Chevron Left
Вернуться к Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems от партнера EIT Digital

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 526
Рецензии: 114

О курсе

This course is intended for the Bachelor and Master's students, who like practical programming and making IoTs applications! In this course we will talk about two components of a cyber physical system, namely hardware and operating systems. After completing this course, you will have the knowledge of both hardware components and operating systems. You are able to plan and use embedded operating systems in resource-constraint devices for Internet-of-Things (cyber physical system) applications. In addition, you can use Cooja simulation for designing and simulating wireless sensor network applications. We have 4 modules, each with a graded quiz in the end and finally we have one peer reviewed programming assignment In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform. The course is actually quite fun at the end when you are playing around with Cooja simulation for IoTs applications. So you can create and simulate your own design for sensor network applications. A lot of features and examples of Contiki and Cooja can be explored via assignments. There are some optional assignments of wireless sensor network applications for students who want to explore more about embedded OS in IoTs applications. - Marco Ramirez /University of Turku - Igor Tcarenko/ University of Turku - Nguyen Gia Tuan /University of Turku Check out our whole curriculum: http://iot4health.utu.fi/...

Лучшие рецензии

SA

May 25, 2017

Initially it seemed easy and what I already knew... but the week 3 and 4 had alot of new and interesting stuff. It was great eventually... Especially the OS part and some practicals

SA

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent introduction to Embedded Systems development that could serve as platform for further studies and research. A valuable pedagogy.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 109 отзывов о курсе Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems

автор: Devansh C

Jan 20, 2019

Lots of mistakes and unclear instructions, No response even after complaining in the forum

автор: Cristina E

Sep 15, 2016

Main issues I encountered in the course:

- many videos end with a suggestion to "refer to the suggested materials for more information". Which are these materials, and where can they be found?

- the slides could use some diagrams here and there, as the constant text screens are monotonous and make understanding harder in some cases

- the course does not settle on a balance between breadth and depth of information. Some aspects are presented at a very high level, yet using very specialised terminology and concepts. For instance, context switching when describing the disadvantages of microkernels, or pre-emptively scheduled systems - I have a CS background and had no problem with these aspects, but I am aware I am highly subjective. It's a case of "chicken and egg", where if you understand the low level concepts you probably don't need the course, and if you don't understand them you also can't understand the high level concepts.

- At the end of the Week 3 videos describing the three OSs, it is said "In order to know the details on how to write a program and run applications in Riot/Contiki/TinyOS, please come back to our lectures who have more detailed videos."

Which lectures are these, and where can they be found?

- the only practical exercises in the course (Week 4) are only vaguely related to the course's targets

-----

All this being said, it is an ok introduction to the embedded OS world, if you bring your own CS and OS background knowledge.

автор: Lin G S

Jun 27, 2018

Very poorly done course, boring lectures, very little context and practical motivations, quizzes that require rote memorization. I would recommend University of California, Irvine for basics on embedded systems, they have actual tutorials on Arduino and the Raspberry Pi, with a much more engaging lecturer. For something more in-depth perhaps Edx's Embedded Systems - Shape the world, which is taught using the TM4C123G development board. Otherwise there are many other great books/resources out there.

автор: Nebojša S

Jul 13, 2018

Not bad, but here are some things to be improved... Cons: most of the videos are quite like "There are a lot of interesting things here and there, read the documentation to learn more". Also, several links are broken. Assignment for week 4 are quite unexplained, what to do and why. There is no hands on examples in video material, only pretty confusing theory.

автор: Elias R

Apr 30, 2019

Good content, bad organization.

I enjoyed watching the videos and reading through the materials to extend my knowledge about this topic. Unfortunately most of the assignments are not very clear and/or even contain mistakes.

I also had to wait several weeks before my submissions got reviewed.

Overall I learned some interesting stuff but got quite frustrated about the bad organization and the lack of feedback from the instructor. This course definitely needs an update from the creators!

автор: deepankar m

Aug 02, 2018

I think this course is for somebody with intermediate level of understanding. It does discuss basics in the first week but i think it need to me more structured. Later in the course you will learn about various OS and their benefits. Some of the concepts were very new for me. Still it just skims through diffrernt operating systms But i think the course need to be restructured. There should be emphasis on deploying on real hardware. PREREQUISITES: linux os understanding, Make file understanding , understanding the relative paths in make file is a must for getting the assignments right.

Also the forum is almost Dead.

автор: Ragab E M A

May 16, 2017

it was very good introduction about ES hardware and good information about IOT Operating system

автор: Jari D

Jul 07, 2018

Good basic introduction about hardware and operating systems for embedded systems in general. But the hands-on exercises are at least partly build on outdated instructions on how to setup development environments leading to errors during the setup steps which is frustrating for students just starting to get into the topic.

автор: Parshwa D

May 17, 2020

Course was very interesting . This course helped me to get a idea of how IoT works . Only problem faced was using the contiki OS. If proper guidance for using Cooja Simulator was provided then it would be more interesting.

автор: João P N B

May 28, 2017

Well, I thank the teacher and his team for the effort to make the course available.

_______________________________________________________________

So, the course is not intermediate or beginner level.

If you know something about embedded system:

It's a good reminder with a bunch of topics that are only quoted and not explained in depth. No topic goes deeper, you have to do it by yourself it's like "Embedded systems can be classified as to dependability ( reliable, safe, secure, maintanable, etc), now go by yourself and search for it."

