear understanding of several yoga postures and the physiological effects of yoga, meditation, and breathing. After just one module, I quickly realized how important this information is for me and anybody who makes the conscious effort in living a healthy life and in protecting this amazing machine we call our body. Knowledge is power! Thank you for making it available on Coursera.org.

автор: Megan O

1 июля 2021 г.

This was a very interesting and engaging course. It was a great way to learn some physiology in an applied manner that kept it interesting and fun. This course has also helped me learn how to manage my stress level with yoga and see how it can make a huge impact on quality of life. I hope to one day help other people manage their own stress and improve their quality of life through exercise and diet.

автор: Loveneesh S

5 мая 2021 г.

A very excellent course, and tremendous mentors. I have not seen any course anywhere so well explained. connection between human physiology and its relation with yoga. It also includes some inspections while learning that how far one could understand the lessons, and flexible timings also an advantage. Moreover, interviews are eyeopeners. Skilled doctors and professionals are a part of this course.

автор: Allison W

14 дек. 2021 г.

I am sooo glad I carved out the time for the course. With every module, I learned information that I was able to immediately deploy in my yoga classes. Most of the presenters/lecturers were excellent. Most of the material was presented clearly and compellingly. Although some improvements are needed, I still rate it a 5/5. It was worth every minute of my time!

автор: Silvana L K

6 июня 2020 г.

Thanks for this course, I have found and learned more than I expected, each lesson has a lot of useful information and tools that can help improve your life and that of others through Yoga. It was very valuable to me to access current knowledge about the benefits (studied by science) of practicing yoga and mindfulness. Excellent course

автор: Suthiwan M

6 апр. 2022 г.

This is a very interesting course for any level of yoga practitioner who would like to learn more details about Anatomy, digestive systems, endocrine systems, and how important and relationship between the nervous system, and sympathetic and parasympathetic systems is in yoga practice. The interview sessions are also very interesting.

автор: Farah F

28 апр. 2021 г.

The Course is very informative and clear. Very interesting not only for yoga teachers and therapists but for anyone who practices yoga or is thinking about starting yoga. In this course, you will learn much more than yoga asanas/ postures but the correlation between the body's systems and the effects of yoga in this system.

автор: Sarah W

1 дек. 2020 г.

Absolutely wonderful course that made science easier for me to digest when combined with the yoga! A great balance of theoretical and practical knowledge. I highly recommend this for not just yoga teachers, but anyone interested in learning about internal systems and how to better manage stress, pain, and overall wellness.

автор: Honey R B

13 сент. 2022 г.

This course is very informative. I love how the lessons were supplemented by interviews of experts in the field of science, and included a lot of research papers to read and review, and yoga practices that are centered on the week's topic. This course has definitely enriched my practice as a student and teacher of yoga.

автор: SHIVAM T

7 мая 2021 г.

the course is designed very beautifully for yoga practitioners and Yoga teachers, as a yoga teacher, I have never seen such a intelligently designed course, all the instructors were so convincing and clear. its truly amazing to see this course, i have never seen something as properly designed like this, hats-off.

автор: Leisabel B S F

5 сент. 2022 г.

An amazing experience and topics. I had the pleasure to meet Eddie in person during a week of practice and his energy is amazing. Also all of I have learned in this course will help to reach my goals and dream which is starting to give classes in the future.

Thank you Eddie and team! this course was AMAZING!

автор: Smriti V

22 февр. 2020 г.

A very interesting course giving a good overview of how Yoga is beneficial to the overall health and well being of an individual. The correlation of the physiological background and the videos explaining how to do and vary the asanas as per individual capacity is highly informative and easy to understand.

автор: Nitesh D

24 апр. 2020 г.

I started this course few days ago and as I was going through it I learnt many things which were quite beneficial for me. I came to know about the benefits of yoga in our daily life . I really thank all my Instructors who delivered me this precious information of the link between yoga and physiology.