If you know nothing about embedded system:

Probably you are to feel a little bit effort and you're going to make a hard effort to understand something. Classes will be like " In the world there are processors, microcontroller, FPGA, ASIC and they have certain things(SRAM, peripherals, etc) and then you use them to build aerospace avionics, good look.

_______________________________________________________________

Improvement

The course should use more drawings ( flowchart, diagram), it would be much more understandable. Too many topics you can't bring to the real world.

The course has a nice tittle. But, I wish this course was seperated in longer modules or courses, because there are too many topics for very few time... so you wont learn anything really solid.

for instance:

1- Designing embedded - Raise requirements for project based on real project ( eg. temperature and humidity sensor to work battery powered, show information in a display the information of temp and humidity. Must be reliable, safe, low power consumption ) and so on. Learn how to search for components, price, availability, datasheet.

2 - FPGA - How to implement the project above using a platform ( or at least simulation). Program in VHDL or Verilog.

3 - Processor - ...

4 - MCU - ...

5 - Building firmware in C - Develop firmware without OS. Use state machines of things like that

6 - Build firmware with an OS.

7 - Drawing PCB - Ariiise board!!!

So, I just gave an idea I do not know how difficult would it be to bring to reality

автор: Bill W

Feb 25, 2018

I wasn't very happy.

The subject material was very shallow; brief overviews of some aspects of the material with repeated references to "suggested materials" that didn't actually exist.

Even at the level of detail presented, there was a lot of info on slides that did not appear in the transcripts. It would have been useful to have the slides be downloadable.

I didn't like the design of the quizzes; this might be a coursera thing (I've seen the same thing in other classes), but the inclusion of 5 subparts of a one-point question meant no "partial credit", making a "5-question" quiz (with 20-odd things to get wrong/right) a lot more difficult to pass than they should have been. (In other MOOCs, I've seen such multi-part questions handled by having the question as a whole be worth 5 points (for a 5-subpart question), and you get a point awarded for each subpart you get right, and not awarded for each one you get wrong (whether it should have been checked and wasn't or should have been not-checked and was.)

There was no interaction with "staff" on the class forums. The "extra thought" topics were simplistic and only barely related to the class materials, and the participation that happened was ... poor, like people thought they were getting points for "taking part" even if all they said was "I don't know."

The professor seemed to have some strong opinions about "controversial" subjects, presented as facts, that I happen to disagree with, and didn't really have any supporting material. (The big one for me was "FPGAs are lower power than MCUs." Which I asked about on the forums, and was never answered. But also several several cases of "the advantage of XX os is that it has small memory requirements", followed nearly immediately by several examples of other OSes described as even smaller.)

Finally, for a 4-week class where the first 3 weeks have only short quizzes, I thought the "week 4" assignment: "download a VM and set up Contiki/cooja, write two programs and get them both peer reviewed by the end of the week" was unrealistic. Especially without "supported matierals", tutorials on setup, or even copies of the sketchy instructions on the slides in the video. (I might not have been awful, given an extra week to complete. I gave up, though.) (existing forum message from a prior iteration of the class says "don't use contiki 3.0 like the instructor talks about, or even 2.7 that he mentions. Go all the way back to 2.6.1...")

There was some interesting stuff there. The lack of "suggested materials" and downloadable slides were the biggest problems.

автор: Bo Z

Mar 22, 2017

I do not recommend this course if you want to be taught intuitively. The slides are mostly just a list of bullet points, with very few intuitive figures or charts (normally figures/charts are easier to understand and remember, even the simple ones). You are just fed with lots of concepts throughout the course. But in the end, you are suddenly required to do some practical C programming in Contiki (an embedded OS), which you need to spend some time to figure out quite a number of practical issues just for a successful run.

автор: Alexey S

Dec 13, 2016

Useless bla-bla-bla in general words. Nothing concrete. It is not possible to build embedded system with OS after finishing it. IoT is mentioned just for marketing and promotion. If you seriously consider developing OS-based embedded system even just reading Wiki pages about EOS would not be such a waste of time as listening to this course.

автор: Ishaan W

Jun 19, 2020

Poor documentation and guidance on assignments. Information taught in this course can be found available through a simple google search. Wasted my time with this course and the specialization.

автор: vasudha

Oct 28, 2019

Why can I not change course. I started with the first course by mistake,but I wanted tio start with the third one. Very poorly designed for asking such questions.

автор: Jay

May 18, 2017

Theory ..theory...theory.... into the 4th week...too dull and boring. The instructor could just have written a book or something about this.

автор: Pierre N

Aug 25, 2019

was not good at all and i did not gain any experience thanks for wasting my time

автор: HuangQingZhen

Jun 21, 2017

The ContikiOS is not a suitable for IOT for now. It is too expensive

автор: Razi

Mar 15, 2017

I categorize this course in the beginner level not intermediate.

автор: Archit R

Apr 15, 2017

NOT GOOD..REALLY BORING

автор: shaimaa a

Jul 29, 2017

the tutorial is so bad

автор: Tarun K P

Sep 16, 2018

Excellent resources provided by the instructor and emphasizes in gaining practical knowledge

автор: Deleted A

Mar 19, 2019

nice and very understandable

автор: Sai S

Mar 21, 2019

very useful to all students

автор: Г В В

Jan 12, 2019

прикольно